Season in Review!

With the completion of the Red Dirt Rumble at @Kalgoorlie International Speedway over the weekend, the 2023/24 LMRWA calendar has officially come to a close.
With eighteen nights of racing held across six tracks (not including FAST shows or local club shows), including the twelve-round Pro Dirt Series, there were forty-one drivers that competed in at least one show, with seventeen official feature events being held and won by nine different drivers.
The season kicked off traditionally, with the annual Ray Tulk Memorial at @EllenbrookSpeedway. Twenty-one cars made their way to the Ellenbrook venue and it was a thrilling way to kick off the season, four different drivers would take out the four preliminary heat races earlier in the day, with Jay Cardy, Brad Blake, Joe Chalmers and Brent Vosbergen each claiming a win. In a meeting that saw four heavyweights of the Late Model division claim heat race wins, an exciting youngster starting on pole for the feature, a thirty-lap main event that featured five lead changes and three leaders and a finish with the wily veteran Brad Blake extending his all-time Pro Dirt feature winning numbers to seventy one when he ran away with the win, no one could have asked anymore. Blake would defeat Jay Cardy and Ken Macpherson.
Next up would be the Perth Motorplex season opening Powerpalooza, and eleven months after it happened previously, the Oldfield brothers again came home with the trifecta finish, this time filling out the top three spots in the Perth Motorplex season-opening, Jamie defeating Warren and Jason.
Jason Oldfield continued his great run at the next Motorplex show, claiming his third podium in as many Motorplex shows, and his first win of the 2023/24 season in what was Round Three of the Pro Dirt Series. It was an epic night of racing, with Daniel Ameduri, Joe Chalmers, Brent Vosbergen and Warren Oldfield each grabbing a heat race, while Vosbergen and Chalmers would do enough in their second heats to start on the front row together. Unfortunately Vosbergen suffered mechanical woes and Jason Oldfield capitalized, going on to defeat Warren Oldfield and Chalmers.
Next up was a road trip, the series heading to Esperance once again with Jamie Oldfield making it a clean sweep, winning all four races from a possible four he contested, defeating Brent Vosbergen and Jason Oldfield.
The fifth round of the series headed back to the Perth Motorplex, in a show doubling as the annual John Day Classic. Brent Vosbergen found himself back in the winners circle, winning the non stop feature race from Jason Oldfield having taken the lead from him earlier, while Warren Oldfield got by Jamie for third by 0.093 seconds on the line.
After a few weeks break Kye Blight returned to the track on Boxing Night, but he would show no signs of racing rust, winning every event he started, including the sixth round feature race, defeating Joe Chalmers and Jamie Oldfield.
To bring in the New Year the Late Models contested two shows, one at Bunbury on New Years Day, then again at the Motorplex the very next night. In what was also the opening round of the Wild West Shootout, Kye Blight made it two in a row as he defeated Warren Oldfield and Joe Chalmers at Bunbury, before Brent Vosbergen claimed the second round of the shootout, defeating Blight and Chalmers.
Next up would be a trip down south to the Albany Speedway where Blight made it three feature wins as he defeated Warren Oldfield and Victorian visitor Peter Nicola.
Back up at the Perth Motorplex for the two night Late Model Nationals, Mother Nature would be the winner on the opening night, raining the event out after qualifying and six heat races were held. Night two was an absolute banger though, and in the end it was Rod Musarra claiming the biggest win of his Late Model career, defeating Chalmers and Warren Oldfield.
Round ten of the Pro Dirt Series would be next up at the Motorplex, and it was Kye Blight who claimed another feature race win, this time defeating Vosbergen and Jason Oldfield, while after a few weeks break, Jason Oldfield would win round eleven in car eleven after starting from position eleven on the grid. He would defeat Chalmers and Blight.
The Pro Dirt Series would go into a short recess at this point, firstly for the A Title which was held in mid-March at the Motorplex and won by Kye Blight (his second WA Title win) ahead of American visitor Doug Drown and Warren Oldfield, then for a two-night show down at Albany.
Night one of the Easter meeting at Albany saw Abbey Pickering win her first main event of the summer season in an epic driver as she outdrove Joe Chalmers and Michael Holmes, while on the second night Chalmers was back in the winners circle, defeating Holmes and Darren Ahearn.
The Pro Dirt Series finale was next on the cards, with Jamie Oldfield warning the field prior to the event that he would be claiming the win and he did just that, defeating Chalmers and Jason Oldfield, in the process getting the overall Pro Dirt Series points down to just a one point margin (full points below).
The final event on the official LMRWA calendar for season 2023/24 was the Red Dirt Rumble at Kalgoorlie Speedway with Michael Holmes finding himself on top of the podium, defeating Rod Musarra and Joe Chalmers.
If you include all events since the season officially began on the 1st of July 2023, including the Winter Series, local club shows and FAST shows at the Perth Motorplex, there have been thirty-five feature races held here in WA. There are still a few more events coming up also before the 30th of June completion date as we begin the 2024 Winter Series, starting with Ellenbrook Speedway in a few weeks time, so keep your eyes peeled for those results.
Meanwhile, stay tuned through the week as we not only reveal our overall season stats, but also look at some of the top drivers individual stats!
The 2023/24 Pro Dirt Series was proudly supported by Maddington Toyota & Canning Vale Toyota, ABN Trade Mates, McPhee Freight, Heatley’s Safety & Industrial, Ross’s Auctioneers & Valuers, Supafit Seat Covers, The Event Mill, Wilsons Brewing Company and Dirt Track Nutters.
Release by DTN Media.
Pics Courtesy JSP, DTN, Peter Roebuck, Cochrane Photography and Richard Hathaway Photography.
2023/24 Pro Dirt Series Point Score
1. 15 Warren Oldfield 1260
2. 51 Jamie Oldfield 1259
3. 23 Joe Chalmers 1246
4. 11 Jason Oldfield 1224
5. 26 Ken Macpherson 1102
6. 52 Jay Cardy 1021
7. 39 Chris Barrow 931
8. 94 Luke Halliday 913
9. 91 Michael Holmes 859
10. 21 Rod Musarra 831
11. 04 Greg Horan 794
12. 50 Veronica McCann 775
13. A1 Brent Vosbergen 768
14. 95 Abbey Pickering 735
15. 6 Peter Walker 702
16. 31 Kye Blight 685
17. 0 Brad Blake 598
18. 54 David Nylander 561
19. 155 Daniel Ameduri 548
20. 80 Damian Hudson 528
21. 74 Nathan Richards 375
22. 5 Anthony King 352
23. T6 Brad Smith 317
24. 34 Matt Nylander 313
25. 93 Nathan Callaghan 288
26. 57 Mat Robbins 276
27. V1 Peter Nicola 273
28. 65 Peter Seaton 273
29. 90 David Boyes 246
30. USA14 Jeff Roth 244
31. 18 Matt Goodlad 190
32. 55 Peter Mewett 135
33. N6 Bruce Mackenzie 134
34. 199 Jeff Dickerson 134
35. 33 Freddy Kinsella 93
36. 79 Casey Paech 92
37. 07 Kodee Brown 88
38. 2 Rob Wells 84
39. 76 Ben Strautins 83
40. 49 Sean Barrett 78
41. 333 Aaron Liddell 76
42. 46 Bryn Haythornthwaite 75
43. 96 Murray Parsons 54