Record Breaking Night for Late Models as Oldfield shows total class!

It was a huge night of racing action for the Late Models and right from the get go the racing was fast and furious. However, as is so often the case, Warren Oldfield steadied and went on to claim a huge and hard fought feature win.


Despite losing a number of cars due to the original Saturday rainout, the racing was fast and furious, with the opening race seeing Nat Muir race out to the early lead before he succumbed to mechanical issues and his night ended before it had really started. Paul Stubber inherited the lead but he faced stiff competition as Jamie Oldfield was all over the back of him, looking for a way through. Unfortunately Oldfield suffered issues and was also forced infield, which cleared the way for Brad Ludlow to make his presence felt. He piled the pressure on Stubber as the laps wound down, but fell just short despite trying a last lap outside move.


The second heat saw Jay Cardy lead away with Warren Oldfield and Michael Holmes following close behind. Craig Vosbergen, starting from position nine, quickly worked his way into third while ahead of him Cardy and Oldfield were fighting it out in close quarters for the lead. All of a sudden the top five of Oldfield, Cardy, Vosbergen, Brad Blake and Holmes were all fighting it out so closely a tea towel could have been thrown over the whole group. As the chequers flew though it was Oldfield who claimed the win from Vosbergen and Blake.

Race three was when things really got serious and the records began to tumble. Craig Vosbergen started off the front row and raced away to a commanding lead. As the laps ticked by the times got faster and faster and by races end Vosbergen had recorded the fastest one lap race time by a Late Model Sedan of 15.715, breaking his own previous record of 15.805 set back in 2006. Not only this, but he also smashed the ten lap record, originally set by Brad Ludlow in 2012 by six seconds to record a total time of 2.40.986 as he crossed ahead of Brad Ludlow and Marc Giancola.


Now one could be forgiven for thinking this would be it for the night, but the very next race the Oldfield brothers shared the front row and need we say more. Jamie raced away to win from Warren and took another two seconds off the ten lap record to make it 2.38.395, but it was Warren who recorded the quickest lap, knocking nearly 0.7 seconds off the one lap record to set the mark at 15.059 seconds.


Surely they couldn’t go any faster? Wrong. Come feature time, with Warren Oldfield off the front row with Vosbergen, Oldfield raced away to set yet another new one lap record of 14.918 seconds; the first and only Late Model driver to have gone under the fifteen second bracket.


Of course the race itself was simply awesome: Warren led Vosbergen and Blake until the yellows came on in lap three for Jay Cardy who was facing the wall in turn three, while Brad Ludlow was also eliminated in the incident. The race restarted with Paul Stubber for on the pace with the top three. The yellows came back on again for Jeremy Hale and Craig Greentree who both found themselves in the turn two wall on lap seven, then on the next restart Blake found his way into second as Jamie Oldfield raced from position thirteen into fourth.


Warren Oldfield built up a big lead on the rest of the field, including second placed Brad Blake until disaster struck Blake, his left rear wheel shearing off and spinning him in turn two, once again bringing out again the yellows. From here it was simply a technicality to complete the laps as Warren again pulled away and recorded the win from Vosbergen and Jamie Oldfield.


All in all it was a massive night of competition for all competitors and they now have a short break to recoup before the next round at the Perth Motorplex on the 1st of November!


Release by DTN Media.



greentree_hoosier21oct14IMG_0807.JPG[1]CVOSlucas21Oct14IMG_0795.JPG[1]Contingency Award Winners

Hoosier Tyre Award – Craig Greentree

Lucas Oils Pole Award – Craig Vosbergen

Cardy Race Components 8th in Feature – Rob Galloway

Octane Hard Charger Award – Jamie Oldfield



 Official Results

Heat One – 1. Paul Stubber,  2. Brad Ludlow, 3. Marc Giancola, 4. Dean King, 5. Craig Greentree, 6. Jeremy Hale. DNF: Jamie Oldfield, Nat Muir, Jai Mazzini.

Heat Two – 1. Warren Oldfield, 2. Craig Vosbergen, 3. Brad Blake, 4. Jay Cardy, 5. Michael Holmes, 6. Rob Galloway, 7.Jayden Meckenstock, 8. Willy Powell, DNF: Jamie Moon, Ryan Ludlow.

Heat Three – 1. Craig Vosbergen, 2. Brad Ludlow, 3. Marc Giancola, 4. Brad Blake, 5. Jeremy Hale, 6. Rob Galloway.

Heat Four – 1. Jamie Oldfield, 2. Warren Oldfield, 3. Michael Holmes, 4. Jay Cardy, 5. Paul Stubber, 6. Craig Greentree, 7. Dean King. DNF: Jayden Meckenstock.

Feature – 1. Warren Oldfield, 2. Craig Vosbergen, 3. Jamie Oldfield, 4. Marc Giancola, 5. Paul Stubber, 6. Michael Holmes, 7. Dean King, 8. Rob Galloway, 9. Jeremy Hale, 10. Willy Powell. DNF: Brad Blake, Jai Mazzini, Craig Greentree, Brad Ludlow, Jay Cardy. DNS: Ryan Ludlow, Nat Muir, Jayden Meckenstock, Jamie Moon.



Kwinan feature 21102014LATE MODEL RACING WA is proudly supported by RACIN Tyres and Accessories, Hoosier Racing Tire, Rocket Chassis, Octane Race Products, Empire Graphics, Southside Engine Centre, Able Finance, Ozmine Drill Consumables, Panelworx Bunbury, XLI, Immaculate Custom Trailers, Lucas Oils Brad Ludlow, Forma-tel, Cardy Racing Components, Couplers Malaga, Snapon Kalgoorlie, HTEC Bunbury, Ultra Tune Morley, Global Testing Services, GMH Carpentry, Speed Torque, Stix FX Custom Signage, Collie Machine Shop, Kart World Belmont, Dirt Track Nutters,  Western Process Controls.WOldfieldafs08[1]

Leave a Comment