Who Will Be Champion?

After a hectic few weeks with a number of cars criss crossing the country, this weekend will see our team’s band together once again and head to the Perth Motorplex as they look to contest the running of the WA Late Model Title!
A good twenty car field has nominated for the event which is proudly presented by #McPheeFreight, Maddington Toyota and CanningVale Toyota. The show will start on Friday night and conclude on Saturday, with the Saturday night portion also paying tribute to Late Model legend John Cardy. With nearly half of those nominated cars having either won or podiumed in this event previously, it is sure to be a fight to the very end.
Quite possibly coming into this show as the favourite is the newly crowned Australia #1 Brent Vosbergen (Team Vosbergen Racing – TVR) who will be looking to defend the WA #1 crown he won this time last season. As it stands he has equalled his father Craig’s efforts of two WA Titles, but Craig has the advantage of three other podium finishes, so Brent will be fighting hard to get one over his Dad!
Brad Blake is the all time leader of statistics in the WA Title event, having claimed the win on nine occasions. Last season he wound back the clock and claimed his first ever second place finish in the event, adding to his three third place finishes he has previously grabbed, giving him a total of thirteen podiums in the events twenty five year history. He would love to make it a perfect ten come Saturday night!
Warren Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) has two wins in the event, plus four second places and a third place, so with a total of seven total podiums he has the second most podium finishes in the events history. He would love to build on that total this weekend, and should he finally grab that elusive Perth Motorplex feature race win this weekend, he would lock in a continuation of his eleven year winning streak at the venue.
Jamie Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) is also a two time champion, with a second place finish also to his name, while Kye Blight (Kye Blight Racing) has one win and a third, and with both desperate to add another Title win to their resume as the season begins to wind down, they will be throwing absolutely everything at this event!
Jay Cardy (Cardy Racing Components) has two seconds and a third, Matt Goodlad (Daytona Racing) a second and a third and Michael Holmes (Michael Holmes Racing) a third in the WA Title previously and all three would love to break through for that Title win this Saturday night. All know exactly what it takes to run up the front of the field and with a little bit of luck, this weekend could well be a career highlight waiting to happen for all three.
Of course there are plenty of other drivers in the field that would love to break through into the Title picture, with names like Veronica McCann (Veronica McCann – Red Hot Racing), Rod Musarra (@Teamrocket) the Nylander brothers (Nylander Motorsport) and Freddy Kinsella (Team Green Racing) to name just a few, so picking a winner this weekend is once again a very tough ask.
This is set to be a show for the ages so make sure you head down to the Perth Motorplex this weekend for the WA Title event, proudly presented by McPhee Freight, Maddington Toyota and Canning Vale Toyota!
Release by DTN Media.
Pics Courtesy Sheldon Nouchy,
John Cardy Late Models/WA Late Model Title – 20
A1 Brent Vosbergen
0 Brad Blake
04 Greg Horan
15 Warren Oldfield
18 Matt Goodlad
21 Rod Musarra
34 Matt Nylander
39 Chris Barrow
41 Kye Blight
47 Warren Minshull
50 Veronica McCann
51 Jamie Oldfield
52 Jay Cardy
54 David Nylander
80 Damian Hudson
82 Matthew Amato
90 David Boyes
91 Michael Holmes
122 Steve Schofield
318 Freddy Kinsella