Round Three Take Two!

When the King of Kwinana event was rained out last weekend at the Perth Motorplex, many fans were left disappointed, but what’s the best way to get over that? To attend this weekend’s rescheduled King of Kwinana event, still doubling as Round Three of the BGC Pro Dirt Series!

Over the last twenty years, Late Models have contested the King of Kwinana event at the Perth Motorplex on fourteen occasions, and this weekend will see them return to the venue for the fifteenth running of the event, with a solid twenty cars nominated.

Although slightly down on last weekend’s nominations with the withdrawals of Brent Vosbergen, Matt Goodlad, Joe Chalmers and Brendan McKeagg, there is no need to be down, because we have gained two massive additions!

For the first time this season both Ryan Halliday and Jamie Oldfield will be in the field and being such well credentialled drivers, both could well walk away with the win come Saturday night’s feature event.

As detailed last week, the remaining nominations are spearheaded by the record equalling Brad Blake, current series points leader Warren Oldfield, current Australian Champion Kye Blight and former Australian Champions Kodee Brown and Paul Stubber.

All five of these drivers come into this event with varying fortunes: Blake the last start winner with a victory that reset the record books (and as a three time winner of the King of Kwinana event), Oldfield coming in fresh off two podium finishes from two starts and Kodee Brown who claimed third in his first event of the season. In contrast, Paul Stubber comes into the event with an eleventh and a DNF, while Blight hasn’t been able to start a feature race so far this season with engine woes.

Although a tale of contrasting fortunes for these five big names of WA Late Model racing, all will be throwing everything but the kitchen sink at the event this weekend to get themselves back on the top step of the podium once again.

Of course, these five drivers aren’t the only ones looking to make an impact this weekend, with names like Jay Cardy, Michael Holmes and Ken Macpherson all having shown in the past that they are capable of being at the front.

Cardy finished in fifth place in his last show and will be looking to build on that positive result while Macpherson already has a podium finish and a tenth place to his name this season while Holmes is still aboard the Jock Murray owned #20 machine as he awaits the arrival of his new car, in which he has already claimed a fourth and a seventh place.

Veronica McCann has been consistent so far with a fifth and an eighth in the two season opening features and would love to finally break through onto the podium this weekend, while David Nylander had a career best meeting at the last Motorplex show and would love to go one or two spots better this time out.

Despite a number of delays, Matt Nylander is hopeful he too will hit the track for the first time in a number of years after mechanical issues kept him sidelined from the Motorplex season opener a few weeks back, while a whole host of other names like rookie star Laura Byrnes, 19/20 season rookie of the year Matt Amato and Daniel Ameduri, who has spent the rain out date ensuring his car was all repaired after a recent DNF, are sure to have yet another fast and furious night of motortainment this Saturday!

The 2020/21 BGC Late Model Pro Dirt Series proudly brought to you by Global XLI, Pancho's Mexican Restaurants, Boyes Equipment SVS, Dirt Track Nutters, Bulk Metal Recyclers Pty Ltd., Bar 31, Carbusters, Finlease, Grays Online, Homes by Roth, Our Car Autos, Palice Property Group, QB Copper Recycling, Ross Construction and D P Bingham and Associates Truck and Plant.


Release by DTN Media.
Pics Courtesy Mel Parker.

#bgcprodirtseries #BGC #LateModels #LMRWA

Official Nominations – 23
0 Brad Blake
A1 Kye Blight
07 Kodee Brown
14 Willy Powell
15 Warren Oldfield
20 Michael Holmes
26 Ken Macpherson
31 Paul Stubber
34 Matt Nylander
44 Laura Byrnes
50 Veronica McCann
51 Jamie Oldfield
52 Jay Cardy
54 David Nylander
60 Jayden Meckenstock
71 Jamie Moon
82 Matt Amato
83 Daniel Ameduri
95 Jason Bond
99 Ryan Halliday

Late Models King of Kwinana History
2019/20 – Brent Vosbergen
2018/19 – Paul Stubber
2017/18 – Ryan Halliday
2016/17 – Not Held
2015/16 – Not Held
2014/15 – Not Held
2013/14 - Craig Vosbergen
2012/13 – Not Held
2011/12 – Not Held
2010/11 – Brad Ludlow
2009/10 – Not Held
2008/09 – Craig Vosbergen
2007/08 – Craig Vosbergen
2006/07 – Ryan Halliday (feature), Brad Blake (points)
2005/06 – Ben Ludlow
2004/05 – Brad Blake
2003/04 – Ben Ludlow
2002/03 – Brad Blake
2001/02 – Craig Vosbergen
2000/01 – Ryan Halliday