Vosbergen Claims Round Two!

Exactly one month to the day since his last feature race win, Brent Vosbergen (Team Vosbergen Racing – TVR) has returned to the winner’s circle at the Perth Motorplex, claiming what was the second round of the Wild West Shootout, doubling as the eighth round of the 2023/24 Wild West Series, proudly presented by Maddington Toyota and CanningVale Toyota.
Big fields contested the four heat races, with wins being shared by Joe Chalmers (Team BCM Motorsport:), Warren Oldfield (Oldfield Racing), Victorian visitor Peter Nicola (NRT – Nicola Racing Team) and Jay Cardy (Cardy Racing Components), only the top twenty four qualifiers making it to the feature race.
Chalmers, courtesy of his win and a second place, would start from pole position in the thirty-lap affair, joined on the front row by opening round winner Kye Blight (Kye Blight Racing) who grabbed a second and a third in his preliminaries.
As the race went green, Chalmers was able to grab the lead immediately with Blight and Warren Oldfield in hot pursuit.
Blight was high and Oldfield low on the track, the duo just 0.023 seconds apart as they completed lap two behind Chalmers, while Brent Vosbergen was lurking right behind them looking for a way through.
Chalmers and Blight managed to pull away slightly from the field, going side by side for the lead and Blight able to edge past to take over the point on lap four.
Chalmers and Warren Oldfield held down second and third respectively, Vosbergen on Warren’s tail and going high and low as he tried to make the pass, while the remainder of the Oldfield trio, Jamie and Jason were in turn right behind them.
Vosbergen went high and grabbed third on lap six, then set out to close the gap on second placed Chalmers.
Chalmers fought back on Blight and retook the lead on lap nine as the duo approached lapped traffic, Vosbergen also tagging onto the back of Blight while Jamie got past Warren for fourth.
Lap eleven saw Vosbergen shoot by on the inside of Blight to take second, but the lap was not complete as a couple of cars came together right in front of the leaders to bring out the yellows.
Unfortunately the attempt at a restart saw a seven car pile up on the turn four coming to the green flag, names including Abbey
Pickering (All About Racing), WA Champion Brad Blake, Mat Robbins (Robbins Motorsport ), Daniel Ameduri (Red dog racing),
Nathan Callaghan, Greg Horan (CPR – Chopper Pop Racing) and Peter Walker all involved.
The next attempt saw another two cars at the back of the field come together and spin in turn three before they even got to the start, while at the same time, four cars came together in the same place as the last attempt at a start without the race officially even going green, the field drawing the ire of the stewards and being lined up single file for the ensuing attempt at finishing the race.
Amazingly, nineteen cars were able to restart and Blight took full advantage, going underneath Chalmers in turn two and pulling clear into the lead down the back straight.
Vosbergen would also look under Chalmers but couldn’t make the move stick until a few laps later.
Chalmers would then come under fire from Jamie Oldfield, Blight leading Vosbergen, Chalmers, Jamie Oldfield and Jason Oldfield at the halfway point.
A lap later Jamie would make the move stick on Chalmers and take over the third place running, while a lap after that Warren would move back into the top five, passing Jason.
Vosbergen would then chase down and pass Blight like he was standing still for the lead, quickly building up a gap as Jamie Oldfield,
Chalmers and Warren Oldfield also began to close on Blight once more.
Chalmers would dive back under Jamie with ten to go, but Jamie held strong, the duo still closing on Blight in second place.
Lapped traffic came into play for Vosbergen, but he simply shifted where he wanted the car and cruised around them, building his lead each and every lap.
The lapped cars however weren’t as kind to Jamie Oldfield and Chalmers, Blight able to break away from them once more, and Chalmers then able to dive under Oldfield to retake third on lap twenty-four.
Back into open air and Jamie dove under Chalmers once more, grabbing third on lap twenty-seven and closing at a rate of knots on Blight.
Chalmers fought back out of nowhere and retook the third place with the white flag flying, and although Vosbergen got caught up in lapped traffic in the dying stages, he had enough of a lead to defeat Blight, with Chalmers and Jamie Oldfield next across the line in a race that saw three different leaders, four official lead changes and a pile of other ones almost every lap!
With two nights of racing now complete, the points are still tight in both the Wild West Showdonw and the Pro Dirt Series.
There are now just a few days until the Late Models are at it again, heading down to Albany Speedway Club this Saturday night for the third round of the Wild West Shootout proudly presented by McPhee Freight!
Release by DTN Media.
Contingency Awards
DTN Pole Sitter – Joe Chalmers
Heatley’s Hard Charger – Jeff Roth (+12)
Ross’s All Star Award – David Nylander
Supafit Supa 7th Place – Veronica McCann
Official Results
Heat One, 8 laps: 1. 23 Joe Chalmers, 2. 0 Brad Blake, 3. A1 Brent Vosbergen, 4. 91 Michael Holmes, 5. 51 Jamie Oldfield, 6. 50 Veronica McCann, 7. 155 Daniel Ameduri, 8. 6 Peter Walker, 9. 94 Luke Halliday, 10. 04 Greg Horan, 11. 74 Nathan Richards, 12. 57 Mat Robbins, 13. 21 Rod Musarra. DNF: 65 Peter Seaton (5). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 2.482. Fastest Lap: 17.454 Joe Chalmers.
Heat Two, 8 laps: 1. 15 Warren Oldfield, 2. 11 Jason Oldfield, 3. 31 Kye Blight, 4. T6 Brad Smith, 5. 54 David Nylander, 6. 26 Ken Macpherson, 7. 39 Chris Barrow, 8. 52 Jay Cardy, 9. 95Abbey Pickering, 10. 5 Anthony King, 11. V1 Peter Nicola, 12. 93 Nathan Callaghan. DNF: USA14 Jeff Roth (2). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.797. Fastest Lap: 18.021 Jason Oldfield.
Heat Three, 8 laps: 1. V1 Peter Nicola, 2. 31 Kye Blight, 3. 51 Jamie Oldfield, 4. 0 Brad Blake, 5. 94 Luke Halliday, 6. 54 David Nylander, 7. 11 Jason Oldfield, 8. T6 Brad Smith, 9. 65 Peter Seaton, 10. 91 Michael Holmes, 11. 74 Nathan Richards, 12. 6 Peter Walker. DNF: 39 Chris Barrow (2). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 4.554. Fastest Lap: 17.016 Peter Nicola.
Heat Four, 8 laps: 1. 52 Jay Cardy, 2. 23 Joe Chalmers, 3. A1 Brent Vosbergen, 4. 155 Daniel Ameduri, 5. 15 Warren Oldfield, 6. 50 Veronica McCann, 7. 93 Nathan Callaghan, 8. USA14 Jeff Roth, 9. 26 Ken Macpherson, 10. 95 Abbey Pickering, 11. 57 Mat Robbins, 12. 04 Greg Horan. DNS: 21 Rod Musarra. Total Time: 2.23.400. Winning Margin: 4.402. Fastest Lap: 17.516 Jay Cardy.
Feature, 30 laps: 1. A1 Brent Vosbergen, 2. 31 Kye Blight, 3. 23 Joe Chalmers, 4. 51 Jamie Oldfield, 5. 15 Warren Oldfield, 6. 11 Jason Oldfield, 7. 50 Veronica McCann, 8. V1 Peter Nicola, 9. 26 Ken Macpherson, 10. 52 Jay Cardy, 11. 54 David Nylander, 12. 94 Luke Halliday, 13. USA14 Jeff Roth (29), 14. 91 Michael Holmes (29), 15. 93 Nathan Callaghan (29), 16. 04 Greg Horan (29), 17. 39 Chris Barrow (28), 18. 74 Nathan Richards (26). DNF: T6 Brad Smith (10), 0 Brad Blake (10), 155 Daniel Ameduri (10), 6 Peter Walker (10), 57 Mat Robbins (10), 95 Abbey Pickering (10). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 1.862. Fastest Lap: 17.388 Veronica McCann.