Warren Wins Wild West Finale!!

Last night at the Albany Speedway Club it was Warren Oldfield’s (Oldfield Racing) turn to wear the coveted winners hat as he raced his way to victory in what was the final round of the Wild West Showdown!
Warren was in solid form all night, winning a heat and finishing fourth in the other to qualify out of position three while the previous nights winner Brent Vosbergen (Team Vosbergen Racing – TVR) would once again qualify from pole (a win and a second in the heats) alongside Paul Stubber (Bar31) (also with a win and a second in his heats).
Fifteen of the sixteen cars that started the night would start the final, with only Brad Ludlow (Ludlow Racing) who crunched the wall in qualifying unable to make the cut, while Michael Holmes (Michael Holmes Racing), Matt Nylander (Nylander Motorsport) and Rob Knox were overnight withdrawals.
As the race began it was Vosbergen who led into the first turn as behind him Oldfield was low and Stubber was high in the battle for second.
Stubber was able to get the advantage and began looking underneath Vosbergen for the lead, while the next lap Oldfield again looked under Stubber, with Stubber pulling away down the back straight and closing in on Vosbergen again.
Stubber then dove underneath Vosbergen for the lead, the duo making contact and Vosbergen spinning, left facing the fence in turn three to bring out the yellows.
Stubber was controversially sent to the rear for the restart with Vosbergen reinstated and leading away Oldfield, while Brad Smith (Brad Smith Devil Motorsports 6T) and Jay Cardy (Cardy Racing Components) battled for third, Kye Blight (Kye Blight Racing) quickly diving underneath both of them for the position.
As the laps continued to wind down the front placings didn’t change, though behind them Joe Chalmers (Team BCM Motorsport:) and Paul Stubber were making moves as they progressed through the field.
A yellow light restart would bunch up the field once again, with Brad Smith momentarily taking away third from Blight as Vosbergen and Oldfield built up a gap once again out front.
Oldfield stayed in touch with Vosbergen, with a gap back to Blight while Stubber moved into the top five on lap fourteen, the yellows out a couple of laps later as Mat Crimmins (Crimmins Racing) found himself facing the wrong way in turn one.
Blight went wide on the restart which allowed Brad Smith to move past into third once again before he too scooted wide coming out of turn two, allowing Stubber to get past both of them and move back into third place.
Coming into turn one on the next lap Oldfield was low, Vosbergen high and using his momentum Oldfield swept underneath Vosbergen to take the lead coming down the back straight.
Again the top three of Oldfield, Vosbergen and Stubber would put a gap on the rest of the field, lapped traffic slowing none of them down, though it did give Stubber multiple opportunities to stick the nose underneath Vosbergen as he continued to look for a way through.
Blight began to close on Stubber and looked for a way around the outside but again his night would end with a caution, slowing coming out of turn two and crawling to the infield with issues once again with only four laps remaining.
The order remained unchanged on the restart, though the field didn’t spread out as much as it did, everyone looking for the advantage in the final laps.
Oldfield would go on to claim a popular victory, while Vosbergen settled for second while Smith made last a last lap, last corner attempt to pick pocket Stubber for third, but Stubber wasn’t having that two nights in a row, holding on to finish third while Smith and Kodee Brown rounded out the top five finishers.
With the Wild West Showdown series now complete, Late Models have a weekend off before returning to the Perth Motorplex once again for a huge two night show. This will be the annual Late Model Nationals, starting Friday the 20th of January and concluding the next night, so stay tuned for the details of that meeting in the coming days.
The 2022/23 Pro Dirt Series proudly bought to you by #McPheeFreight, Maddington Toyota & CanningVale Toyota, ABN Trade Mates, CTM Recruitment Pty Ltd, the PTE Group, SupaFit Seat Covers, Ross’s Auctioneers & Valuers, Global Testing Services, APM Roofing and Gutters, The Event Mill and Dirt Track Nutters.
Release by DTN Media.
Pics Courtesy JSP/DTN Media.
Contingency Awards
DTN Pole Position – Brent Vosbergen
APM Roofing Hard Charger – Kodee Brown
All Star Winner – David Boyes
Official Results
Qualifying, 2 laps: 1. 23 Joe Chalmers 16.097, 2. 4 Brent Vosbergen 16.143, 3. 41 Kye Blight 16.234, 4. 31 Paul Stubber 16.541, 5. 07 Kodee Brown 16.582, 6. 90 Davod Boyes 16.950, 7. 52 Jay Cardy 16.967, 8. 0 Brad Blake 17.170, 9. T6 Brad Smith 17.362, 10. 15 Warren Oldfield 17.412, 11. 80 Damien Hudson 17.742, 12. S10 Mat Crimmins 17.884, 13. 76 Ben Strautins 17.983, 14. 04 Greg Horan 18.577, 15. 49 Sean Barrett 19.794, 16. 55 Brad Ludlow NTT.
Heat One, 10 Laps: 1. 23 Joe Chalmers, 2. T6 Brad Smith, 3. 52 Jay Cardy, 4. 41 Kye Blight, 5. 07 Kodee Brown, 6. 76 Ben Strautins, 7. 80 Damien Hudson, 8. 49 Sean Barrett. Total Time: 2:46.640. Winning Margin: 3.461. Fastest Lap: 15.940 Kye Blight.
Heat Two, 10 Laps: 1. 4 Brent Vosbergen, 2. 31 Paul Stubber, 3. 90 David Boyes, 4. 15 Warren Oldfield, 5. 0 Brad Blake, 6. S10 Mat Crimmins, 7. 04 Greg Horan. DNS: 55 Brad Ludlow. Total Time: 2:44.375. Winning Margin: 0.896. Fastest Lap: 15.702 Paul Stubber.
Heat Three, 10 Laps: 1. 15 Warren Oldfield, 2. 4 Brent Vosbergen, 3. 90 David Boyes, 4. 41 Kye Blight, 5. 52 Jay Cardy, 6. 80 Damien Hudson, 7. W04 Greg Horan, 8. W49 Sean Barrett. Total Time: 2:49.733. Winning Margin: 1.543. Fastest Lap: 16.138 Kye Blight.
Heat Four, 10 Laps: 1. 31 Paul Stubber, 2. 76 Ben Strautins, 3. 0 Brad Blake, 4. T6 Brad Smith, 5. 07 Kodee Brown, 6. S10 Mat Crimmins. DNF: 23 Joe Chalmers (0). DNS: 55 Brad Ludlow. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 2.839. Fastest Lap: 15.889 Paul Stubber.
Feature, 30 Laps: 1. 15 Warren Oldfield, 2. 4 Brent Vosbergen, 3. 31 Paul Stubber, 4. T6 Brad Smith, 5. 07 Kodee Brown, 6. 23 Joe Chalmers, 7. 90 David Boyes, 8. 52 Jay Cardy, 9. 0 Brad Blake, 10. 80 Damien Hudson, 11. 76 Ben Strautins (29), 12. 04 Greg Horan (29), 13. 49 Sean Barrett (28). DNF: 41 Kye Blight (26), S10 Mat Crimmins (21). DNS: 55 Brad Ludlow. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 1.272. Fastest Lap: 15.962 Warren Oldfield.