Vosbergen Again Top Dog!

It was a pretty rough and tumble feature race last night at the Perth Motorplex, but as has so often been the case this season, Brent Vosbergen claimed the feature win once again in what was the second round of the Wild West Showdown, doubling as the eighth round of the Pro Dirt Series, proudly presented by McPhee Freight.
Vosbergen scored a win and a third in his heats, which meant that for the sixth time from eight rounds, he would start from pole position for the feature, alongside an impressive Michael Holmes and in front of the second row comprised of Jay Cardy and Joe Chalmers, all three of whom also claimed a heat race win.
Once again Vosbergen made the most of his strong starting position, shooting away to the lead immediately, Holmes into second followed by Cardy, Warren Oldfield and Chalmers.
The top five settled into a nice rhythm, the main battles being Jamie Oldfield looking for a way past Chalmers for fifth and Cardy applying the pressure to Holmes for second at this stage.
Unfortunately for Cardy, a lapped car came out right in front of him just as he was looking under Holmes for second, seriously inconveniencing him and forcing him to build his momentum up once again.
The yellow lights came on for the first time early in the race after Robbie Cox spun in turn two, but this gave Cardy the chance he needed, racing into second on the restart.
Chalmers, running the high line, caught third placed Holmes and passed him, setting out after Cardy and then grabbing that position on the seventh circulation, Holmes then following him through to retake the third position.
Shortly after, Warren Oldfield arrived on the scene and grabbed fourth on lap nine.
The yellows were out again shortly after as Greg Horan and Damian Hudson spun together, with Cox spinning to avoid and Chalmers also getting involved, but getting his spot back on the restart.
The restart saw last start winner Paul Stubber retire infield, while Holmes retook second as the race went green again but Chalmers went back around the outside to hold position.
Back in the field a number of cars came together, Brad Blake and David Nylander the ones left to drop a number of spots, Nylander then retiring infield.
By this stage, Vosbergen was again away, with Chalmers second from Holmes, Cardy and the Oldfield brothers, who were both looking to continue the form that netted each of them an earlier heat race win.
Jamie Oldfield put Cardy under pressure but Cardy was able to accelerate away again and all of a sudden the cars were going three wide in the battle for second, with Chalmers high, Cardy low and Holmes in the middle.
At the halfway point of the race Chalmers was back in second, while Jamie Oldfield got past Cardy for fourth.
Jamie then looked under Holmes for third, dove underneath him in turn one and took the position on lap seventeen.
With twelve remaining the yellows came out once again, this time for an uncharacteristic spin from Kodee Brown.
On the restart Cardy passed Jamie Oldfield for third, but Oldfield got back under him and set out after Chalmers for second, who was right on leader Vosbergens tail as he didn’t get away to the gap he had previously enjoyed.
Once Vosbergen got wound up once again he began to build the gap once more, while behind him Oldfield, Chalmers, Cardy were still fighting with second while Brad Blake, who had raced his way back through was also involved in the battle, grabbing third on lap twenty two and then second a lap later.
By this point Vosbergen was fighting a battle with lapped traffic, which allowed Blake to close the gap to 0.4 seconds with only a handful of laps remaining, while the battle for third was also looking to come down to the wire.
All of a sudden Chalmers had steering issues and retired to the infield, lucky to be missed by a big group of drivers, but up front it was all Vosbergen who did a valiant job to hold off Brad Blake as the chequered flag flew (who did a great job to fight back after being as low as twelfth at one point in the race), with Jamie Oldfield crossing the line in third.
Unfortunately, they were the only three to officially greet the chequered flag, as chaos had unfolded behind them in the final turns, with Greg Horan spinning, leaving Warren Oldfield nowhere to go as he spun to avoid contact.
In turn Damian Hudson piled in and this saw Warren Oldfield rolling upside down at the top of turns three and four, with Daniel Ameduri doing his best to avoid contact, Kodee Brown then piling in at a rate of knots and seeing the red lights come on.
With the first three cars having greeted the chequered flag the race was officially finished, with placings from position four onward recorded from the last lap.
A full point score for both the Wild West Showdown and the Pro Dirt Series will be released later today.
Stay tuned in the meantime, as we now have less than a week before we are back in action once again, this time at the Ellenbrook Speedway for the ninth round of the Pro Dirt Series, doubling as the third round of the Wild West Showdown!
The 2021/22 Pro Dirt Series proudly bought to you by ABN Trade Mates, CTM Recruitment Pty Ltd, Mcphee Transport, Global Testing Services, PTE Group, SupaFit Seat Covers, APM Roofing and Gutters, Boyes Eqs and Dirt Track Nutters.
Release by DTN Media.
Pics Courtesy DTN Media and Richard Hathaway Photography.
Contingency Awards
DTN Pole Position – Brent Vosbergen
APM Roofing Hard Charger – Rod Musarra
Boyes Equipment SVS All Star Award – Daniel Ameduri
Official Results
Heat One, 8 laps: 1. Michael Holmes, 2. Freddy Kinsella, 3. Brent Vosbergen, 4. Joe Chalmers, 5. Daniel Ameduri, 6. Jai Mazzini, 7. Cody Avins, 8. Peter Mewett (7). DNF: Richard Wells (3). Total Time: 2.19.849. Winning Margin: 0.966. Fastest Lap: 17.037 Brent Vosbergen.
Heat Two, 8 laps: 1. Jay Cardy, 2. Veronica McCann, 3. Matt Nylander, 4. Rod Musarra, 5. Brad Blake, 6. Brad Ludlow, 7. Nathan Richards. DNF: David Boyes (4). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.440. Fastest Lap: 17.619 Jay Cardy.
Heat Three, 8 laps: 1. Warren Oldfield, 2. Kodee Brown, 3. Paul Stubber, 4. David Nylander, 5. Jamie Oldfield, 6. Warren Minshull, 7. Robbie Cox, 8. Greg Horan (7), 9. Damian Hudson (7). Total Time: 2.21.152. Winning Margin: 1.883. Fastest Lap: 17.377 Warren Oldfield.
Heat Four, 8 laps: 1. Joe Chalmers, 2. Matt Nylander, 3. Jay Cardy, 4. Cody Avins, 5. Jai Mazzini, 6. Veronica McCann, 7. Rod Musarra. DNS: Richard Wells. Total Time: 2.17.028. Winning Margin: 3.751. Fastest Lap: 16.675 Joe Chalmers.
Heat Five, 8 laps: 1. Jamie Oldfield, 2. Brad Blake, 3. David Nylander, 4. Warren Oldfield, 5. Robbie Cox, 6. Brad Ludlow, 7. Nathan Richards. DNF: David Boyes (0). DQ: Paul Stubber. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.677. Fastest Lap: 17.104 Brad Blake.
Heat Six, 8 laps: 1. Brent Vosbergen, 2. Daniel Ameduri, 3. Michael Holmes, 4. Kodee Brown, 5. Warren Minshull, 6. Freddy Kinsella, 7. Greg Horan, 8. Damian Hudson, 9. Peter Mewett. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 1.390. Fastest Lap: 16.890 Daniel Ameduri.

Feature, 30 laps: 1. Brent Vosbergen, 2. Brad Blake, 3. Jamie Oldfield, 4. Warren Oldfield, 5.  Jay Cardy, 6. Daniel Ameduri, 7. Michael Holmes, 8. Rod Musarra, 9. Joe Chalmers, 10. Kodee Brown, 11. Warren Minshull, 12. Freddy Kinsella, 13. Matt Nylander, 14. Veronica McCann, 15. Cody Avins, 16. Damian Hudson, 17. Damian Hudson. DNF: Jai Mazzini (25), Nathan Richards (11), David Nylander (9), Paul Stubber (8), Peter Mewett (3). DQ: Greg Horan. DNS: Brad Ludlow. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 1.104. Fastest Lap: 17.050 Brent Vosbergen.