Warren Oldfield Wins Round 1

PrintWarren Oldfield last night took the honours in the opening round of the Hoosier Racing Tyre Late Model Pro Dirt Series as he crossed the line first in the feature ahead of Craig Vosbergen and Brad Blake.The opening round, which doubled as the Ray Tulk Memorial, started with twenty five Late Models signed into the pits , including a good mix of rookies, seasoned competitors and wily veterans. Brad Blake made his welcome return to racing after last seasons retirement in his brand new mastersbuilt with new colours, while Nat Muir, Paul Joss, Phil Zudeima and Jason Moyle all also debuted new colours. Also in the field was the newly formed Chill Motorsport team of Lee Watt and Brad Boley in their first competitive hit out.


Heat one saw Ben Ludlow lead from the get go as he defeated Jason Moyle and Brad Blake, while the second heat was taken out by last years surprise package Matt Goodlad in a dominant performance as he crossed the line half a lap ahead of Jay Cardy and third placed Warren Oldfield.


Former two time national champion Marc Giancola in his return to Late Models took out heat three as he bested Craig Vosbergen and Brad Blake, while the final heat of the afternoon was taken out by Warren Oldfield ahead of Mick Hamon and Goodlad.


Next up was the A Dash to determine the first eight starting positions in the feature, with high points man Warren Oldfield starting on pole with Goodlad alongside him. Goodlad got the jump and went on to take the win and claim the pole position for the feature as he defeated Oldfield, Giancola, Blake, Vosbergen, Ben Ludlow, Hamon and Moyle.


The B Dash for positions nine to sixteen in the feature saw Michael Holmes run away with the win from Nat Muir, Jay Cardy, Jason Oldfield, Peter MacPherson, Phil Zudeima, Peter Seaton and Simon McNab.


The feature was up next, with Goodlad and Oldfield again lining up on the front row together and a snarling field of twenty two other competitors behind them. The duo raced their way side by side into turn one where Goodlad unfortunately came unstuck, leading to the rest of the field being forced to take evasive action to avoid him. Unfortunately not all were able to avoid the stranded #18 machine and Hamon and Ben Ludlow, along with Goodlad, found themselves on the infield, while numerous other machines suffered panel damage.


imageAt the race restart Giancola moved up to join Oldfield on the front row, but as the race went green it was Oldfield and Vosbergen who began to battle it out. As the race wore on the duo battled side by side, swapping the lead numerous times, while behind them there was another contest with Brad Blake and Giancola amongst others.


The yellows came out for a group of cars spun in turn three, but it made little difference as when the race continued Warren and Craig continued to battle it out. When the chequers came out it was Warren Oldfield who was awarded the win ahead of Craig Vosbergen and Brad Blake. Marc Giancola, Phil Zudeima, Jay Cardy, Lee Watt, Jason Moyle, Peter MacPherson, Simon McNab, Jamie Moon and Peter Seaton rounded out the finishers.


imageCome presentation time, after the top three were presented with their trophies, veterans Ben Ludlow and AJ Nylander were handed the microphone to present the top three drivers of the Late Model Development Series with their trophies. The series, held across Ellenbrook, Kellerberrin and Pithara Speedways was once again a huge success, with an influx of new names learning to pilot the beasts that are Late Models. Ken MacPherson was the overall winner with second place going to Mick Andrews and third place to Brad Boley. Also at the end of the night was the raffle to announce the naming right sponsor for the upcoming USA tour. The tour, which will include Americans John Blankenship, Steve Casebolt, Steve Francis and Jeremy Payne, will now be known as the Moyle Engines Bunbury USA Invasion Tour.


The next round of the Hoosier Racing Tyre Pro Dirt Series will be held this coming weekend,Saturday the 19th of October at the Perth Motorplex and with twenty three nominations already it is set to be a cracker!


Official Feature Results

1st Warren Oldfield, 2nd Craig Vosbergen, 3rd Brad Blake, 4th Marc Giancola, 5th Phil Zudeima, 6th Jay Cardy, 7th Lee Watt, 8th Jason Moyle, 9th Peter MacPherson, 10th Simon McNab, 11th Jamie Moon, 12th Peter Seaton.


Late Model Racing  WA would like to thank all the 2013-2014 Corporate Partners:

Hoosier Racing Tire

Able Finance

Empire Graphics

Southside Engine Centre

Tillco Engineering

Ultra Tune Morley

Snap On Tools Kalgoorlie

Immaculate Detailing

Homebuyers Centre

Racin tyres & Accessories

Rocket Chassis

Sell Lease Property

Couplers Malaga

GMH Carpentry

Nationwide Signs

Hamon Tyre & Exhaust Centre



Release by DTN Media.

Peter Roebuck Photos

Leave a Comment