Pickering Wins her Maiden!

Last night at the Albany Speedway Club, Abbey Pickering (All About Racing) made the Late Model world sit up and take notice as she raced her way to an epic victory in night one of the Easter Grand Prix.
Pickering was strong all night, qualifying in the top four behind Matt Nylander (Nylander Motorsport), David Nylander (Nylander Motorsport) and Joe Chalmers (Team BCM Motorsport:), then finishing second in her heat and making it into the Silver shootout, set to start from position three in the feature.
Unfortunately both Matt and David Nylander, who each won a heat race, were unable to make the call for the feature, seeing Joe Chalmers and Michael Holmes (Michael Holmes Racing) start the feature event on the front row.
Chalmers railed the highline and grabbed the lead initially as the race went green, while Pickering and Holmes ran side by side for second. Unfortunately the yellows were on just as they crossed the line to complete lap one with Kris Kent spinning to a stop in turn three after some cars in front of him had a coming together, meaning a complete restart was called.
The second attempt at a start saw Chalmers, Pickering and Holmes all doing the same thing as the previous attempt, this time the yellows on for Kris Kent who spun by himself in turn two.
Attempt number three at a start was better, Chalmers this time running low to hold off Holmes who stuck with him as Pickering tried to hold off Peter Walker, a lap being completed before the yellows were out again after Darren Ahearn (Ahearn Racing W.A) spun in turn three and was collected by Greg Horan (CPR – Chopper Pop Racing) and Ben Strautins (BAS Racing), all three out of the race.
Chalmers would lead away the now nine car field, with Pickering getting the best of Holmes to race into second place as the race went green again.
Chalmers and Pickering would pull away slightly from the rest of the field, Pickering going low and pulling alongside Chalmers, the duo then switching lines as they battled for the lead.
Just as Pickering got her nose in front the yellows came on for Kris Kent and Aaron Liddell who spun to a stop right in front of the battling cars who somehow managed to avoid disaster.
Pickering elected to start high for the Delaware restart behind Chalmers and it paid off well, charging away from third placed Holmes once again, who was now under pressure from Walker, and locking onto the tail of Chalmers once again as she built momentum and looked for her way through.
Lapped traffic would come into play once again a few laps later, but Chalmers and Pickering cruised around the outside, Pickering closing the gap each lap and when Chalmers switched lanes and began to run the bottom through the turns, Pickering took the opportunity and raced around the outside.
Pickering would lead lap fifteen and though the duo would trade slidejobs every corner for the next few laps in what was an enthralling race to watch, Pickering would continue to emerge in front each lap, even lapped traffic not slowing the momentum.
She would go on to cross the line first in what was her maiden feature race win, earning every bit of the glory as she defeated Joe Chalmers and Michael Holmes in what was a great opening night of competition.
Racing will continue at the Albany Speedway Club tonight.
Thank you to all the sponsors who have come on board to make this event possible at Albany this weekend: Albany Forklifts & Industries, T & C Supplies, AFI Towing, Auswest 4WD Dismantlers, Muffler Rebel Exhaust & Suspension, Steve Franey, Harv’s Tyres, De Jonge Mechanical Repairs, Kosters Steel Construction, Aylmore Motors and R&J Batteries.
Thanks also to the valued LMRWA season sponsors: McPhee Freight, Maddington Toyota & CanningVale Toyota, ABN Trade Mates, Ross’s Auctioneers & Valuers, Heatleys Safety & Industrial, SupaFit Seat Covers, The Event Mill, Wilson Brewing Company and Dirt Track Nutters.
Release by DTN Media.
Pic Courtesy Albany Speedway Club.
Official Results
Qualifying, 2 laps: 1. 34 Matt Nylander 16.504, 2. 54 David Nylander 16.709, 3. 23 Joe Chalmers 16.780, 4. 95 Abbey Pickering 17.219, 5. 91 Michael Holmes 17.289, 6. 6 Peter Walker 17.478, 7. 119 Darren Ahearn 17.598, 8. 76 Ben Strautins 17.610, 9. 74 Nathan Richards 17.814, 10. 39 Chris Barrow 17.839, 11. 49 Sean Barrett 18.021, 12. 04 Greg Horan 18.549, 13. 57 Mat Robbins 18.588, 14. 333 Aaron Lidell 19.561, 15. 7 Shaun Cubbage 20.377, 16. 55 Peter Mewett 21.073, 17. 355 Kris Kent 22.571.
Heat One, 8 laps: 1. 34 Matt Nylander, 2. 91 Michael Holmes, 3. 23 Joe Chalmers, 4. 119 Darren Ahearn, 5. 49 Sean Barrett, 6. 57 Mat Robbins, 7. 74 Nathan Richards, 8. 7 Shaun Cubbage. Total Time: 2.19.952. Winning Margin: 3.049. Fastest Lap: 16.523 Matt Nylander.
Heat Two, 8 laps: 1. 54 David Nylander, 2. 95 Abbey Pickering, 3. 6 Peter Walker, 4. 39 Chris Barrow, 5. 76 Ben Strautins, 6. 04 Greg Horan, 7. 333 Aaron Lidell, 8. 55 Peter Mewett (7), 9. 355 Kris Kent (6). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.688. Fastest Lap: 16.798 Abbey Pickering.
Bronze Shootout, 3 laps: 1. 23 Joe Chalmers 16.052, 2. 95 Abbey Pickering 16.904, 3. 91 Michael Holmes 17.337, 4. 6 Peter Walker 17.903.
Silver Shootout, 3 laps: 1. 23 Joe Chalmers 16.172, 2. 34 Matt Nylander 16.838, 3. 95 Abbey Pickering 16.950, 4. 54 David Nylander 17.003.
Gold Shootout, 3 laps: 1. 23 Joe Chalmers 16.405, 2. 34 Matt Nylander 17.395.
Mid Pack Madness, 7 laps: 1. 39 Chris Barrow, 2. 49 Sean Barrett, 3. 119 Darren Ahearn, 4. 04 Greg Horan, 5. 76 Ben Strautins, 6. 333 Chris Liddell, 7. 355 Kris Kent (6), 8. 55 Peter Mewett (6). DNS: 7 Shaun Cubbage, 57 Mat Robbins, 74 Nathan Richards. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.335. Fastest Lap: 17.920 Ben Strautins.
Feature, 20 laps: 1. 95 Abbey Pickering, 2. 23 Joe Chalmers, 3. 91 Michael Holmes, 4. 6 Peter Walker, 5. 39 Chris Barrow, 6. 49 Sean Barrett, 7. 74 Nathan Richards (19), 8. 355 Kris Kent (17). DNF: 333 Aaron Lidell (16), 76 Ben Strautins (1), 04 Greg Horan (1), 119 Darren Ahearn (1). DNS: 7 Shaun Cubbage, 34 Matt Nylander, 54 David Nylander, 55 Peter Mewett, 57 Mat Robbins. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.966. Fastest Lap: 16.839 Joe Chalmers.