Vosbergen Wins the John Day Classic!

In what was perhaps a fitting tribute considering the mutual love of the colour orange, Brent Vosbergen (Team Vosbergen Racing – TVR) has raced his way back into the winners circle for the first time in season 2023/24, winning the fifth round of the Pro Dirt Series at the Perth Motorplex presented by the team at Maddington Toyota and CanningVale Toyota in an event that also doubled as the annual John Day Classic event!
Eighteen cars would hit the track to start the night, with heat race wins shared by Vosbergen, Jason Oldfield, Warren Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) and Ken Macpherson (KMM – Ken Macpherson Motorsport) Vosbergen doing enough to start the feature from pole position alongside Jason Oldfield.
With the time ticking by, the Late Models were under time pressure before the feature event began, but the seventeen starters certainly responded in epic fashion, running a non-stop, thirty lap feature race event.
Jason used the outside line to perfection, taking the lead as the race went green, though Vosbergen drew alongside him down the back straight, the duo staying that way through turns three and four, just 0.143 seconds apart as the first lap was completed.
Lap two saw Jason find a burst of speed and pull away from Brent, while behind them Ken Macpherson was leading a battle pack for third including Warren Oldfield, Joe Chalmers (Team BCM Motorsport:), Jamie Oldfield and Jay Cardy (Cardy Racing Components).
Lap four saw Warren and Joe both get past Macpherson for third and fourth respectively, while up front, Vosbergen would catch and pass Jason Oldfield for the lead on lap five.
The top two were quite a way ahead of Warren at this point, with Chalmers, Cardy and Jamie Oldfield rounding out the top six.
Brent ran the lowline, Jason the highline and lap after lap the distance between them remained the same, even when lapped traffic came into play at around half race distance, when Vosbergen finally began to pull away.
At this point the closest battle on track was that for sixth place, with Macpherson and Cardy going side by side for the position, Macpherson eventually getting the best of that duel.
Jamie Oldfield would then find some speed, racing his way into fourth past Chalmers and setting out after brother Warren and although lapped traffic saw Vosbergen pulling further ahead, the Oldfield trio were suddenly running in very close quarters.
Twenty laps complete and ten to go saw Jason go high and Warren nose underneath him, though Jason still had the momentum to maintain the position, lapped traffic seeing the trio now dicing for position as behind them Macpherson had also caught and passed Chalmers.
Lap twenty-three saw Warren officially pass Jason for second, Jamie doing the same a lap later for third.
Jason got back by Jamie on lap twenty-five, then shot around the outside of Warren to retake second on lap twenty-six.
Up front, Vosbergen was lapping into the top ten cars, and the order would remain relatively unchanged, Vosbergen grabbing his first win of the season ahead of Jason Oldfield and Warren Oldfield who got back by Jamie on the line by just 0.093 seconds in a sensational feature race.
The win would be Brent’s twentieth at the Perth Motorplex venue and his first in the John Day Classic, emulating his fathers efforts from a decade earlier.
Late Models will now have a short break for the festive season, with the next round scheduled to be back at the Perth Motorplex on Boxing Night!
Release by DTN Media.
Pics Courtesy Cochrane Photography.
Contingency Awards
DTN Pole Sitter – Brent Vosbergen
Heatley’s Hard Charger – Nathan Callaghan (+4)
Ross’s All Star Award – Luke Halliday
Supafit Supa 7th Place – Luke Halliday
Official Results
Heat One, 8 laps: 1. A1 Brent Vosbergen, 2. 51 Jamie Oldfield, 3. 26 Ken Macpherson, 4. 52 Jay Cardy, 5. 0 Brad Blake, 6. Anthony King, 7. Luke Halliday, 8. Chris Barrow, 9. 04 Greg Horan. DNF: 34 Matt Nylander (5). Total Time: 2.13.928. Winning Margin: 3.099. Fastest Lap: 16.282 Brent Vosbergen.
Heat Two, 8 laps: 1. 11 Jason Oldfield, 2. 23 Joe Chalmers, 3. 15 Warren Oldfield, 4. 80 Damian Hudson, 5. 54 David Nylander, 6. 95 Abbey Pickering, 7. 6 Peter Walker, 8. 93 Nathan Callaghan. Total Time: 2.15.141. Winning Margin: 2.814. Fastest Lap: 16.672 Joe Chalmers.
Heat Three, 8 laps: 1. 15 Warren Oldfield, 2. A1 Brent Vosbergen, 3. 6 Peter Walker, 4. 94 Luke Halliday, 5. 39 Chris Barrow, 6. 93 Nathan Callaghan, 7. 5 Anthony King, 8. 04 Greg Horan. Total Time: 2.22.016. Winning Margin: 3.466. Fastest Lap: 17.306 Warren Oldfield.
Heat Four, 8 laps: 1. 26 Ken Macpherson, 2. 11 Jason Oldfield, 3. 23 Joe Chalmers, 4. 54 David Nylander, 5. 52 Jay Cardy, 6. 51 Jamie Oldfield, 7. 0 Brad Blake, 8. 80 Damian Hudson, 9. 95 Abbey Pickering. DNS: 34 Matt Nylander. Total Time: 2.21.930. Winning Margin: 0.772. Fastest Lap: 17.192 Jason Oldfield.
Feature, 30 laps: 1. A1 Brent Vosbergen, 2. 11 Jason Oldfield, 3. 15 Warren Oldfield, 4. 51 Jamie Oldfield, 5. 26 Ken Macpherson, 6. 23 Joe Chalmers, 7. 94 Luke Halliday, 8. 52 Jay Cardy, 9. 54 David Nylander (29), 10. 5 Anthony King (29), 11. 93 Nathan Callaghan (29), 12. 6 Peter Walker (29), 13. 39 Chris Barrow (29), 14. 04 Greg Horan (29), 15. 95 Abbey Pickering (29), 16. 80 Damian Hudson (29). DNF: 0 Brad Blake (9). DNS: 34 Matt Nylander. Total Time: 9.10.656. Winning Margin: 4.154. Fastest Lap: 16.509 Damian Hudson.17.727 Jason Oldfield.