Round 4 – Development Series Race Report

The AJN Transport Late Model Development Series which was introduced a few years ago has continued to grow and attract strong fields of drivers with 15 high powered dirt Late Models in the pits at Ellenbrook Speedway on Sunday 22nd July.

The Late Model committee are extremely happy with the success of the series which has only been made possible with the hard work of people like Alan Nylander who has continuously put an enormous amount of effort into the running and organisation of the series with the help of Ben Ludlow. Alan has also sponsored this year’s series.

The first couple rounds have produced some outstanding racing and the last meeting was no different with additional new drivers like Dean King in the immaculate ex #21 Mark Webster machine and the return of Mick Clune, Paul Joss, Craig Greentree, Tim Blake and Peter MacPherson

To help set the pace, seasoned Pro Dirt Series campaigners Mark Matthews and Brad Blake were also at the Ellenbrook venue to compete in the series.

Peter Seaton was a welcome return to the series, testing out his new motor in his #65 Rayburn.

Other drivers that made up the numbers were former winners of the Development Series, David Nylander who won in 2011, driving the #34 AJN race car and Jeremy Hale who was the  winner of the first Development Series run in 2010.

Dale Clark was again in awesome form with two 2nds in his heats and a well deserved 3rd in the feature after some seriously close racing while fighting for the lead against the two A grade drivers Mark Matthews and Brad Blake. Mark Mathews only managing to slip into 2nd place, on the last lap of the feature, pushing Dale Clark back into third.

Mick Rawcliffe‘s smooth consistency during the series has currently put him sitting comfortably in second place on the points ladder, behind Dale Clark.

The final round of the Development Series will be the deciding round of the series with only a few points separating the eligible top drivers.

Heat 1
1st Mark Matthews, 2nd Dale Clarke, 3rd Jeremy Hale, 4th Craig Greentree, 5th Peter MacPherson, 6th Peter Seaton, 7th Mick Rawcliffe, 8th Tim Blake, 9th Dean King, 10th Mick Clune DNF David Nylander, Paul Joss, Ian Birt, Lance Ferguson

 Heat 2

1st Mark Matthews, 2nd Dale Clarke, 3rd Peter MacPherson, 4th Craig Greentree, 5th Peter Seaton, 6th Brad Blake, 7th Jeremy Hale, 8th Dean King DNF Mick Rawcliffe, Mick Clune, Tim Blake


Heat 3
1st Brad Blake, 2nd Mick Clune, 3rd Peter Seaton, 4th Peter MacPherson, 5th Dale Clark, 6th Jeremy Hale, 7th Mick Rawcliffe, 8th Lance Ferguson, 9th Dean King, 10th Tim Blake DNF David Nylander


1st Brad Blake, 2nd Mark Matthews, 3rd Dale Clarke, 4th Dean King, 5th Peter Seaton, 6th Mick Rawcliffe, 7th Tim Blake DNF Lance Ferguson, Mick Clune, David Nylander, Jeremy Hale, Peter MacPherson



The fifth and final round is to be held at Kellerberrin Speedway on Saturday 11th August 2012 with TROPHIES presented immediately after the event in the club rooms.

All nominations are to be made to Ray Hale by Friday 3rd August.

Leave a Comment