Time for the Gold Cup!

With only a few nights left on the 2022/23 racing calendar, the Late Models are set to fight it out once again this Saturday at the Perth Motorplex as they chase any points they can get towards the end of year Championships!
Thirteen cars have nominated for this weekend’s show, doubling as both the annual Gold Cup event and round fourteen of the Pro Dirt Series which is proudly presented by CTM Recruitment Pty Ltd, with Brent Vosbergen (Team Vosbergen Racing – TVR) and Warren Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) once again the two drivers fighting for the top positions in both of the season long Championships.
In the Pro Dirt Series, Brent has a fifty-two-point gap on Oldfield, while in the Perth Motorplex Track Championship it is Warren with the lead, some ninety eight points clear of Vosbergen. With fifteen nights of the Pro Dirt Series and ten at the Motorplex already completed, the battle is still well and truly on, because anything can happen in Speedway, and with both drivers being former Gold Cup Champions, they certainly know what it takes to claim that win!
Jay Cardy (Cardy Racing Components) is third in the Pro Dirt Series (and sixth in the Motorplex Track Championship) while Michael Holmes (Michael Holmes Racing) is the exact opposite, third at the Motorplex and sixth in the Pro Dirt Series. Both drivers have had up and down seasons, but some strong results dotted throughout have seen them maintain a good position in both overall standings.
Damian Hudson (Hudson Racing Team) is fourth in the Pro Dirt Series with Joe Chalmers (Team BCM Motorsport:) fifth, while Veronica McCann (Veronica McCann – Red Hot Racing) is fifth in the Perth Motorplex Track Championship, all three hoping to build on their overall standings with more good results.
Rod Musarra (@Teamrocket) also returns to action this Saturday night, joined by the Kalgoorlie and Esperance travelers in David Boyes (Boyes Motorsport)and Greg Horan (@CPR – Chopper Pop Racing) respectively, as well as the vastly improving Chris Barrow (Barrow Motorsports), the returning Darren Ahearn (Ahearn Racing W.A) and of course, newly crowned, ten time, WA Champion, ‘The 0 Show’ Brad Blake!
Blake is the only other former Gold Cup champion in the field this weekend, meaning that there are ten drivers searching for that elusive feature race win… what on earth will happen in the Late Model racing action this weekend?
Be at the Perth Motorplex this Saturday night to find out!
Release by DTN Media.
Pics Courtesy Peter Roebuck.
Official Nominations – 13
0 Brad Blake
A1 Brent Vosbergen
04 Greg Horan
15 Warren Oldfield
21 Rod Musarra
23 Joe Chalmers
39 Chris Barrow
50 Veronica McCann
52 Jay Cardy
80 Damian Hudson
90 David Boyes
91 Michael Holmes
199 Darren Ahearn
Late Models Gold Cup History
2000/01 Ben Ludlow
2001/02 Ryan Halliday
2002/03 Ryan Halliday
2003/04 Craig Nylander
2004/05 Not Held
2005/06 Craig Vosbergen
2006/07 Brad Blake
2007/08 Warren Oldfield
2008/09 Not Held
2009/10 Brad Ludlow
2010/11 Ryan Halliday
2011/12 Not Held
2012/13 Not Held
2013/14 Not Held
2014/15 Jamie Oldfield
2015/16 Jamie Oldfield
2016/17 Paul Stubber
2017/18 Warren Oldfield
2018/19 Warren Oldfield
2019/20 Cancelled due to Corona Virus
2020/21 Jamie Oldfield
2021/22 Brent Vosbergen