Six on the Trot!

As has been the case so often in Western Australia in recent weeks, Australian Champion Kye Blight has again raced his way to victory, this time at Albany Speedway, the second night in a row and his sixth win on the trot.

In a case of history repeating itself, Blight and State Champion Brent Vosbergen would start off the front row together, with Blight getting the jump. The two made contact on the opening lap that saw Vosbergen slide infield and keep going, but he would lose a number of positions and drop to fifth.
Joe Godsey, Warren Oldfield and Jeff Roth would now fill positions two through four, with Blight leading them a merry dance and Vosbergen fighting hard to get back through.

It took Vosbergen just a couple of laps to get back into third and set about chasing down Joe Godsey for second. After sitting behind Godsey for a number of laps, Vosbergen was able to make a move to grab second on lap twenty five, but Godsey fought back and retook the position, holding it for the next three laps.

Vosbergen would have another go and on lap twenty nine was able to retake second, but by that time it was too late, Blight well and truly ahead, lapping with ease and traffic proving once again to be no obstacle.

Blight would win the non-stop feature race, his sixth of the season, defeating Vosbergen and Joe Godsey in what was another brilliant display of why he is the Australian Champion, as well as showing how good Late Model racing can be.

Courtesy of tonight’s results, Blight has also won the overall USA vs WA Invasion Tour points with a near perfect score, his only blemish a third place in his heat on night one of the series. A full points score will be released tomorrow.

After what has been an incredibly busy time, the Late Models in Western Australia will now take a well earned rest, with the next meeting scheduled for the 8th of February back at the Perth Motorplex for Round twelve of the Carbusters Pro Dirt Series, doubling as the Westernapolis event!

The 2019/20 Carbusters Metal Recycling Late Model Pro Dirt Series and USA Invasion Tour, proudly brought to you by Pancho’s Mexican Restaurants, Global XLI, RACIN’ Tyres and Accessories, Michael Holmes Racing, Homes by Roth, Bulk Metals, Boyes Equipment SVS, Dirt Track Nutters, Collie Machine Shop, D P Bingham and Associates Truck and Plant, Grays Online, Panelworx, Rockingham Towing, Baldivis Pharmacy, Mezzstor, West Coast Big Bike Hire, Our Car Autos, QB Copper Recycling, Finlease (Peter Williams), Plantman and Palice Property Group.

Release by DTN Media.
Pics Courtesy Aidan Skraha.

Contingency Awards
Pancho’s Pole Position – Kye Blight
DTN Hard Charger – Hayden Ross
Bulk Metals QuickTime – 14.811 Kye Blight
Boyes Equipment SVS Highest All Star Qualifier – Jeff Roth
Global XLI All Star Award – Hayden Ross
Homes by Roth All Star Podium – Jeff Roth
Michael Holmes Racing Rookie Award – Cody Avins

Official Results
Heat 1, 10 laps: 1. USA14G Joe Godsey, 2. 83 Daniel Ameduri, 3. 0 Brad Blake, 4. 50 Veronica McCann, 5. USA48 Justin Shaw. DNF: 13 Wayne Coleman (5). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 2.492. Fastest Lap: 15.622 Joe Godsey.

Heat 2, 10 laps: 1. A1 Kye Blight, 2. USA14R Jeff Roth, 3. 10 Cody Avins, 4. 91 Michael Holmes, 5. 52 Jay Cardy. DNF: 23 Joe Chalmers (6). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 1.943. Fastest Lap: 14.876 Kye Blight.

Heat 3, 10 laps: 1. 4 Brent Vosbergen, 2. N6 Wade Carter, 3. 318 Freddy Kinsella, 4. 15 Warren Oldfield, 5. 19 Simon McNab. DNF: USA66 Hayden Ross (0). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 5.832. Fastest Lap: 15.979 Brent Vosbergen.

Heat 4, 10 laps: 1. A1 Kye Blight, 2. 52 Jay Cardy, 3. 50 Veronica McCann, 4. USA48 Justin Shaw, 5. 0 Brad Blake. DNS: 23 Joe Chalmers. Total Time: 3.40.736. Winning Margin: 7.433. Fastest Lap: 14.811 Kye Blight.

Heat 5, 10 laps: 1. 15 Warren Oldfield, 2. USA14R Jeff Roth, 3. 318 Freddy Kinsella, 4. 91 Michael Holmes, 5. 10 Cody Avins, 6. N6 Wade Carter. Total Time: 2.45.147. Winning Margin: 1.577. Fastest Lap: 15.752 Jeff Roth.

Heat 6, 10 laps: 1. 4 Brent Vosbergen, 2. USA66 Hayden Ross, 3. USA14G Joe Godsey, 4. 83 Daniel Ameduri, 5. 13 Wayne Coleman. DNF: 19 Simon McNab (0). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 1.864. Fastest Lap: 15.404 Hayden Ross.

Feature, 40 laps: 1. A1 Kye Blight, 2. 4 Brent Vosbergen, 3. USA14G Joe Godsey, 4. 15 Warren Oldfield (39), 5. USA66 Hayden Ross (39), 6. USA14R Jeff Roth (39), 7. 318 Freddy Kinsella (39), 8. 83 Daniel Ameduri (38), 9. 91 Michael Holmes (38), 10. 0 Brad Blake (38), 11. 50 Veronica McCann (38), 12. N6 Wade Carter (38), 12. 52 Jay Cardy (37), 13. 19 Simon McNab (36). DNF: 10 Cody Avins (29), USA48 Justin Shaw (22), 13 Wayne Coleman (2). DNS: 23 Joe Chalmers. Total Time: 11.01.975. Winning Margin: 11.478. Fastest Lap: 14.961 Kye Blight.