To The Wire



The Late Models have had yet another massive season and it will this weekend come to an end in what will be the Grand Final event, the 96FM Powerpalooza II event at the Perth Motorplex.

After no less than seventeen nights of racing, this Saturday, the eighteenth night for season 2017/18, will see the conclusion of not just the XLI Pro Dirt Series, but also the Perth Motorplex Track Championship, both of which are set to come down to the wire.

Warren Oldfield and Jay Cardy have been swapping for the lead in the XLI Pro Dirt Series all year round, with Oldfield holding the advantage coming into the final night, a nineteen point buffer ahead of Cardy. Michael Holmes is in third place just thirty four markers further back while Matt Goodlad and Brad Blake round out the top five.

Looking at the Perth Motorplex Track Championship it is Warren Oldfield again in the lead, this time eighteen points ahead of second placed Paul Stubber. Michael Holmes is third while Veronica McCann and Matt Goodlad round out the top five after ten of the eleven rounds.

With both championships holding the distinct possibility of change after this Saturday night’s final show, every single driver on track will be fighting hard to gain positions in each race, which should provide the fans with a spectacle not to be missed.

Warren Oldfield has claimed one round win and two podiums at the Motorplex this season and would love another solid haul of points to gain a fourth Track Championship, not to mention maintain his lead in the XLI Pro Dirt Series. Cardy too will be racing hard, but having one win and a third place as his best results at the Motorplex this season will be fighting with his back up against the wall to chase down Oldfield in the Track Championship, but is a huge chance of taking out the XLI Series.

Michael Holmes, with third in both series will be chasing hard to consolidate that position and take any chance he can get to gain more points in his quest to move up the leaderboards in both series, while Matt Goodlad, in the top five in both series, will be much the same.

Paul Stubber has been in scintillating form recently, running towards the front of the Motorplex field at each round to win the last two feature races in a row there, including his recent win in the WA Title. Despite being just eighteen points behind Oldfield for the track championship however he has elected to put crewman Pat Vanbrakel in the car for this weekend and in doing so will drop down the points order.

Brad Blake had a great start to the year but his recent results haven’t been what he is after, so he will be hopeful of bouncing back while Veronica McCann is desperately trying to chase him down in the XLI Series points. A string of solid results for the likeable lady racer should hold her in good stead for this weekend’s event.

Daniel Ameduri and Mick Comley have never been very far from each other throughout the season as they battle for rookie of the year honours. Both will be keen to finish their seasons on a high and round out with a solid result.

Kye Blight has put in some stand out performances throughout the season despite a late start and will be keen to finish his season on a high while others like Simon ‘Awesome’ McNab, multiple feature winner in this season Ryan ‘The Black Knight’ Halliday and the impressive Brent Vosbergen will also be threats come feature time.

The Late Models will compete in two heats this Saturday night prior to the final event of the season, a twenty lap feature. This will bring what has been a great year to its end and we hope to see each and every one of our fans at the Perth Motorplex to celebrate with Powerpalooza!

The XLI Pro Dirt Series and Di Candilo Steel City USA Invasion Tour proudly bought to you by Pancho’s Mexican Restaurants, CTM Recruitment, Cardy Racing Components, APM Roofing, Dirt Track Nutters, Renegade Fuels, Palice Property Group, Moyle Race Parts, Boyes Equipment SVS, RACIN’ Tyres and Accessories, Maxima Oils, Collie Machine Shop, Southern Haulage, Car Busters and Forma-tel.

Release by DTN Media.
Pics Courtesy Peter Roebuck.

Official Nominations – 19
0 Brad Blake 
4 Brent Vosbergen 
14 Willy Powell
15 Warren Oldfield 
18 Matt Goodlad 
19 Simon McNab
23 Joe Chalmers
31 Pat Vanbrakel
38 Jai Mazzini 
41 Kye Blight
50 Veronica McCann 
52 Jay Cardy 
60 Jayden Meckenstock
71 Jamie Moon 
75 Mick Comley 
77 Jeremy Hale 
83 Daniel Ameduri 
91 Michael Holmes
99 Ryan Halliday

Leave a Comment