Who’s Feeling Festive?


It has been a huge season already for the Late Models and despite the festive season now being well and truly upon us, they show no sign of abating with another strong field of twenty five cars signaling their intentions to run at the Perth Motorplex on Tuesday, the 27th of December.

The field is essentially the same as the last ‘Salute to the General’ Show, with Ryan Halliday and Morgan Melvin the omissions, while Brent Vosbergen and Jayden Meckenstock come in as some exciting additions.

Heading the field is none other than ‘The O Show’ Brad Blake who has had an incredibly consistent season thus far and then broke through for his thirty fourth career Perth Motorplex feature win a fortnight ago. Courtesy of these results Blake not only leads the Maxima Oils Pro Dirt Series points, some 25 markers ahead of his nearest rival Jamie Oldfield, but also leads the Perth Motorplex Track Championship by eighteen points over Ryan Halliday.

With Halliday not racing this is a good chance for Blake to extend his lead, while third placed Jamie Oldfield will also be looking to close the point’s gap.

Speaking of Jamie Oldfield, he made the long trek across the Nullabor last week to compete at Premier Speedway, the venue for the 2016/17 Australian Late Model Championship, and impressed with a strong fifth place finish. Also joining him over east was Paul Stubber who was on a charge in the feature race and came home third in an impressive performance.

Both drivers are back home this weekend and will be hoping to continue their good form, but will certainly be challenged by the likes of Warren Oldfield, Marc Giancola and Jay Cardy. Giancola has won two features thus far this season, while Oldfield has had two podium finishes and Cardy has also scored one, but all three drivers aren’t content to rest on their laurels and will be hungry to add to these totals in the most festive show of the year.

Michael Holmes has a series leading three heat wins (tied with Stubber), while Lee Watt, Brent Vosbergen and Kye Blight all have one apiece: something that they not only want to add to, but to transfer into feature race results this Tuesday night.

With this show being the last hit out before the USA tour, doubling as round six of the Maxima Oils Pro Dirt Series, all the stars and their cars will be going hard to go into the big shows with the slightest advantage over their fellow competitors, meaning this event will be one not to miss.

See you all at the Perth Motorplex this Tuesday, the 27th of December, and in the meantime, on behalf of all in the LMRWA we wish you and your families a very happy and safe Christmas!

Release by DTN Media.

Official Nominations – 25
0 Brad Blake
4 Brent Vosbergen
6 James Batley
9 Ryan Ludlow
10 Lee Watt
15 Warren Oldfield
18 Matt Goodlad
19 Simon McNab
31 Paul Stubber
38 Jai Mazzini
39 Jarrin Bielby
41 Kye Blight
43 Marc Giancola
48 Hayden Norman
50 Veronica McCann
51 Jamie Oldfield
52 Jay Cardy
54 David Nylander
60 Jayden Meckenstock
69 Paul Joss
77 Jeremy Hale
84 Chris Pavlovich
91 Michael Holmes
92 Brad Ludlow
95 Jason Bond

Leave a Comment