Vosbergen Grabs Another!

On ABN Trade Mates night at the Perth Motorplex, Brent Vosbergen (Team Vosbergen Racing – TVR) has gone on to claim another win, this time the Silver Cup event, doubling as round thirteen of the Pro Dirt Series!
Vosbergen was strong all night, winning the opening heat and then finishing third in the second heat behind winner Michael Holmes (Michael Holmes Racing) and second placed Warren Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) to claim a front row start alongside pole sitter Holmes.
Nine cars hit the track for the feature with only Joe Chalmers (Team BCM Motorsport:) unable to make the start after mechanical issues struck again in the second heat.
As the twenty lap feature event went green it was Holmes getting the jump on Vosbergen, but Vosbergen used the inside to his advantage and grabbed the lead coming out of turn two.
Veronica McCann (Veronica McCann – Red Hot Racing) would settle into third place ahead of Warren Oldfield, with the rest of the field spreading out across the track in the next few laps.
Greg Horan (@CPR Choppa Pop), Damian Hudson (Hudson Racing Team) and Jay Cardy (Cardy Racing Components) all of a sudden found themselves bunched up in the battle for sixth with five laps complete, Cardy able to get past Horan for seventh on lap six and then power around the outside of Hudson for sixth on lap seven.
Up front Vosbergen had made his way into lapped traffic on the ninth circulation, but it certainly didn’t slow him down, nearly five seconds ahead of Holmes while Oldfield had also closed on McCann for third and at the halfway point of the race he dove underneath her to take third, just as Cardy pulled to the infield.
With fifteen complete Vosbergen was over six seconds ahead as Oldfield closed on Holmes and began desperately looking for a way past him. He tried numerous times to get by but in the end a lapped car would thwart his efforts, seeing him forced to try and close ground again with only a few laps remaining.
Somehow Oldfield was able to close that ground, moving to the inside of Holmes with two to go, the duo just 0.075 seconds apart as they crossed the line.
With one to go there was 0.222 between them, Oldfield not giving up and Holmes continued to hold the position but up front it was all Vosbergen, setting a brand new twenty lap record, knocking five seconds off the old mark set back in 2016 as he defeated Holmes and Oldfield in a thriller.
McCann, David Boyes (Boyes Motorsport), Damian Hudson, Greg Horan and Chris Barrow (Barrow Motorsports) would round out the finishers.
Late Model teams will now have a couple of weeks break before the next event at the Perth Motorplex, which will be the Gold Cup, doubling as Round Fourteen of the Pro Dirt Series. This should give the drivers plenty of time to rejuvenate, with a number of drivers set to return to the track once again!
Release by DTN Media.
Contingency Awards
DTN Pole Position – Michael Holmes
APM Roofing Hard Charger – Greg Horan
All Star Winner – David Boyes
Official Results
Heat One, 8 laps: 1. Brent Vosbergen, 2. Warren Oldfield, 3. Michael Holmes, 4. Joe Chalmers, 5. Veronica McCann, 6. Damian Hudson, 7. Jay Cardy, 8. David Boyes, 9. Greg Horan, 10. Chris Barrow. Total Time: 2.10.771. Winning Margin: 4.583. Fastest Lap: 15.926 Brent Vosbergen.
Heat Two, 8 laps: 1. Michael Holmes, 2. Warren Oldfield, 3. Brent Vosbergen, 4. David Boyes, 5. Veronica McCann, 6. Damian Hudson, 7. Chris Barrow, 8. Greg Horan. DNF: Jay Cardy (1), Joe Chalmers (1). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 2.337. Fastest Lap: 15.835 Michael Holmes.
Feature, 20 laps: 1. Brent Vosbergen, 2. Michael Holmes, 3. Warren Oldfield, 4. Veronica McCann, 5. David Boyes (19), 6. Damian Hudson (19), 7. Greg Horan (19), 8. Chris Barrow (18). DNF: Jay Cardy (9). DNS: Joe Chalmers. Total Time: 5.26.474 RECORD. Winning Margin: 7.527. Fastest Lap: 15.383 Brent Vosbergen.