Quality Field for 2012/2013 Australian Late Model Championship


A quality field of close to forty entries has been received for the 2012/2013 Australian Dirt Late Model title to be held at Quit Bunbury Speedway on January 11th & 12th 2013.


This will be the twelfth staging of the National Late Model title with the Bunbury track hosting the event for the first time.


The big fast Quit Bunbury Speedway is an ideal venue to host one ofAustralia’s biggest speedway events and has held many National titles in the past.


Heading the nominations for the Australian Late Model Championship is defending champion Steve Francis fromAshlandKentuckyin theUnited States of America.


Francis won last years title held at Sydney Speedway and will defend the title in the Michael Holmes owned Rocket that he has been campaigning during the Supatilt Wild West Tour.


If Francis shows the form that he has shown during the opening rounds of the Wild West Tour he will be hard to stop at Bunbury.


Young eighteen year old American Devin Moran fromDresdenOhiowill also contest the Australian Championships at Bunbury for Nicastri Motorsport. Moran finished fourth in last years championships inSydneyand will be hoping to add the Australian Championship to his already impressive resume.


Ross Nicastri and Daryl Grimson will make the long trip across fromNew South Walesfor the Australian Championship. Nicastri is already inWestern Australiafor the Wild West Tour with Ross having won three feature races at home before heading west. Grimson has been very quick in previous Australian Championships without having luck on his side, will 2013 be his year?


South Australians Matt Crimmins and Luke Raymond will be hoping to take the Australian Championship back to their home state. Crimmins is the current South Australian Late Model series champion and finished third in the 2010/2011 Australian Championships held at Mildura inVictoria.


A big field of local Western Australian’s have entered the event including four time champion national champion Brad Blake. Bunbury Speedway is Blake’s home track and he has plans of retiring after the running of this years Australian Championships. Blake will be definitely on a mission to win title number five.


Current Hoosier Racing Tire Pro Dirt Series champion Jamie Oldfield will be looking to go one better at this years Australian Championships. Oldfield finished a very close second to Francis in last years title held at Sydney Speedway.


Warren Oldfield is another driver with a big chance at Bunbury. Oldfield has been in great form this season and is the current Western Australian champion.


Brad Ludlow has had a season to forget so far and will be looking to turn around his fortunes in the National title.Ludlowis a former national champion, winning the title back in 2007/2008 at the Perth Motorplex.


Michael Holmes finished third in last years title and always seems to enjoy the longer distance races. Watch for Holmes to be there at the end of the main event on the Saturday night.


The 12th Australian Dirt Late Model Title gets underway with scrutineering starting from 12pm on Thursday 10th January 2013. Official practice for the championship will be held from 4pm to 6pm the same day followed byCalcutta to be held in the Bunbury Car Club clubrooms from 6.30pm.


Drivers are reminded that attendance at theCalcuttais compulsory as each driver will receive 36 points for being present.


Friday 11th January 2013 will see the drivers briefing to be staged from 4pm followed by hot laps and time trials. Each competitor will contest two heat races on the Friday night followed by twin 20 lap Preliminary A Mains.


The final night of the Australian Championship will be staged on Saturday 12th January 2013. Each driver will contest two more heat races on the Saturday night. The top eighteen point scorers after all the preliminary races will qualify directly into the forty lap Australian Championship A Main, with the top four finishers from the B Main transferring on the back of the field for the championship finale.


Get along to Quit Bunbury Speedway on 11th & 12th January 2013 for the 12th annual Australian Dirt Late Model Championship.


For More Information about the Australian Late Model Championships log onto www.latemodelracingwa.com.au


Quit Bunbury Speedway  11th & 12th Jan 2013


W3 Mick Clune

W4 Bert Vosbergen

W5 Ray Leonard

SA5 Luke Raymond

NSW6 Darryl Grimson

W8 Craig Vosbergen

W9 Ben Ludlow

SA10 Mat Crimmins

W10 Lee Watt

W11 Jason Oldfield

W13 Craig Greentree

W15 Warren Oldfield

W18 Matt Goodlad

W20 Matt Noakes

W21 Dean King

W22 Paul Joss

W23 Clint Noakes

W30 Mark Matthews

W31 Dale Clark 

W34 Matt Nylander

W39 Phil Zuidema

W46 Jac Dolmans

W49 Simon McNab

W51 Jamie Oldfield

W54 David Nylander

W57 Michael Hamon

W63 Koran Atkinson

W65 Peter Seaton

W69 Bryn Haythornthwaite

W91 Michael Holmes

USA91 Steve Francis

W92 Brad Ludlow

W99 Ryan Halliday

NSW 99 Ross Nicastri

USA 99 Devin Moran



Leave a Comment