Tenth Time is a Charm!

In a Title weekend that had a little bit of everything, last night at the Perth Motorplex veteran racer Brad Blake demonstrated a never give up attitude, outlasting a whole heap of setbacks and going on to claim his tenth WA Late Model Title win!
The ‘0 Show’ damaged a diff in the night one feature race on Friday to record a DNF and came into yesterday’s show tenth on points.
In his one and only heat race last night he then blew out a tailshaft, resulting in another DNF and seeing him drop down to qualify from position fourteen in the thirty lap feature race.
Up front it would be Kye Blight (Kye Blight Racing) who continued his dominant performance to qualify on pole position, with Matt Goodlad (Daytona Racing) joining him, while Australian Champion Brent Vosbergen (Team Vosbergen Racing – TVR) and former WA Champion Warren Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) would fill out the second row.
As the race went green cars would go everywhere in turn one, with Matt Nylander (Nylander Motorsport), David Boyes (Boyes Motorsport), Matt Amato (Matt Amato Racing) and Greg Horan (@Choppa Pop Racing) all coming to a stop and bringing out the yellows to set up a complete restart with only Nylander unable to re-join.
The second attempt at a start went much more smoothly, Blight moving away into lead with Goodlad and Vosbergen right on his tail looking for a way through.
Blight and Goodlad opened up a small gap as Vosbergen came under pressure from Oldfield, Oldfield drawing alongside him down the back straight and then taking the position coming out of turn four.
Brent got back by Warren on lap four for third, with David Nylander also right on their tail looking for a way through.
The leaders would encounter lapped traffic on lap seven, but it didn’t slow them down as behind them Rod Musarra (@Teamrocket) was also moving forward, having started from position ten and into sixth by the time ten laps were complete while Blake had moved into the top ten from fourteenth.
Traffic became thick for the leaders, but Blight was able to slice his way through with ease as Goodlad got slightly caught up and dropped back from the front runner.
Vosbergen and Oldfield meanwhile were continuing their battle for third, but unfortunately with twelve laps complete the yellows came on after contact between the duo saw Vosbergen spinning to a stop facing the wrong way on the exit of turn four. Warren would be relegated to the rear for the restart and Vosbergen was back into his spot.
Blight again led away with Vosbergen making the most of his opportunities to get past Goodlad for second on the restart, while Oldfield would retire infield a few laps later with a flat tyre as Musarra’s charge also finished at the same time after running as high as fourth, following Oldfield infield.
With fourteen laps to go Blight would now lead Vosbergen, Goodlad, Michael Holmes (Michael Holmes Racing) and Blake who was continuing his charge ahead of Nylander who was rounding out the top six.
The yellows would come on once again with thirteen laps to go as Chris Barrow (Barrow Motorsports) and Greg Horan came together coming out of turn two, Barrow unable to restart the race.
There were some huge moves on the restart with Blight pulling away and Blake flying by a pile of cars and getting into second ahead of Goodlad who also got by Vosbergen, cars racing hard right through the field as Veronica McCann (Veronica McCann – Red Hot Racing) also passing Nylander.
Blight pulled away well and truly from the field with Blake holding off Goodlad, Vosbergen, McCann and Nylander, the top six able to quickly put a gap on the rest of the field as Holmes, who had been running fourth slowed and headed infield.
The laps wound down and with only a few laps to go the lapped traffic became heavy. Unfortunately, the yellows would then come out with two laps to go as Matt Goodlad slowed, setting up a green, white, chequer restart.
Blake was right on Blight’s tail as the field formed up at the restart and as the race went green again Blight did all he could to simply power away, but as the white flag flew chaos unfolded. Coming into turn four a couple of cars came together, seeing Freddy Kinsella (Team Green Racing) spin infield, at the same time as Blight blew a right rear tyre, seeing him pull high and allowing Blake to shoot through, leading the race on lap twenty nine.
From here Blake drove the perfect final lap, going on to grab a record tenth WA Title, crossing the line ahead of Brent Vosbergen, who had been battling power steering issues since the contact with Oldfield, while Veronica McCann raced from position eight to grab the final step on the podium.
David Nylander and Matt Amato would round out the top five finishers, while David Boyes, Blight, Jay Cardy (Cardy Racing Components), Damian Hudson (Hudson Racing Team) and Warren Minshull rounded out the top ten in what was a thrilling two nights of racing!
The win was a popular one and the event as a whole was a fitting way to honour the legend of John Cardy, with drivers putting on a great display of what Late Models are capable of across the two nights. Teams now have a week to reset before heading back to the Motorplex next weekend for the Silver cup event!
Release by DTN Media.
Contingency Awards
DTN Pole Position – Kye Blight
APM Roofing Hard Charger – Brad Blake
All Star Winner – Veronica McCann
Official Results
Heat Five, 8 laps: 1. Brent Vosbergen, 2. Kye Blight, 3. Freddy Kinsella, 4. David Nylander, 5. Matt Amato, 6. Matt Nylander, 7. Damian Hudson, 8. Jay Cardy, 9. Greg Horan. Total Time: 2.09.732. Winning Margin: 1.106. Fastest Lap: 15.751 Kye Blight.
Heat Six, 8 laps: 1. Warren Oldfield, 2. Matt Goodlad, 3 Veronica McCann, 4. Rod Musarra, 5. David Boyes, 6. Michael Holmes, 7. Chris Barrow. DNF: Warren Minshull (6), Brad Blake (0). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.443. Fastest Lap: 16.323 Matt Goodlad.
Feature, 30 laps: 1. Brad Blake, 2. Brent Vosbergen, 3. Veronica McCann, 4. David Nylander, 5. Matt Amato, 6. David Boyes, 7. Kye Blight, 8. Jay Cardy (29), 9. Damian Hudson (28), 10. Warren Minshull (28). DNF: Freddy Kinsella (28), Matt Goodlad (28), Michael Holmes (25), Greg Horan (23), Chris Barrow (17), Warren Oldfield (15), Rod Musarra (15), Matt Nylander (0). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 1.023. Fastest Lap: 15.490 Kye Blight.