State Title History

Just before we start sharing the field for this weekends WA Late Model Title, lets take a quick look at some stats.

The WA Late Model Title has been held on nineteen occasions, as a series on four occasions and as a stand alone event in the other fifteen years.

Of those fifteen events, the title has been held at eight different tracks: Bunbury and Collie three times, the Motorplex, Northam and Manjimup twice and Albany, Geraldton and Kalgoorlie once.

Alan Nylander was the first ever WA Champion for Late Models, something he proudly displays in the attached picture.

The last time the WA Title was held at the Perth Motorplex was in the 2005/06 season, with the victory taken out by Chase Karpenko over Jason Oldfield and Ryan Halliday.

Last year’s version of the title was held at Albany Speedway, with Kodee Brown grabbing the victory from Paul Stubber and Ben Nicastri.

Across the nineteen year history of the event there have been ten winners, but only two drivers have won the event multiple times: Brad Blake with nine victories and Craig Vosbergen with two.

There have been a total of twenty five drivers who have featured on the podium, Blake featuring twelve times, Vosbergen five times and Ryan Halliday four times including one win.

Interestingly, Ben Ludlow and John Cardy have both also made four podium appearances without ever recording a win!

Leave a Comment