Oldfield is Topless Champion

For the second year in a row the name Oldfield is on the Topless Trophy, but this time around it was Warren Oldfield who put in a dominant performance in the thirty lap feature to claim the victory.

Oldfield was in dominant form all night, claiming wins in both of his heats to set up a pole position start alongside Ryan Halliday for the feature event.

As the race went green, Oldfield was immediately into the lead with Halliday chasing hard. Marc Giancola and Jay Cardy, who started on the second row together, also chased hard while Jamie Oldfield was the big mover early as he was scheduled to start in position fourteen and was quickly into sixth.

Unfortunately for Jamie it was short lived as he slowed suddenly, much of the field being forced to avoid him and a couple of cars made contact in the process. The worst affected in this instance was Veronica McCann who unfortunately slapped the back straight fence.

Shortly after the yellow lights came on as Jason Bond spun in turn one and as the field restarted Ryan Ludlow and McCann both headed infield. Bond would also head infield as the rest of the field went green, while Halliday, who was second on the restart, began to slow up and drop back through the field.

At the same time the yellows came on again, this time for Jai Mazzini who was parked backwards up against the turn one wall. Both Mazzini and Halliday would retire from the race at this point, as would Simon McNab as the field went green again.

This meant that Oldfield would now be leading away Giancola and Cardy while behind them Paul Stubber and Michael Holmes were fighting hard. Stubber got past Holmes and went for the pass on Cardy, but had a half lose that saw him lose a lot of ground and Holmes pass him back once again.

The race would finally get into a rhythm, and with ten laps complete Oldfield had built up a 3.8 second lead on Giancola, then on lap thirteen he would be into lapped traffic. Five laps later, at the halfway point, the lead was out to 4.391 seconds, as Stubber began to make his presence felt again, moving outside firstly Holmes and then Cardy to be in third.

As the laps wound down Holmes would slow and begin to just circulate, seeing Paul Joss elevated into the fifth position of the remaining few cars. Stubber would continue his strong run in the last half, rounding up Giancola and passing him for second, at which point the gap to Oldfield in the lead was 5.525 seconds.

Despite Stubber’s best efforts to close the gap, Oldfield was simply too far ahead and would cross the line first, just 2.7 seconds ahead of Stubber, while Marc Giancola would hold on for third. Jay Cardy crossed the line in fourth but would be relegated for an infringement on the last restart, seeing Paul Joss officially fourth ahead of Kye Blight, Hayden Norman and Cardy.

The gap in both the Perth Motorplex Track Championship and the Maxima Oils Pro Dirt Series has now tightened even further and with just one event remaining, it is going to be the closest finish in recent years. Stay tuned in the coming days as we bring you all the latest updates!

Release by DTN Media.
Photos Courtesy Perth Motorplex Facebook Page.

Contingency Awards
Pole Position – Warren Oldfield
Hard Charger – Hayden Norman
Maxima Racing Oils 5th Place – Kye Blight
Hoosier 12th Place – Jai Mazzini

Official Results

Heat One – 10 laps: 1. Ryan Halliday, 2. Matt Goodlad, 3. Marc Giancola, 4. Paul Joss, 5. Kye Blight, 6. Ryan Ludlow, 7. Hayden Norman, 8. Simon McNab, 9. Veronica McCann. DNF: Lee Watt (2), Jamie Oldfield (2). Total Time: 2.46.146. Winning Margin: 1.184. Fastest Lap: 16.110 Matt Goodlad.

Heat Two – 10 laps: 1. Warren Oldfield, 2. Jay Cardy, 3. Paul Stubber, 4. Michael Holmes, 5. Brent Vosbergen, 6. Jeremy Hale, 7. Jason Bond, 8. Jai Mazzini. DNF: James Batley (5), David Nylander (3), Brad Blake (1). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 1.162. Fastest Lap: 15.781 Paul Stubber.

Heat Three – 10 laps: 1. Warren Oldfield, 2. Paul Stubber, 3. Jamie Oldfield, 4. Ryan Ludlow, 5. Michael Holmes, 6. Kye Blight, 7. Matt Goodlad, 8. Lee Watt, 9. James Batley, 10. Hayden Norman, 11. Jason Bond. DNS: Brad Blake. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 1.183. Fastest Lap: 15.714 Warren Oldfield.

Heat Four – 10 laps: 1. Marc Giancola, 2. Ryan Halliday, 3. Jay Cardy, 4. Brent Vosbergen, 5. Veronica McCann, 6. Paul Joss, 7. Jeremy Hale, 8. Simon McNab, 9. Jai Mazzini. DNS: David Nylander. Total Time: 2.42.395. Winning Margin: 0.740. Fastest Lap: 15.903 Marc Giancola.

Feature – 30 laps: 1. Warren Oldfield, 2. Paul Stubber, 3. Marc Giancola, 4. Paul Joss, 5. Kye Blight (29), 6. Hayden Norman (29), 7. Jay Cardy. DNF: Michael Holmes (21), James Batley (20), Simon McNab (4), Ryan Halliday (4), Jai Mazzini (4), Jason Bond (3), Ryan Ludlow (3), Veronica McCann (3), Jamie Oldfield (2). DNS: Brad Blake, Brent Vosbergen, Lee Watt, Matt Goodlad, David Nylander, Jeremy Hale. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 2.734. Fastest Lap: 15.766 Warren Oldfield.

Leave a Comment