Record Breakers Return for a night of Magic!



After the record breaking night at the last meeting, the thunder and lightning Late Model Sedans this weekend return to the high banks of the Perth Motorplex to compete in a night that honours ‘The Magic Man’ Michael Figliomeni.


‘Figs’ was known universally as a champion and it is a privilege for the Late Models to be competing on his night. It is just, then, that we have a huge twenty seven car field!


Headlining the stellar field is none other than Warren Oldfield, who has claimed the opening two shows of the Late Models this season. He and brother Jamie were two of the drivers to break records at the last show and both would love to be on the same record pace this weekend.


Craig Vosbergen and Brad Blake have both also featured on the podium so far this season but neither on the top step. This dynamic duo are always fast and will be hunting for blood this weekend as they seek to reclaim dominance come feature time.


The field is chock full of other names more than capable of putting pressure on the front runners, with former Australian Champions in Marc Giancola, Brad Ludlow and Ryan Halliday all ready to rumble, as is former Motorplex Track Champion Jay Cardy and Pro Dirt Series round winner Lee Watt.


Of course, the field is virtually exploding with young talent! Add in Collie’s quickest brothers Alec and Morgan Melvin, the next generation of Ludlow’s in Ryan, the fastest female in the west Veronica McCann and former Junior competitors Jai Mazzini and Jayden Meckenstock and we have a mouthwatering field already!


But wait there’s more! There are plenty more who have thrown their hats in the ring but we must also extend a huge welcome to Bryn Haythornthwaite and Mark Webster who will be making their first appearances for the season.


The scene is set. The track is ready. The competitors are prepared. Lets go racing! See you at the Perth Motorplex this Saturday for what is sure to be a ‘magical’ night!


Release by DTN Media.


Official Nominations – 29
0 Brad Blake
8 Craig Vosbergen
9 Ryan Ludlow
10 Lee Watt
12 Nat Muir
13 Craig Greentree
15 Warren Oldfield
16 Veronica McCann
18 Matt Goodlad
21 Dean King
25 Mark Webster
31 Paul Stubber
39 Phil Zuidema
42 Jai Mazzini
43 Marc Giancola
50 Jason Moyle
51 Jamie Oldfield
52 Jay Cardy
55 Jason Oldfield
60 Jayden Meckenstock
69 Bryn Haythornthwaite
71 Jamie Moon
77 Jeremy Hale

88 Alec Melvin

89 Morgan Melvin
91 Michael Holmes
92 Brad Ludlow
93 Rob Galloway
99 Ryan Halliday



LATE MODEL RACING WA is proudly supported by RACIN Tyres and Accessories, Hoosier Racing Tire, Rocket Chassis, Octane Race Products, Empire Graphics, Southside Engine Centre, Able Finance, Ozmine Drill Consumables, Panelworx Bunbury, XLI, Immaculate Custom Trailers, Lucas Oils Brad Ludlow, Forma-tel, Cardy Racing Components, Couplers Malaga, Snapon Kalgoorlie, HTEC Bunbury, Ultra Tune Morley, Global Testing Services, GMH Carpentry, Speed Torque, Stix FX Custom Signage, Collie Machine Shop, Kart World Belmont, Dirt Track Nutters,  Western Process Controls.

Leave a Comment