Vosbergen Storms Home for West Aussie Crown


Vosbergen Storms home for West Aussie Crown at Collie

Craig Vosbergen has taken out the 2012/2013 Western Australian Late Model Championship at Quit Collie Speedway last night (February 23rd). Vosbergen passed defending WA champion Warren Oldfield for the lead on the second last lap of the main event with a brillant outside move.


Twenty three cars were in attendance for the Western Australian Championship with multiple state champion Brad Blake making his return to racing after breaking his arm in early January at the Collie venue.


Koran Atkinson won the Toolmart Best presented car award at the start of the night with the young gun only just arriving back in the country a couple of days before the event.


Nine heat races were contested over the night with Warren Oldfield winning two heat races along with Craig Vosbergen. Vosbergen would hit the fence in his second heat race of the night with the rocket chassis sustaining damage to the rear of the car.


Ryan Halliday, Matt Nylander, David Nylander and Craig Greentree would all not start the championship final. Greentree sustained heavy damage to his car after hitting the concrete wall while Ryan Halliday had a driveline issue in his Colonial Freightlines GRT.


When the lights went green in the thirty five lap Western Australian championship final, a huge multi car pile up would occur. Koran Atkinson, Peter McPherson, Dean King and Jac Dolmans would all be sidelined with major damage. Phil Zuidema, Simon McNab and Brad Ludlow would all restart after getting caught up in one of the biggest opening lap accidents seen for many years.


When the race got back underway the running order would settle in with Warren Oldfield leading Craig Vosbergen, Matt Goodlad and Brad Blake pulling away from the field. Brad Ludlow would charge back through the field passing a number of cars after starting from the rear of the field due to changing a tyre after the first lap incident.


A number of restarts for spun cars kept happening throughout the main event with Lee Watt and Jason Moyle retiring from the race.


In the closing laps Craig Vosbergen would try everything to find a way past Oldfield with no success. With only a handful of laps remaining Goodlad would show his nose to Vosbergen and almost steal second place away. With two laps remaining Vosbergen would work his way back to being on Oldfield’s tail with Vosbergen performing a brillant outside pass in turn one to take the lead.


Vosbergen would then pull away on the last lap and win his second Western Australian Late Model Championship from Oldfield, Goodlad and Brad Blake. Jay Cardy would drive a lonely race to finish fifth from Paul Joss, Brad Ludlow and Jason Oldfield rounding out the finishers.


Vosbergen was elated in victory lane “Great to win my second WA Crown here at Collie, big thanks to my crew for fixing my car after the crash in my second heat. Hats off to everyone here at Collie Speedway for all the work they have done organising this race meeting along with all the crowd for coming out and supporting Late Models”.


Attention now turns to the next round of the Hoosier Racing Tire Pro Dirt Late Model Series to be held at the Perth Motorplex on March 9th 2013.


For more information about Late Model Racing in Western Australia log onto www.latemodelracingwa.com.au or find us on Facebook.


Official Results of the Western Australian Late Model Championship at Quit Collie Speedway


Western Australian Late Model Championship A Main- 35 Laps- 1. 8 Craig Vosbergen, 2. 15 Warren Oldfield, 3. 18 Matt Goodlad, 4. 0 Brad Blake, 5. 52 Jay Cardy, 6. 22 Paul Joss, 7. 92 Brad Ludlow, 8. 55 Jason Oldfield


DNF 4 Bert Vosbergen, 49 Simon McNab, 77 Jeremy Hale, 6 Jason Moyle, 65 Peter Seaton, 10 Lee Watt, 39 Phil Zuidema, 63 Koran Atkinson, 21 Dean King, 46 Jac Dolmans, 7 Peter McPherson

Late Model Racing Australia would like to thank its 2012/13 corporate partners:


Hoosier Racing Tire

Racin Tyres & Accessories

Genesis Racing Shocks

Able Finance

Southside Engine Centre

MTi group

Empire Graphics

Tillco Engineering

Ultra Tune Morley

Snap On Tools – Kalgoorlie

Lucas Oils – Brad Ludlow

MDR Trans


 Ian Diffen Bunbury


Press Release – Allan Smallwood

Leave a Comment