What a way to close the season!

Last night saw the 2022/23 LMRWA officially come to a close, with a glittering awards night.
Held at the Swan Yacht Club in East Fremantle courtesy of our amazing partners at Maddington Toyota and CanningVale Toyota, over 150 guests crammed in to celebrate the season that was with Dean Neal hosting the proceedings.
After a short video clip courtesy of JSP from Dirt Track Nutters and thanking the sponsors, tracks, competitors and media who made the season what it was, the awards officially kicked off.
First up was the 2022 Renegade Race Fuels & Lubricants Winter Series Awards, with Damian Hudson (Hudson Racing Team) third overall, very complimentary of what the Winter Series did for him.
“It all started with the Winter Series,” he said. “Without the help we got there as we learned the ropes, we couldn’t have raced the way we did this season, it was a great way to start racing!”
Steve Schofield (DEMON Racecar Fibreglass WA) was officially second overall while Esperance traveller Greg Horan (@chopperpopracing) was rewarded once again with the series win.
Next up on the stage was Allan and Heather Nylander as they presented their Pursuit of Excellence Award. The award was presented to Chris Barrow (Barrow Motorsports), who impressed them not just with his improvement throughout the season, but also at the opening 2023 Winter Series round where his growth was well and truly on display.
Damian Hudson then returned to the front to receive the Quiet Achiever Award, recognising his efforts not just to travel to every round, but also the way he adapted to the world of Late Model racing, recording an impressive fifth place overall in the Pro Dirt points.
It was then Chris Barrow’s turn to return to the stage, this time as he received the coveted Rookie of the Year award. Clearly taken aback, Barrow was complimentary to the whole division as they supported his efforts to get out there and finished with a statement for the future.
“I’ve enjoyed learning the ropes and getting to know what the car and I are capable of” he said. “I can’t start rear forever though, so it’s time for me to get out there and give it a real crack!”
Although he was unable to be present last night, Broome based Kodee Brown (McCorry Brown Racing Team) was then awarded the Best Presented award, while the first round of awards was rounded out by a special presentation to Brad Blake.
The O Show was clearly taken aback as his seventy Pro Dirt Series feature wins, his ten WA Titles and his G.O.A.T career was acknowledged with a special film clip.
“Looking at the clips, the cars have changed, my head’s changed and I’ve put on a few kilos!” he laughed. “That last title win was a real highlight for me, considering what we went through to get the win that night, plus considering my age right now. I was real angry when I won that race, so now I think Dad thinks he’s got to get me angry every time we race!”
When asked about his other highlights, Blake was quick to answer.
“Apart from that tenth WA Title win, my Australian Titles were special, as was the opportunity to race in America a few times and also a Street Stock Far Western Title. It’s been a great ride with plenty of friends. From now we will pick and choose what we want to do, and just keep enjoying ourselves!”
After a short break the Chief Stewards award was next, with Jerome Sutton choosing to recognise Damian Hudson for his hard work in the division, being a fair racer who races clean.
CEO Craig Vosbergen then came to the stage to present his CEO Award, surprising Marketing Manager Craig Nylander with the award which was a tough feat considering Craig did the bulk of the organising of the awards night!
Vosbergen stated that Nylander deserved the award because of his incredibly hard work behind the scenes, working with sponsors, organising ride days and everything on between.
“He is the backbone of what we are doing as a committee,” said Vosbergen. “He steers us in the right direction and we are lucky to have him on board, even if that does mean early Sunday morning emails!”
The final individual award of the night was the prestigious Drivers driver, which saw Warren Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) voted the winner for the fourth time.
“This is the best group of drivers out of any division in my opinion,” he said. “We love racing, we all try to be fair, we all want to win, but we love it and we appreciate every bit of work that those behind the scenes do.”
To round out the night the top twenty in the Pro Dirt Series were recognised, with the top three then receiving their trophies.
Third placed Jay Cardy (Cardy Racing Components) was complimentary of all those around him who make his team work, and left with an empathic statement:
“We have plenty left yet.”
Second placed Warren Oldfield also thanked his team of supporters, especially considering how much work it takes to get three cars out on track.
“We will do about twelve shows next season,” he said, “then the season after we will give it another huge crack at this stage.”
Finally, Pro Dirt Series season champion Brent Vosbergen (Team Vosbergen Racing – TVR) made his way to the podium to accept his award.
“It’s been a lot of time away from family, but has been a great ride,” he said. “It’s so good to be up here: our competition is the best in the nation, with so many teams that week in week are tough to beat so it’s always a big effort from the guys. It is a great division and I need to say a huge thanks to everyone who gets behind us.”
“Dreams do come true.”
This would bring the season to a close, so one final time, a huge Thankyou to all drivers, officials and media who have made this season what it was, as well as our valued season sponsors: McPhee Freight, Maddington Toyota & CanningVale Toyota, ABN Trade Mates, CTM Recruitment Pty Ltd, the PTE Group, SupaFit Seat Covers, Ross’s Auctioneers & Valuers, Global Testing Services, APM Roofing and Gutters, The Event Mill and Dirt Track Nutters.
See you all in October!
Release by DTN Media.
Pics Courtesy DTN Media.