Vosbergen Has A Magical Night

Print Last nights race meeting at the Perth Motorplex was the Magic Man 34 tribute event in honor of Michael Figliomeni and it was Craig Vosbergen who stepped up and dominated the nights proceedings. Vosbergen remained undefeated in what doubled as the third round of the Hoosier Tires Pro Dirt Series, winning both of his heat races before going on and claiming the feature.

Vosbergen fought his way into the lead of the opening heat quickly, disposing of early race leader Ben Ludlow and just driving away to over a seven second lead at the chequers ahead of Ludlow and Michael Holmes who got the best of a three way race long battle with Brad Blake and Matt Goodlad.

The second heat saw Jac Dolmans in his first run for the year and he made the most of it, racing to greet the chequered flag first, only just ahead of Jeremy Hale and Nat Muir.

Heat three was an intense affair, with Jay Cardy jumping into the lead while Vosbergen quickly settled into second. Come lap three and Vosbergen made his move on Cardy and took the lead. Cardy fought back but it wasn’t enough as Vosbergen pulled away to claim his second heat win of the night. Cardy held on for second while Warren Oldield was third.

The final heat saw former national champions Brad Blake and Marc Giancola sharing the front row. The duo took off together but it was Giancola who edged his way into the lead. Blake never gave up but Giancola was just too good as he took the win ahead of Blake and third placed Lee Watt.

The feature race was nothing short of a dog fight. The opening was marred by an eight car crash in the opening corner. Peter Seaton suffered the worst of the damage after cannoning into the wall but luckily all other cars were able to restart, albeit with a few bent panels. The second start saw Vosbergen in the lead ahead of Giancola while back in the pack Dolmans suddenly slowed. Blake ducked underneath him where Hale made contact with Blake and pushed him into the wall, leaving Simon McNab nowhere to go but into the side of Blake and causing significant damage to both machines and forcing them infield, while Hale was disqualified for the contact.

Again the race restarted with Vosbergen maintaining his lead, but the yellows came on once more for Warren Oldfield who looped his machine, with Michael Holmes making slight contact. Both restarted and the race continued, but this time Vosbergen made a slight mistake and grazed the wall in turn four and came down across the track. This allowed Ben Ludlow to jump into the lead ahead of Vosbergen.

Vosbergen regained his composure and worked the highline while Ludlow sat on the bottom and the duo battled side by side, lap after lap. As the race wore on the tension built as neither gained an advantage on the other and the two cars crossed the line side by side. The final lap saw Vosbergen duck down low, just in front of Ludlow to stop any passing move but somehow Ludlow got right next to Vosbergen and the duo crossed the line side by side. It came down to what the transponders said and it was Vosbergen who claimed the win by 0.01 seconds, just edging out Ludlow, while third placed Dolmans was a further five seconds back.

The Late Model brigade will now head up to Kalgoorlie Speedway this coming weekend for the fourth round of the Hoosier Tires Pro Dirt Series, so stay tuned for all the details!

Release by DTN Media.











Official Results
Heat 1 – 1. Craig Vosbergen, 2. Ben Ludlow, 3. Michael Holmes, 4. Brad Blake, 5. Matt Goodlad, 6. Phil Zudeima, 7. Ryan Ludlow, 8. Peter Seaton. DNS: Craig Greentree, Brad Boley.

Heat 2 – 1. Jac Dolmans Jnr, 2. Jeremy Hale, 3. Nat Muir, 4. Warren Oldfield, 5. Marc Giancola, 6. Brad Ludlow, 7. Jay Cardy, 8. Lee Watt, 9. Simon McNab, 10. Jamie Moon, 11. Rob Galloway. DNF; Bryn Haythornthwaite.

Heat 3 – 1. Craig Vosbergen, 2. Jay Cardy, 3. Warren Oldfield, 4. Phil Zudeima, 5. Jac Dolmans Jnr, 6. Michael Holmes, 7. Simon McNab, 8. Bryn Haythornthwaite, 9. Ryan Ludlow, 10. Peter Seaton, 11. Rob Galloway.

Heat 4 – 1. Marc Giancola, 2. Brad Blake, 3. Lee Watt, 4. Matt Goodlad, 5. Jeremy Hale, 6. Ben Ludlow, 7. Nat Muir. DNF: Jamie Moon. DNS: Craig Greentree, Brad Boley, Brad Ludlow.

Feature Race – 1. Craig Vosbergen, 2. Ben Ludlow, 3. Jac Dolmans Jnr, 4. Matt Goodlad, 5. Jay Cardy, 6. Marc Giancola, 7. Michael Holmes, 8. Warren Oldfield, 9. Phil Zudeima, 10. Nat Muir, 11. Lee Watt, 12. Bryn Haythornthwaite, 13. Jamie Moon. DNF: Rob Galloway, Brad Blake, Simon McNab, Ryan Ludlow, Peter Seaton. DNS: Craig Greentree, Brad Boley, Brad Ludlow. DQ: Jeremy Hale.



Leave a Comment