Time to get serious!

After a long off season, the thunder and lightning Late Models will finally be back in action for the opening event of the 2022/23 season this Saturday, and it will become serious straight away as drivers contest the first round of the season long Pro Dirt Series at the Allwest Plant Hire – Ellenbrook Speedway!
CTM Recruitment Pty Ltd will proudly present this season’s opening round, with the annual Ray Tulk Memorial once again returning to help headline the show and mark what is sure to be a huge opening event.
Ray and his wife June were massive contributors to Speedway, and in particular the RDA of WA club, having played a big part in shifting the club from Wattle Grove Speedway to its current home at Ellenbrook Speedway. They received Life Membership back in 1981 from the RDA, but also played a big part in the formation of Late Models: Ray was one of the founding members and served in several positions including as Treasurer and in Technical. Sadly, Ray passed away in 2004 and a memorial race was named in his honour that year, having been held annually since then as weather permitted.
The sun should be shining this weekend though for the next chapter of the event and we are incredibly excited to see who will be the one to draw first blood in the brand-new season!
Defending Pro Dirt Series Champion Brent Vosbergen (Team Vosbergen Racing – TVR) had a breakout season in 2021/22, with a multitude of wins and awards, something that he will strive for again this time around. Starting out the season in the famous #8 machine of his father Craig, Brent would love to kick start his campaign with a bang and repeat his efforts of 2019 when he won the Ray Tulk Memorial for the first time.
This weekend marks the 15th annual running of the event, with just six drivers having tasted victory in the race, but no driver comes into the show with more wins than Warren Oldfield (Oldfield Racing). A five-time winner of the race, he would love to add a sixth trophy to his cabinet and get his quest for another overall Pro Dirt Series win back on track.
Brother Jamie Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) is the next winningest driver, equal with Brad Blake, both drivers having won three apiece. Blake, who was last year’s winner, is not in the field this weekend, giving the recently crowned eleven-time winner of the Brian Rose Memorial the chance to not only move into second on the outright Ray Tulk winners list, but to also grab his overall twenty third Pro Dirt Series feature race win, which would tie him with Craig Vosbergen for third place on the all-time winners list.
Of course, there will be a whole field of other drivers looking to stop that from happening, and with no other previous Ray Tulk Memorial winners in the field, they are all keen to etch their own place in history.
Michael Holmes (Michael Holmes Racing) had some shakedown laps at the venue a few weeks back and claimed the feature win in his new car, so will be a tough one to beat, while other series veterans in Jay Cardy (Cardy Racing Components) and home track hero Jason Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) can also be considered serious threats this weekend.
The CTM Recruitment Racing team is not just presenting this race meeting as sponsors, but again will be fielding two ultra-impressive cars, with team owner Rob back aboard the #2 machine while long-time Late Model competitor Luke Halliday will this season move into the team’s #22 machine. After some time to settle into the car Luke will surely be right on the pace, whilst Rob will only benefit from Luke’s experience, as well as all the laps that he completed in the Winter Series.
Speaking of the Winter Series, the winner of the last two versions of it, Greg Horan (CPR – Chopper Pop Racing), also returns to the track this weekend, his first appearance at the venue since he clean swept the Winter Series finale event, experience that he will certainly put to good use on Saturday afternoon. He will be joined by fellow Winter Series regulars in Damian Hudson (Hudson Racing Team) and David Boyes (Boyes Motorsport), both of whom are joining the Esperance based Horan and making the long trek from Kalgoorlie to be part of the event.
Rod Musarra (https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100057419831114…) upgraded his machinery over the off season and has looked quick in a few test runs, so the current Rookie of the Year will be keen to keep making an impact, while ‘Smokin’ Joe Chalmers (Team BCM Motorsport:) was also busy in the off season crewing on Late Models in America and is ready to make an even bigger name for himself this season here in the West.
Rounding out the field this weekend will be another ultra-competitive duo in Ken Macpherson (KMM – Ken Macpherson Motorsport) and ‘Red Hot Roni’ Veronica McCann (Veronica McCann – Red Hot Racing). Very active on the promotional scene in recent weeks, the focus for the duo now turns to the on-track action and with both having tasted success at the venue previously, will come in full of confidence that they too could get their names in the history books and set themselves up for an epic 2022/23 season.
The action kicks off this Saturday at the Allwest Plant Hire – Ellenbrook Speedway, with gates opening at 12pm and the racing getting underway from 3pm, finishing under lights!
See you all trackside as we begin what is sure to be another massive season for Late Models! Who is your pick?!?
Release by DTN Media.
Official Nominations – 15
2 Rob Wells
04 Greg Horan
8 Brent Vosbergen
11 Jason Oldfield
15 Warren Oldfield
21 Rod Musarra
22 Luke Halliday
23 Joe Chalmers
26 Ken Macpherson
50 Veronica McCann
51 Jamie Oldfield
52 Jay Cardy
80 Damian Hudson
90 David Boyes
91 Michael Holmes
Ray Tulk Memorial History
2004 Paul Delacy
2005 Rained Out
2006 Mark Duncombe
2007 Not Held
2008 Not Held
2009 Brad Blake
2010 Warren Oldfield
2011 Jamie Oldfield
2012 Jamie Oldfield
2013 Warren Oldfield
2014 Warren Oldfield
2015 Warren Oldfield
2016 Rained Out
2017 Brad Blake
2018 Jamie Oldfield
2019 Brent Vosbergen
2020 Warren Oldfield
2021 Brad Blake