The Last Stand

This weekend will mark the series ending showdown, bringing the 2022/23 Pro Dirt Series and Perth Motorplex Track Championships to a close.
Apart from the Red Dirt Rumble at Kalgoorlie, this weekend will be the last chance hit out for competitors for the season and with sixteen nominations received and the point score incredibly close, it is all going to be on the line this Saturday night.
Coming into the round with it all ahead of him is Brent Vosbergen (Team Vosbergen Racing – TVR), holding a fifty point gap on Warren Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) in the Pro Dirt Series and hanging just behind Warren in second in the Motorplex Track Championship. Vosbergen has had four main event victories so far this season while Warren has had three, the duo often side by side throughout the year.
Every race is going to be important on Saturday night, so it is anyone’s guess how that will pan out between the two goliaths of WA Late Model racing.
Jay Cardy (Cardy Racing Components) has been the model of consistency so far this season, with fifteen top ten finishes from seventeen shows contested, a stat that sees him solid in third place in the Pro Dirt Series points. Although it has been a good season so far Cardy would love to finish it off with a win.
Damian Hudson (Hudson Racing Team) has also had a great first year in the Pro Dirt Series, coming into the show sitting fourth on overall points. Making the trek from Kalgoorlie for each show, his results in the standings are a solid reward for his efforts and he too will be looking to finish the season on a high. He will be joined by fellow Kalgoorlie competitor David Boyes (Boyes Motorsport), who is again set to make the long journey and finish out what has been a strong season.
Joe Chalmers (Team BCM Motorsport:), Matt Goodlad (Daytona Racing) and Freddy Kinsella (Team Green Racing) have each claimed a feature race win at different points throughout the season and with all three also in the field this Saturday night, would love to double their win score to two. All three have had a mixture of good and bad luck this season and will be hoping that it all ends well for the final night of the series!
Looking at podium finishes, Jason Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) (4), Veronica McCann (Veronica McCann – Red Hot Racing) (2), Matt Nylander (Nylander Motorsport) (1), Michael Holmes (Michael Holmes Racing) (1) and David Nylander (Nylander Motorsport) (1) have all made appearances this season and will be hoping to repeat, if not improve on those results come feature race time on Saturday night. With a number of the aforementioned drivers also fighting for spots in the overall standings, this will serve to only intensify the battles!
Adding some extra spice to the show will be a rare appearance by 23 time Pro Dirt Series feature race winner Craig Vosbergen (Team Vosbergen Racing – TVR).
Aboard his familiar #8 machine, Craig shouldn’t take long to knock off the racing rust and will be keen to record a good result alongside son Brent. He will be joined by former Australian Champion Kodee Brown (McCorry Brown Racing Team) who after some time out of the seat is set to return this Saturday night.
The final inclusion in this weekend’s field is that of Chris Barrow (Barrow Motorsports), who, in just his first season of racing Late Models, has impressed many with his smooth racing style. Barrow has been improving with every lap under his belt and would love to improve on his previous best finish of eighth at the Motorplex this weekend.
It is sure to be a huge weekend of racing action, so make sure you don’t miss a minute!
Release by DTN Media.
Pics Courtesy Cochrane Photography.
Official Nominations – 16
A1 Brent Vosbergen
07 Kodee Brown
8 Craig Vosbergen
11 Jason Oldfield
15 Warren Oldfield
18 Matt Goodlad
23 Joe Chalmers
34 Matt Nylander
39 Chris Barrow
50 Veronica McCann
52 Jay Cardy
54 David Nylander
80 Damian Hudson
90 David Boyes
91 Michael Holmes
318 Freddy Kinsella