The WA Title Contenders

The LMRWA is tonight pleased to reveal the final nominations list for this Saturday night’s WA Late Model Title at the Perth Motorplex and with no less than four former champions and plenty of placegetters in the field, it will be a tough one to predict!
Let’s take a look at the field.
0 Brad Blake – Participated in 25 WA Titles. 10 Time WA Champion. Defending Champion. One second, three thirds, three fourths, two fifth’s. That’s nineteen times in the top three! Enough said.
USA1 Doug Drown (Doug Drown Racing) – Participated in one WA Title, back in 2007/08 at Northam. Recorded a DNF there: no American has ever won or even podiumed in this race, can he change that?
04 Greg Horan (CPR – Chopper Pop Racing) – This will be Horan’s third WA Title in a row. He recorded a seventeenth and then was a DNF (fourteenth) last year. Can he continue to improve?
N6 Bruce Mackenzie – Despite his long career, has only ever contested one WA Title where he came home seventh. Spent a bit of time here recently, will that help?
6 Peter Walker – Driving in his first ever WA Late Model Title, Walker will be the third ‘Peter’ to contest the event. A career best result could be on the cards.
8 Craig Vosbergen (Team Vosbergen Racing – TVR) – Two WA Titles, two seconds, a third, five fourth’s and a fifth… that’s eleven top five finishes from his previous seventeen attempts. He has done it all and has nothing left to prove, but he isn’t back in the field this weekend just to make up the numbers!
11 Jason Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) – This will be Jason’s tenth Title event, with his previous results including a second, a third, a seventh, an eighth and a ninth. Comes in as the last start winner so is a big chance.
15 Warren Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) – The second longest continuing streak this weekend, Warren will contest his eighteenth title in a row. Two wins, four seconds, one third, one fourth, one fifth, two sixths.. the results speak for themselves. Has been a while since his last win and bouncing back from a DNF in this event last year will be a high priority.
15k Ken Macpherson (KMM – Ken Macpherson Motorsport) – Running his sixth WA Title this weekend aboard the third differently numbered machine. A sixth, two ninth’s and two DNF’s are his Title record this far… can he go better this time?
18 Matt Goodlad (Daytona Racing) – This Saturday night will mark Goodlad’s fifteenth WA Title event. A second and a third are the highlights, though two fourths, two fifth’s and a sixth are scattered throughout his results. Can he go even better this weekend?
21 Rod Musarra (@Teamrocket) – Contesting his third WA Title in a row, the Nationals winning Musarra will be hoping to better the form that nabbed him a seventh place two years ago, and definitely avoid repeating a DNF in last years event. Has been in career best form in the lead up…
23 Joe Chalmers (Team BCM Motorsport:) – Another in great form coming into what will be his fifth WA Title event. Although missing last year’s event, he was third the year before, following previous results of a sixth and two DNF’s. Could be his year.
31 Kye Blight (BAR31 Team) – His 2019/20 win was a career highlight, falling just short of a defence the next year with a third place. This will be his eighth title, his other results being two fourths, a sixth, a seventh (last season) and two DNF’s. With feature wins already this season, comes in as a top contender.
34 Matt Nylander (Nylander Motorsport) – This weekend marks Nylander’s tenth WA Title event. Unfortunately this event hasn’t always been a happy one, recording only one finish across those years in twentieth place. Comes into the show hot off the heels of some great speed at the last event, so could be one to watch.
39 Chris Barrow (Barrow Motorsports) – His second WA Title this weekend and he will be hoping it goes better than his first where he recorded a DNF in seventeenth. The experience he has gained since then has been immeasurable and should sever him well this weekend.
49 Sean Barrett (Beaumont Motorsports) – The second of the WA Title rookies this season, Barrett has already had a couple of wins at his home track so will be hoping to prove himself against the big guns this Saturday night.
50 Veronica McCann (Veronica McCann – Red Hot Racing) – Third place last year was a career highlight for McCann, who will this weekend contest her eighth WA Title. Fourth, fifth, two sevenths, a ninth and a DNF are her other results…can she claim a higher position to add to the set?
51 Jamie Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) – From the ten titles he has contested so far, Jamie has two wins, a second, a seventh and an eighth as his best results. A DNS after a horror run last season mean he has plenty to prove and having already won a couple of feature races this season, he can never be counted out.
52 Jay Cardy (Cardy Racing Components) – The longest continuing streak of contesting WA Titles this weekend belongs to Jay Cardy, contesting his nineteenth in a row. Two second’s, a third, a fourth, two fifth’s, a sixth, three eighth and a tenth place, Jay has almost got the complete top ten collection… which one will he get this weekend?
54 David Nylander (Nylander Motorsport) – This season will mark the ninth title Nylander has contested. Up util last year his best finish was thirteenth, but a strong fourth place put paid to that and gives him plenty of confidence. Can he rid that wave onto the podium?
80 Damian Hudson (Hudson Racing Team) – This weekend marks Hudson’s third title in a row and considering he is progressively improving (fifteenth in his first attempt and ninth in his second), he could be on track for that curve to continue!
91 Michael Holmes (Michael Holmes Racing) – Returning to the WA Title for the fourteenth time, Holmes has grabbed a third, three fifth’s, two sixth’s, one seventh, one eighth and a tenth amongst other results. Can he step it up again on Saturday?
93 Nathan Callaghan – This will be Callaghan’s third WA Title in seven years. Previously grabbing a thirteenth and an eighth, Callaghan has returned to the sport in fine form and can be expected to improve on these results again.
94 Luke Halliday (CTM Recruitment Racing) – Halliday contested the first four WA Title events (recording a fourth, a tenth, an eleventh and a DNS) before sitting out exactly twenty seasons. He returned last year and came home with another eleventh… what can he do this weekend?
95 Abbey Pickering (All About Racing) – Contesting her first ever WA Title this weekend, Pickering will become just the third female to participate in the event. Consistently improving, Pickering could well trouble the results!
119 Darren Ahearn – The fourth and final driver contesting his first WA Title this weekend, Ahearn will take it the number to one hundred and fourteen drivers who have contested the event. This is the first time we have seen Ahearn at the Motorplex this season, so he will be hoping to get back up to speed quickly.
Wow, what a field! Who’s your pick?
Release by DTN Media.
Official Nominations – 26
0 Brad Blake
USA1 Doug Drown
04 Greg Horan
N6 Bruce Mackenzie
6 Peter Walker
8 Craig Vosbergen
11 Jason Oldfield
15 Warren Oldfield
15k Ken Macpherson
18 Matt Goodlad
21 Rod Musarra
23 Joe Chalmers
31 Kye Blight
34 Matt Nylander
39 Chris Barrow
49 Sean Barrett
50 Veronica McCann
51 Jamie Oldfield
52 Jay Cardy
54 David Nylander
80 Damian Hudson
91 Michael Holmes
93 Nathan Callaghan
94 Luke Halliday
95 Abbey Pickering
119 Darren Ahearn