One Man’s Heartbreak is Another Man’s Success!

Tonight’s Powerpalooza event at the Perth Motorplex, proudly presented by Maddington Toyota and CanningVale Toyota, was full of ups and downs for many drivers, but when the final flag flew, it was Kodee Brown (McCorry Brown Racing Team) with the biggest smile, claiming the feature win.
Heat races saw Kye Blight (Kye Blight Racing) and Veronica McCann (Veronica McCann – Red Hot Racing) with one win apiece, but it was David Nylander (Nylander Motorsport) who really impressed, recording a second and a fourth to claim pole position in the feature alongside Warren Oldfield (Oldfield Racing).
At the opposite end of the scale, Matt Nylander (Nylander Motorsport) and Michael Holmes (Michael Holmes Racing) each dropped a heat race, seeing them towards the back of the pack for the feature, but the good news was all competitors who started the night, would start the twenty-lap main event.
David Nylander led the opening lap, catching Kye Blight, who quickly moved into second, off guard as he began to race away.
Behind them Warren Oldfield settled into third ahead of Kodee Brown.
With four laps complete Nylander had built his lead to nearly two seconds, Blight unable to make any ground as behind him Brown had closed on Warren Oldfield, diving underneath him in turns three and four and coming out in third place to complete lap five.
With thirteen laps to go Nylander found himself encountering lapped traffic which he made easy work of, then on lap eight, Kye Blight suddenly slowed, bringing out the yellows and seeing Blight infield.
Nylander again shot away on the restart, Brown trying to pursue but unable to match his speed, while Matt Nylander took his opportunity to grab third from Warren Oldfield in what was a huge battle.
Unfortunately, shortly after David’s luck would run out, coming to a sudden stop in turn four, his race over and the dejection clear on Nylander’s face on the infield.
Brown inherited the lead on the restart, with Matt Nylander and Warren Oldfield fighting for second which would again continue lap after lap.
Nylander would eventually dispose of Warren and move into a clear second, then in the dying stages, Warren would have to fight in another battle, this time with brother Jamie (Oldfield Racing), for the final spot on the podium.
Unfortunately, a car spun in the dying stages and due to time constraints, the race was declared two laps short of its original distance, Brown being awarded the win ahead of Matt Nylander and Warren Oldfield.
The Late Models will be back in action at the Perth Motorplex in a fortnights time, with the second round of the Pro Dirt Series, proudly presented by ABN Trade Mates
Release by DTN Media.
Official Results
Heat One, 8 laps: 1. 31 Kye Blight, 2. 54 David Nylander, 3. 07 Kodee Brown, 4. 15 Warren Oldfield, 5. 51 Jamie Oldfield, 6. 50 Veronica McCann, 7. 52 Jay Cardy, 8. 91 Michael Holmes, 9. 90 David Boyes, 10. 74 Nathan Richards, 11. 14 Willy Powell (7). DNS: 34 Matt Nylander. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.495. Fastest Lap: 16.383 David Nylander.
Heat Two, 8 laps: 1. 50 Veronica McCann, 2. 15 Warren Oldfield, 3. 34 Matt Nylander, 4. 54 David Nylander, 5. 07 Kodee Brown, 6. 51 Jamie Oldfield, 7. 31 Kye Blight, 8. 90 David Boyes, 9. 52 Jay Cardy, 10. 14 Willy Powell, 11. 74 Nathan Richards. DNS: 91 Michael Holmes. Total Time: 2.10.507. Winning Margin: 2.068. Fastest Lap: 15.908 David Nylander.
Feature, 20 laps: 1.07 Kodee Brown, 2. 34 Matt Nylander, 3. 15 Warren Oldfield, 4. 51 Jamie Oldfield, 5. 52 Jay Cardy, 6. 91 Michael Holmes, 7. 50 Veronica McCann, 8. 90 David Boyes, 9. 14 Willy Powell (17), 10. 74 Nathan Richards (16). DNF: 54 David Nylander (9), 31 Kye Blight (😎. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: Declared. Fastest Lap: 15.250 David Nylander.