What a Field for the Nationals

Although the event is still nine days away, excitement is about to hit fever pitch as we tonight reveal the thirty eight, yes thirty eight, competitors, who have nominated for the Di Candilo Steel City Late Model Nationals to be held at the Perth Motorplex across two nights, Saturday the 13th and Sunday the 14th of January.

One of the biggest fields ever seen in Australia for Late Models, this now annual event is set to be huge once again and with no less than five visiting American drivers and four interstate drivers in the field as well as all of our local competitors, this is going to be one not to miss!

As has been well documented over the last few weeks and will continue to be covered, there are five Americans in the field including the two car team of Joe Godsey and Jeff Roth in the twin #14 machines and working out of the Team 19 headquarters.  Godsey arrived early and competed in the last show at the Motorplex with some success, while Roth will be joining him in Australia in coming days.

Devin Moran returns to the shores of Western Australia once again, this time driving the Oldfield Racing Team machine while Jason Fitzgerald is also back in town, driving the Halliday racing #99 Longhorn machine that has been driven to the front so often already this season by Ryan Halliday. Both know what it takes to run at the front in Western Australia and will look to hit the ground running on the Nationals weekend.

The final piece of the American puzzle is Tyler Erb who will be piloting the #10 machine alongside team mate Cameron Pearson, with the two car operation coming across the Nullabor from Victoria to be part of the four night series.

Joining Pearson as the other interstate visitors will be David Doherty in the N25 machine who is returning to Western Australia once again, this time joined by fellow New South Welshman Ryan Fenech. Ben Nicastri is the final interstate visitor and has raced with success at the Motorplex venue previously, currently holding the one lap qualifying track record, something which he will hope to build on this weekend.

Of course, the twenty nine local drivers in the field certainly aren’t going to take this lying down and will be doing all they can to defend our State’s honour and show that West Aussies simply do it better!

Leading local hopes include Warren Oldfield and Brad Blake, who have both already claimed feature wins so far this season, as well as last start winner Kye Blight. All three drivers can come into the shows for the Invasion Tour confident that they have good car speed and if luck goes their way, they could quite easily add to their winning totals.

Others including Matt Goodlad, Jay Cardy, Michael Holmes and Craig Vosbergen have all had podium finishes thus far this season and given a sniff of a win over these next few weeks will leave nothing on the table as they look for that elusive win.

Being the Nationals, a number of drivers will be returning to the seat including former National Champion Brad Ludlow, the veteran speedway racer Jamie Moon and youngster Jarrin Bielby, while the regular XLI Pro Dirt Series in James Batley, Veronica McCann and Willy Powell to name just a few will be looking to score some career best results.

There will be a Wednesday night practice session on the 10th of January at the Perth Motorplex for anyone who wishes to get some laps in early, with the action kicking into high gear on Saturday the 13th and Sunday the 14th for the Late Model Nationals. Drivers then have the week to prepare once again as they head down to QUIT Collie Speedway on Friday the 19th of January before the final round at Albany Speedway on Saturday the 20th of January.

It is going to be a huge four nights of racing and you will not want to miss a minute of it, so make sure you get your backside trackside!

The XLI Pro Dirt Series and Di Candilo Steel City USA Invasion Tour bought to you by Pancho’s Mexican Restaurants, CTM Recruitment, Cardy Racing Components, APM Roofing, Dirt Track Nutters, Renegade Fuels, Palice Property Group, Moyle Race Parts, Boyes Equipment SVS, RACIN’ Tyres and Accessories, Maxima Oils, Collie Machine Shop, Southern Haulage, Car Busters and Forma-tel.



Release by DTN Media.

Pics Courtesy Peter Roebuck and Mel Parker.


Official Nominations – 38

0 Brad Blake

6 James Batley

USA7 Jason Fitzgerald

8 Craig Vosbergen

USA10 Tyler Erb

V10 Cameron Pearson

10 Lee Watt

11 Nuno Mendes

USA14g Joe Godsey

USA14r Jeff Roth

14 Willy Powell

15 Warren Oldfield

18 Matt Goodlad

19 Simon McNab

23 Joe Chalmers

N25 David Doherty

N29 Ryan Fenech

29 Ryan Ludlow                 

31 Paul Stubber

38 Jai Mazzini

39 Jarrin Bielby

41 Kye Blight

50 Veronica McCann

USA51 Devin Moran

52 Jay Cardy

58 Lionel Kirkby

60 Jayden Meckenstock

69 Paul Joss

71 Jamie Moon

75 Mick Comley

81 Gary Higgs

83 Daniel Ameduri

84 Chris Pavlovich

91 Michael Holmes

93 Nathan Callaghan

95 Jason Bond

N99 Ben Nicastri

111 Brad Ludlow


Leave a Comment