What Happens Next?

Traditionally the Boxing Day meeting at the Perth Motorplex is always one of the biggest of the year, but with so many story lines developing in season 2023/24 already, this week’s sixth round of the Pro Dirt Series, proudly presented by SupaFit Seat Covers, is sure to see another exciting chapter being written!
A good field of twenty-three nominations have been received for the first show of the festive season on Boxing Night, with the Wild West Showdown kicking off at Bunbury Speedway a few days later (1st of January) and then returning back to the Motorplex the very next day, the two shows rounds one and two of the five night series.
Coming into this Tuesday night’s show, the Oldfield brothers (Oldfield Racing) hold down positions one, two and three overall in the series, not to mention the trio have three feature race wins between them and a total of nine podium finishes, as well as six heat race wins.
Each and every race meeting so far, they have been running right with each other, which has certainly had the fans on tenterhooks as they wait to see who will come out on top.
Meanwhile, Joe Chalmers (Team BCM Motorsport:) and Ken Macpherson (KMM – Ken Macpherson Motorsport) hold down positions four and five respectively, just three points apart and both desperate to break through for a feature race win. Both have a podium finish to their name already this season, both have won heat races (Chalmers has won three!) and if a tiny bit of luck goes their way, one of them could well finish on the top step of the podium come feature race time.
Another element to the Late Model story this season is that of Australian Champion Brent Vosbergen (Team Vosbergen Racing – TVR). A tough start to the year with some DNF’s, but Vosbergen finally broke through to claim the win at the last show and after a solid run over East last weekend, will be hoping to continue that momentum at the next show.
Chris Barrow (Barrow Motorsports), Jay Cardy (Cardy Racing Components) and Rod Musarra (@teamrocket) hold down positions eight to ten in the Championship at this point, and with seventh placed Damian Hudson not in the field for the Boxing Day Bonanza, this will give them all a prime opportunity to claw their way back up the standings, while Luke Halliday (CTM Recruitment Racing) will also be hoping to make his own way into the top ten overall.
As if that wasn’t enough, we welcome back to the Perth Motorplex Tasmanian driver, NSW champion Brad Smith (Brad Smith Devil Motorsports 6T) who certainly isn’t here to make up the numbers, while former Australian Champion Kye Blight (Kye Blight Racing) also makes his first appearance of the summer aboard the BAR31 Team machine.
We haven’t seen Kye race in WA since March of this year, which was the WA Title for season 2022/23 (he finished seventh), but since then he has raced in America and will be looking to put that experience to good use as he looks for his first win of the season: one that if he is able to get will make it eight seasons in a row he has been able to notch a Pro Dirt Series feature race victory.
We also welcome back Veronica McCann Veronica McCann – Red Hot Racing), who thanks to the generous support of some incredible people, has sourced an engine to get her back on track, while Peter Seaton (Peter Seaton Racing) and Casey Paech make their first Pro Dirt Series starts since the opening round at Ellenbrook and all three will be keen to get more laps under their belts and move forward through the field.
Mat Robbins (Robbins Motorsport )will make his Perth Motorplex debut, having previously only contested two rounds of the Pro Dirt Series at Esperance. He joins fellow Esperance local Greg Horan (CPR – Chopper Pop Racing) in making the trek up to the ‘Plex and will be looking to take the next steps in his Late Model career after some solid performances recently at home, including a feature race win last weekend.
Add in a whole list of other names including Daniel Ameduri, who has certainly found his feet as part of the Red dog racing team, the Nylander Motorsport team of Matt and David, recent Late Model converts Peter Walker and Anthony King, as well as fellow rookie Abbey Pickering (Allaboutracing) and this chapter of the 2023/24 season is sure to be a nailbiter!
Release by DTN Media.
Pics Courtesy Peter Roebuck.
Official Nominations – 23
A1 Brent Vosbergen
04 Greg Horan
5 Anthony King
T6 Brad Smith
6 Peter Walker
11 Jason Oldfield
15 Warren Oldfield
21 Rod Musarra
23 Joe Chalmers
26 Ken Macpherson
31 Kye Blight
34 Matt Nylander
39 Chris Barrow
50 Veronica McCann
51 Jamie Oldfield
52 Jay Cardy
54 David Nylander
57 Mat Robbins
65 Peter Seaton
79 Casey Paech
94 Luke Halliday
95 Abbey Pickering
155 Daniel Ameduri