What a way to return!

Ryan Halliday has tonight returned to racing for the first time this season in the best possible fashion, scoring a heat win, pole position in the feature and then taking out the thirty lap feature event to once again be the King of Kwinana!

Halliday started the King of Kwinana feature race (doubling as the third round of the BGC Pro Dirt Series) from pole position with fellow veteran racer Brad Blake, who also scored a win and a third in his heats to tie on points with Halliday, alongside him.

As the race went green, Halliday jumped to the lead hotly pursued by Australian Champion Kye Blight, who was finally getting some laps under his belt in season 2020/21. Unfortunately it was all for nought as Matt Nylander spun in turn one to bring on the yellows without a lap being completed.

Halliday again led away at the second attempt, with Blight being pressured by Blake, Blake eventually grabbing second on lap two. As the lap was completed a number of cars came together, Laura Byrnes and Willy Powell left stranded in turn four.

It is worth noting that at this point, Warren Oldfield was in ninth after starting from the rear of the field in a borrowed car. Oldfield was a runaway leader in heat three until his car dramatically slowed down the back straight, but his lead was such that he still rolled over the line in seventh place in that race. Unable to use his own car, Warren then stepped into brother Jamie’s car and started from the rear in the feature event.

On the restart Blight went high and right around the lead duo, but Halliday and Blake fought back to move back into the top two.

The duo went side by side as Blight found some more speed and went for the lead but just couldn’t get by, all of a sudden Blake grabbing the lead from Halliday!

David Nylander then found himself stuck on the wall to bring out the yellows with five laps complete.

From here, it all went haywire over the next few laps, with Ameduri and Stubber making contact that saw Stubber retire, Michael Holmes going up in a plume of smoke and heading infield, Ameduri following him out of the race, Kye Blight suddenly slowing and parking his machine on the inside of turn two and then finally Matt Amato losing a wheel going down the back straight!

This would leave us with ten cars with twenty laps remaining, Halliday now leading away Blake, the impressive Ken Macpherson, former Australian Champion Kodee Brown, Oldfield, Jamie Moon, Jay Cardy, Veronica McCann, Willy Powell and Laura Byrnes.

The restart would see Brown get the better of Macpherson, with Oldfield and Moon fighting it out for fifth.

Oldfield finally got by Moon with nine to go, then passed Macpherson a lap later to be fourth before a slight mistake saw Macpherson get back by.

Up front Blake closed on Halliday again and with five to go it was only a small margin separating them, while there was now a big battle also for third between Brown, Macpherson and Oldfield, Oldfield grabbing fourth with just two laps to go.

Back up front though it was all Halliday, claiming his sixteenth career win at the Motorplex and crossing the line ahead of Blake, Brown, Oldfield and Macpherson. Cardy, Moon, McCann, Powell and Byrnes would round out the only other finishers.

There is now a fortnight break for the Late Models before they again return to the high banks of the Perth Motorplex for the John Day Classic event on the 5th of December, which will double as Round Four of the BGC Pro Dirt Series.

The 2020/21 BGC Late Model Pro Dirt Series proudly brought to you by Global XLI, Pancho's Mexican Restaurants, Boyes Equipment SVS, Dirt Track Nutters, Bulk Metal Recyclers Pty Ltd., Bar 31, Carbusters, Finlease, Grays Online, Homes by Roth, Our Car Autos, Palice Property Group, QB Copper Recycling, Ross Construction and D P Bingham and Associates Truck and Plant.


Release by DTN Media.
Pics Courtesy Jason Sutton Photography/DTN.

Contingency Awards
Pancho's Pole Position – Ryan Halliday
DTN Hard Charger – Warren Oldfield
Boyes Equipment SVS Highest All Star Qualifier – David Nylander
Global XLI All Star Award – Ken Macpherson
Bulk Metals Rookie Award – Laura Byrnes

Official Results
Heat 1, 8 laps: 1. 99 Ryan Halliday, 2. 20 Michael Holmes, 3. 0 Brad Blake, 4. 15 Warren Oldfield, 5. 71 Jamie Moon, 6. 83 Daniel Ameduri, 7. 34 Matt Nylander, 8. 52 Jay Cardy, 9. 31 Paul Stubber, 10. 14 Willy Powell. Total Time: 2.18.554. Winning Margin: 2.773. Fastest Lap: 16.977 Warren Oldfield.

Heat 2, 8 laps: 1. 54 David Nylander, 2. 82 Matt Amato, 3. 07 Kodee Brown, 4. 50 Veronica McCann, 5. A1 Kye Blight, 6. 26 Ken Macpherson, 7. 51 Jamie Oldfield, 8. 95 Jason Bond, 9. 44 Laura Byrnes. Total Time: 2.21.039. Winning Margin: 0.071. Fastest Lap: 17.075 Veronica McCann.

Heat 3, 8 laps: 1. 0 Brad Blake, 2. A1 Kye Blight, 3. 51 Jamie Oldfield, 4. 71 Jamie Moon, 5. 52 Jay Cardy, 6. 82 Matt Amato, 7. 54 David Nylander, 8. 15 Warren Oldfield, 9. 44 Laura Byrnes, 10. 14 Willy Powell. Total Time: 2.17.284. Winning Margin: 0.384. Fastest Lap: 15.995 Warren Oldfield.

Heat 4, 8 laps: 1. 31 Paul Stubber, 2. 26 Ken Macpherson, 3. 99 Ryan Halliday, 4. 07 Kodee Brown, 5. 20 Michael Holmes, 6. 83 Daniel Ameduri, 7. 50 Veronica McCann. DNF: 95 Jason Bond (3), 34 Matt Nylander (3). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 1.380. Fastest Lap: 16.471 Paul Stubber.

Feature, 30 laps: 1. 99 Ryan Halliday, 2. 0 Brad Blake, 3. 07 Kodee Brown, 4. 15 Warren Oldfield, 5. 26 Ken Macpherson, 6. 52 Jay Cardy, 7. 71 Jamie Moon, 8. 50 Veronica McCann (29), 9. 14 Willy Powell (28), 10. 44 Laura Byrnes (27). DNF: A1 Kye Blight (9), 82 Matt Amato (9), 20 Michael Holmes (9), 83 Daniel Ameduri (9), 54 David Nylander (5), 31 Paul Stubber (4), 34 Matt Nylander (0). DNS: 51 Jamie Oldfield, 95 Jason Bond. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.917. Fastest Lap: 16.200 A1 Kye Blight.