Oldfield Wins At Ellenbrook

The Western Australia Late Model season roared back into life Saturday evening October 13 at Ellenbrook Speedway for the prestigious Ray Tulk Memorial that doubled as Round 1 of the Hoosier Racing Tire Pro Dirt Series.


The wet weather late in the afternoon threatened a washout, with many teams fearing the worse. The Ellenbrook Committee was positive the weather would not beat them though, and a couple of hours later, some patience, and a lot of hard work from the track curators, racing finally got underway.


Twenty one immaculately presented Late Models turned up to battle for honours, with a few drivers showing off new cars and paint schemes.


The powered V8 Dirt Late Models were split into two Heats, but had to sacrifice their Top 6 Dash races because of the late start and time constraints, with the track in surprisingly good condition after absorbing so much moisture.


Matt Nylander and Craig Vosbergen won the first round of Heats and the second round was won by Ryan Halliday and Jamie Oldfield.


Craig Vosbergen was the highest qualifier earning him pole position for the main race, however an unfortunate electrical problem ended his night prematurely, and left him stranded in the pits while the rest of the field took to the track.


Jamie Oldfield led the 30 lap Feature from start to finish, followed by Michael Holmes, and Warren Oldfield who was the hard charger on the night, starting out of 8th position to grab 3rd place from Brad Blake on the last corner of the last lap.However the electrical system in the #8 Rocket had different ideas and decided to play havoc and after changing nearly every  However the electrical system in the #8 Rocket had different ideas and decided to play havoc and after changing nearly every


The performance of all drivers and the high standard of racing was extremely impressive.


With Round 1 won and done, the drivers and crews have one week to prepare for  Round 2 of the Hoosier Racing Tire Pro Dirt Series Saturday October 20 at the Perth Motorplex.






Round 1 – Feature Race Results:

1st Jamie Oldfield, 2nd, Michael Holmes, 3rd Warren Oldfield, 4th Brad Blake, 5th Ben Ludlow, 6th Mat Goodlad, 7th Ryan Halliday, 8th Jay Cardy, 9th Dean King





Late Model Racing Australia would like to thank its 2012/13 corporate partners:


Hoosier Racing Tire  

Racin Tyres & Accessories  

Genesis Racing Shocks 

Able Finance  

Southside Engine Centre  

MTi group                 

Empire Graphics                                    

Tillco Engineering                                  

Ultra Tune Morley                 

Snap On Tools – Kalgoorlie                    

Lucas Oils – Brad Ludlow                      

MDR Trans                            


Ian Diffen Bunbury

Leave a Comment