What a way to Start!

Tonight’s season opening event at the Allwest Plant Hire – Ellenbrook Speedway, proudly presented by ABN Trade Mates was all that we could have asked for and more!
In a meeting that saw four heavyweights of the Late Model division claim heat race wins, an exciting youngster starting on pole for the feature, a thirty lap main event that featured five lead changes and three leaders and a finish with the wily veteran Brad Blake extending his all time Pro Dirt feature winning numbers to seventy one when he ran away with the victory, no one could have asked for any more.
Amazingly, this means that Blake has made his way into almost career best form, having now claimed three of the last five Pro Dirt Series rounds (ignoring the fact that it has been across two seasons).
With Jay Cardy (Cardy Racing Components), Brad Blake, Joe Chalmers (Team BCM Motorsport:) and Brent Vosbergen (Team Vosbergen Racing – TVR) claiming the heat race wins, it would be Chalmers doing enough in his second heat to start from pole position while Warren Oldfield (Oldfield Racing), with two second place finishes in the heats, would join him on the front row.
Behind them would be Brad Blake and Jamie Oldfield (Oldfield Racing), leading the rest of a twenty car field who would take the green, Damian Hudson (Hudson Racing Team) the only non starter after contact with the turn two wall in the final heat ended his night early.
Chalmers broke away immediately as the race went green, Brad Blake drawing alongside Warren Oldfield for second, the two side by side.
Lap two saw Warren break away from his brother-in-law Blake and set out after Chalmers, while behind them Jamie Oldfield, Rod Musarra (@teamrocket) and Jay Cardy chased hard.
Also with them were Vosbergen, Jason Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) and Ken Macpherson (KMM – Ken Macpherson Motorsport), the top eight pulling away from the rest of the field.
Lap four saw Warren catch and pass Joe with a brilliant move, lapped traffic only allowing him to get further ahead before Joe was able to close the gap over the next couple of laps.
Warren and Joe would again be side by side on lap six with Blake now alone in third as Vosbergen, Jamie Oldfield, Musarra and Macpherson fought for fourth to seventh.
Side by side Warren and Joe remained, Oldfield just holding the edge on the outside but Joe not giving an inch on the inside, Joe again grabbing the lead on lap nine.
Lap ten saw lapped traffic again play its part, Warren driving right around the outside to retake the lead from Joe while behind them Blake and Vosbergen were also now closing.
A lap later Joe sent the sparks flying into the night sky from the infield curb as he retook the lead once more from Oldfield, Blake then quickly making his way past Warren for second a lap later, the top four now putting on an incredible show as they continued to fight for position through traffic.
By the halfway point Vosbergen had managed to get past both Oldfield and Blake to be in second place, while through the field a number of cars headed to the infield, including both Jason and Jamie Oldfield, Peter Walker and Musarra, who had at one point been running as high as fourth.
Back up front it was all Chalmers, still holding off Vosbergen, while Blake was still looking for a way back through as behind him Macpherson made the moves and settled into fourth ahead of Warren Oldfield.
With seven laps to go Vosbergen suddenly slowed and headed infield, seeing Chalmers now leading Blake and Macpherson, the next four laps going by quickly as cars ducked and dived all over the track and Chalmers fought his way through traffic.
Unfortunately Chalmers had a moment with a lapped car, which saw him slow slightly and left Daniel Ameduri nowhere to go but to ride over his side, and despite cars continuing the yellows came on.
Reinstated to the lead on the restart, Chalmers had a moment coming out of turn two and spun his machine, leaving sixth placed Michael Holmes (Michael Holmes Racing) nowhere to go, cannoning into Chalmers and then being hit from behind by eighth placed Greg Horan (CPR – Chopper Pop Racing). All three drivers good runs would come to an end at this point, and as they say in the classics, cautions breed cautions!
The next attempt at a restart saw Luke Halliday (Ryan Halliday Racing), running fifth at the time, hit the back straight wall to bring on the cautions once again, while at the next go Daniel Ameduri’s (Ameduri Motorsports) #155 machine came to a stop on the front straight, seeing him pushed infield and just ten cars remaining for the restart, four of whom were on the lead lap.
Blake would be the one to lead the field away, followed by Macpherson, Cardy and Oldfield, but the race was certainly not over by any means, the last three laps providing plenty of entertainment.
In the end though, Blake was able to race away to win his seventy first Pro Dirt feature race win and his fourth Ray Tulk Memorial event. Second would be Cardy, who made his way past Macpherson as the white flag flew while Warren Oldfield would finish fourth as the final car on the lead lap.
Veronica McCann (Veronica McCann – Red Hot Racing) would rescue a tough night to race from twentieth on the grid to finish fifth and in the process earn the Heatley’s Hard Charger Award, while Casey Paech was next in his Pro Dirt debut, earning himself the Ross’s All Star Award! Chris Barrow (Barrow Motorsports) was seventh (grabbing the Supafit Supa 7th award) while Peter Seaton (Peter Seaton Racing), Rob Wells (CTM Recruitment Racing) and Peter Mewett (Red dog racing) rounded out the finishers in what was a tough but entertaining feature race.
There is just a week between race meetings now, with round two happening next week at the Perth Motorplex proudly supported by the team at Maddington Toyota, as part of the annual Powerpalooza event!
Release by DTN Media.
Pics Courtesy JSP/DTN Media.
Contingency Awards
DTN Pole Sitter – Joe Chalmers
Heatley’s Hard Charger – Veronica McCann
Ross’s All Star Award – Casey Paech
Supafit Supa 7th Place – Chris Barrow
Official Results
Heat One, 8 laps: 1. 52 Jay Cardy, 2. 15 Warren Oldfield, 3. 23 Joe Chalmers, 4. 155 Daniel Ameduri, 5. 80 Damian Hudson, 6. 39 Chris Barrow, 7. 6 Peter Walker, 8. 91 Michael Holmes, 9. 2 Rob Wells, 10. 55 Peter Mewett (7). Total Time: 2.26.969. Winning Margin: 0.566. Fastest Lap: 17.304 Warren Oldfield.
Heat Two, 8 laps: 1. 0 Brad Blake, 2. 21 Rod Musarra, 3. 51 Jamie Oldfield, 4. 11 Jason Oldfield, 5. 26 Ken Macpherson, 6. 04 Greg Horan, 7. 94 Luke Halliday, 8. A1 Brent Vosbergen, 9. 79 Casey Paech. DNF: 50 Veronica McCann (6), 65 Peter Seaton (3). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 2.179. Fastest Lap: 17.593 Brad Blake.
Heat Three, 8 laps: 1. 23 Joe Chalmers, 2. 51 Jamie Oldfield, 3. 11 Jason Oldfield, 4. 21 Rod Musarra, 5. 91 Michael Holmes, 6. 94 Luke Halliday, 7. 155 Daniel Ameduri, 8. 04 Greg Horan, 9. 39 Chris Barrow, 10. 55 Peter Mewett (7). DNS: 65 Peter Seaton. Total Time: 2.23.067. Winning Margin: 0.891. Fastest Lap: 17.415 Jason Oldfield.
Heat Four, 8 laps: 1. A1 Brent Vosbergen, 2. 15 Warren Oldfield, 3. 26 Ken Macpherson, 4. 0 Brad Blake, 5. 52 Jay Cardy, 6. 79 Casey Paech, 7. 6 Peter Walker, 8. 2 Rob Wells. DNF: 80 Damian Hudson (1). DNS: 50 Veronica McCann. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 4.284. Fastest Lap: 17.718 Brent Vosbergen.
Feature, 30 laps: 1. 0 Brad Blake, 2. 52 Jay Cardy, 3. 26 Ken Macpherson, 4. 15 Warren Oldfield, 5. 50 Veronica McCann (29), 6. 79 Casey Paech (29), 7. 39 Chris Barrow (29), 8. 65 Peter Seaton (29), 9. 2 Rob Wells (28), 10. 55 Peter Mewett (26). DNF: 155 Daniel Ameduri (27), 94 Luke Halliday (27), 91 Michael Holmes (27), 04 Greg Horan (27), 23 Joe Chalmers (27), A1 Brent Vosbergen (23), 21 Rod Musarra (18), 6 Peter Walker (16), 51 Jamie Oldfield (13), 11 Jason Oldfield (10). DNS: 80 Damian Hudson. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 2.293. Fastest Lap: 18.074 Brent Vosbergen.