Vosbergen Blasts to Victory at Bunbury



Craig Vosbergen has taken out Round 5 of the 2012/2013 Hoosier Racing Tire Pro Dirt Late Model Series at Quit Bunbury Speedway on December 1st with a brillant drive which seen him storm through the field to victory.


Vosbergen was too good in the thirty lap final with Brad Blake and Warren Oldfield rounding out the podium.


A big of over twenty cars fronted for the only Pro Dirt Series round to be held at the Quit Bunbury Speewday prior to the Australian Championship in January.


The opening race of the night began with a very nasty accident occurring between Michael Hamon & Ben Ludlow in the first turn on the opening lap with both cars suffering extensive damage. Both Ludlow & Hamon would take no further part in the race meeting. Michael Holmes put in a great drive to win the first heat race over Koran Atkison & Matt Noakes who was making his first appearance of the season. 


Local Bunbury driver Brad Blake took out the second heat over Matt Goodlad and Jamie Oldfield. Heat three saw Craig Vosbergen show the potential of his new brand new Rocket with a win over Clint Noakes and Jamie Oldfield. Brad Ludlow had a major engine failure during heat three continuing a terrible start to the season for the Ludlow racing.


The final heat race of the evening went to Warren Oldfield over Blake & Goodlad.


The A dash witnessed a great battle for grid positions for the feature race with Brad Blake getting the win with a lot of drivers further back in the pack using up a lot of the rubber on their tyres throughtout the event.


Craig Vosbergen easily won the B Dash with Paul Joss and Craig Greentree having a nasty spill on the main straight. Greentree sustained enough damage to put him out for the remainder of the night with Joss and his team making enough repairs to get him out for the feature race.


At the start of the feature race for Round five of the 2012/2013 Hoosier Racing Tire Pro Dirt Late Model Series, Brad Blake would get the jump and lead the opening laps on his home track. A great battle was going on mid pack between Jamie Oldfield, Matt Goodlad and Craig Vosbergen who started out of position nine.


Koran Atkinson who enjoyed a consistent run in the heat races would spin to the infield and retire from the race with Matt Nylander, Bert Vosbergen and Paul Joss all non finishers in the feature race.


Craig Vosbergen would start to make his presence felt during the latter stages of the feature race passing Matt Goodlad, Warren Oldfield, Michael Holmes & Jay Cardy with brillant outside passes moving him into second place.


A restart with nine laps remaining put Vosbergen right behind the race leader Brad Blake. Vosbergen would apply a heap of pressure to Blake with Vosbergen taking the lead with brillant outside pass with a handful of laps remaining.


Vosbergen would go on to win comfortably over Blake, Warren Oldfield, Cardy, Holmes, Matt Goodlad & Jamie Oldfield who had a great battle to the end of the race for the minor placings. Clint Noakes, Phil Zuidema, Dean King, Simon McNabb & Peter McPherson would round out the finishers of the thirty lap final.


The next round of the Hoosier Racing Tire Pro Dirt Late Model Series will be held next Saturday 8th December at the Perth Motorplex. 


Hoosier Racing Tire Pro Dirt Series Feature Results- Round Five Quit Bunbury Speedway


1st 8 Craig Vosbergen, 2nd 0 Brad Blake, 3rd 15 Warren Oldfield, 4th 91 Michael Holmes, 5th 51 Jamie Oldfield, 6th 52 Jay Cardy, 7th 18 Matt Goodlad, 8th 23 Clint Noakes, 9th 39 Phil Zuidema, 10th 21 Dean King, 11th 49 Simon McNabb, 12th 33 Peter McPherson, DNF 34 Matt Nylander, 63 Koran Atkinson, 4 Bert Vosbergen, 22 Paul Joss



Late Model Racing Australia would like to thank its 2012/13 corporate partners:

Hoosier Racing Tire

Racin Tyres & Accessories

Genesis Racing Shocks

Able Finance

Southside Engine Centre

MTi group

Empire Graphics

Tillco Engineering

Ultra Tune Morley

Snap On Tools – Kalgoorlie

Lucas Oils – Brad Ludlow

MDR Trans


Ian Diffen Bunbury




Leave a Comment