The O Show Claims Hometown Victory!

Blake 1   Blake Cheque 1

Hometown hero Brad Blake has finally broken through for his first win of the season so far as he last weekend claimed the feature race at Bunbury Speedway.

Blake raced his way to a fine victory in the nonstop twenty five lap final, defeating young gun Brent Vosbergen and Pro Dirt Series points leader Warren Oldfield.

Jay Cardy, who started off pole courtesy of a win and a third place in the heats grabbed the lead early in the feature, a position he held for the first ten laps. Blake soon made his presence felt and then moved through into the lead, which he held for the remainder of the race.

Cardy backed through the field after his tyres began to wear, while Brent Vosbergen began to make a late race charge, moving into second and setting out after Blake.

With the race going nonstop for the twenty five laps, Blake ended up being simply too good, claiming a popular win ahead of Vobergen while Warren Oldfield managed to hold on for third place.

With the race meeting also the final round of the Quit Bunbury Speedway Cleanaway Track Championship, it was Marc Giancola who held on for the series win ahead of Kye Blight by a margin of just eight points. Jay Cardy was third overall, with Paul Joss and Brad Blake rounding out the top five.

Courtesy of this weekend’s results, Warren Oldfield now leads the RACIN’ Tyres and Accessories Pro Dirt Series by fifty nine points with just two rounds remaining. Jamie Oldfield is second, while Kye Blight is eleven points back in third. Jay Cardy is just fourteen points behind Blight in fourth.

The final two rounds of the series get underway this weekend, with the Perth Motorplex hosting the silver cup on Saturday the 23rd of April, which will be followed by the venue hosting the Grand Finale event on the 30th of April.

Stay tuned as tomorrow we release the field for this weekend’s event.

Giancola 1

Release by DTN Media.

Photos by Peter Roebuck.

Contingency Awards

Cardy Race Components 8th Place – Ken MacPherson

Maxima Oils 9th Place – Paul Joss

Pole Position – Jay Cardy

Hard Charger – Brad Blake

Official Results

Heat 1 – 8 Laps: 1. Jay Cardy, 2. Marc Giancola, 3. Warren Oldfield, Jamie Oldfield, Ken MacPherson.

Heat 2 – 8 Laps: 1. Michael Holmes, 2. Brad Blake, 3. Brent Vosbergen, 4. Kye Blight, 5. Paul Joss, 6. Jai Mazzini.

Heat 3 – 8 Laps: 1. Jamie Oldfield, 2. Kye Blight, 3. Jay Cardy, 4. Jai Mazzini, 5. Paul Joss.

Heat 4 – 8 Laps: 1. Brent Vosbergen, 2. Warren Oldfield, 3. Brad Blake, 4. Ken McPherson, 5. Marc Giancola, 6. Michael Holmes.

Feature – 25 Laps: 1. Brad Blake, 2. Brent Vosbergen, 3. Warren Oldfield, 4. Kye Blight, 5. Marc Giancola, 6. Jamie Oldfield, 7. Jay Cardy, 8. Ken McPherson, 9. Paul Joss, 10. Michael Holmes. DNF: Jai Mazzini.

Leave a Comment