Vosbergen is Back Baby!!

Brent Vosbergen (Team Vosbergen Racing – TVR) tonight finally returned to the top step of the podium after a trying season so far, claiming the win in what was the second round of the Wild West Showdown at the Perth Motorplex, doubling as Round Eight of the Pro Dirt Series!
Vosbergen would qualify onto the front row of the thirty-lap feature after a win and a fourth in his heats, while Joe Chalmers (Team BCM Motorsport:) would start on pole position alongside him after a heat win and a second.
Other heat wins on the night were shared by Brad Blake and Kye Blight (Kye Blight Racing), with Blight coming out of position three for the feature while Veronica McCann (Veronica McCann – Red Hot Racing), courtesy of two third place finishes in her heats would start from fourth.
As the race went green Chalmers led the field into the opening corner running low, while Vosbergen was up high in second with Blight right behind them, as McCann would lead the rest of the pack in fourth.
With four complete the field had already begun to spread out and it looked to be a fairly simple race, but with eight complete Chalmers only just avoided an issue with a lapped car, and the race was on from here, the slight baulk giving Vosbergen a sniff and he would follow the tail of Chalmers more closely.
With ten laps complete Michael Holmes (Michael Holmes Racing) was on the tail of McCann looking for a way through into fourth.
Lapped traffic shortly after would see Vosbergen again right on Chalmers tail, just 0.176 separating the duo at the halfway point as Chalmers went high and Vosbergen low, with Vosbergen able to make the pass the next lap.
Chalmers fought back, the duo going either side of a lapped Paul Stubber (Bar31) but somehow staying out of trouble, Vosbergen now ahead by 0.186 seconds.
Vosbergen would then begin to pull away as behind them Blight was slowly sneaking closer to the lead duo before lapped traffic also took its toll on him, seeing him drop back slightly.
As this was happening, the biggest battle on track was for sixth place between Jamie Oldfield (Oldfield Racing), Jay Cardy (Cardy Racing Components) and Brad Blake, with Warren Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) also joining the fray seeing multiple positional changes over a number of laps.
Back up front, lapped traffic continued to work in Vosbergen’s favour, the lead stretching to over three seconds with five laps remaining.
Suddenly, Blight would suddenly slow and move high up on the track and with just three laps to go he would continue to circulate.
This would allow McCann through into the final podium position, with Holmes still trying everything to get by her.
In the end though, it was all Vosbergen, claiming his first feature race win of the season, and crossing the line 2.398 seconds ahead of second placed Joe Chalmers, while McCann would score a solid third place finish.
Holmes would be fourth followed by Blake, Cardy, David Nylander (Nylander Motorsport), Jamie Oldfield and Kodee Brown (McCorry Brown Racing Team), with Warren Oldfield spinning in the final corner and locking into reverse, going across the finish line backwards much to the joy of the crowd in attendance and finishing in tenth place.
Two rounds have now been completed of the Wild West Showdown, with updated points to be released tomorrow, but in the meantime, the final weekend of the Wild West Showdown will be held next weekend, January 6th and 7th at the Albany Speedway Club!
Release by DTN Media.
Contingency Awards
DTN Pole Position – Joe Chalmers
APM Roofing Hard Charger – Jay Cardy
All Star Winner – Veronica McCann
Official Results
Heat One, 8 laps: 1. 0 Brad Blake, 2. 31 Paul Stubber, 3. 50 Veronica McCann, 4. 4 Brent Vosbergen, 5. 41 Kye Blight, 6. 54 David Nylander, 7. 33 Freddy Kinsella, 8. 80 Damian Hudson, 9. 52 Jay Cardy, 10. 69 Mark Nylander (7). Total Time: 2.22.373. Winning Margin: 1.619. Fastest Lap: 17.246 Veronica McCann.
Heat Two, 8 laps: 1. 23 Joe Chalmers, 2. 91 Michael Holmes, 3. 07 Kodee Brown, 4. 15 Warren Oldfield, 5. 51 Jamie Oldfield, 6. 90 David Boyes, 7. 04 Greg Horan, 8. 34 Matt Nylander, 9. T6 Brad Smith, 10. 39 Chris Barrow, 11. S10 Mat Crimmins. Total Time: 2.24.695. Winning Margin: 1.065. Fastest Lap: 17.548 Warren Oldfield.
Heat Three, 8 laps: 1. 4 Brent Vosbergen, 2. 15 Warren Oldfield, 3. 50 Veronica McCann, 4. 07 Kodee Brown, 5. 54 David Nylander, 6. 0 Brad Blake, 7. 90 David Boyes, 8. 34 Matt Nylander, 9. S10 Mat Crimmins. DNF: 69 Mark Nylander (5). Total Time: 2.22.891. Winning Margin: 1.836. Fastest Lap: 17.275 Brent Vosbergen.
Heat Four, 8 laps: 1. 41 Kye Blight, 2. 23 Joe Chalmers, 3. 51 Jamie Oldfield, 4. 91 Michael Holmes, 5. 52 Jay Cardy, 6. 31 Paul Stubber, 7. 80 Damian Hudson, 8. 39 Chris Barrow, 9. 33 Freddy Kinsella, 10. T6 Brad Smith, 11. 04 Greg Horan. Total Time: 2.24.005.
Winning Margin: 1.280. Fastest Lap: 17.394 Kye Blight.
Late Models Feature, 30 laps: 1. 4 Brent Vosbergen, 2. 23 Joe Chalmers, 3. 50 Veronica McCann, 4. 91 Michael Holmes, 5. 0 Brad Blake, 6. 52 Jay Cardy, 7. 51 Jamie Oldfield, 8. 54 David Nylander, 9. 15 Warren Oldfield, 10. Kodee Brown, 11. T6 Brad Smith (29), 12. 80 Damian Hudson (29), 13. 04 Greg Horan (29), 14. 39 Chris Barrow (29), 15. 90 David Boyes (29), 16. 31 Paul Stubber (29), 17. 34 Matt Nylander (29), 18. 41 Kye Blight (29), 19. S10 Mat Crimmins (26). DNSL 33 Freddy Kinsella, 69 Mark Nylander. Total Time: 9.12.595. Winning Margin: 2.398. Fastest Lap: 17.663 Joe Chalmers.