Oldfield is Champion Once Again!

It may have taken nine long years, but Warren Oldfield tonight finally fought back to claim his second WA Late Model Title at the Perth Motorplex.

Oldfield, aboard the Michael Holmes Racing #91 machine, had to fight off his brother Jamie, who was driving Warren’s own car for the win and would have to settle for second, as well as withstand the advances of Australian Champion, and defending WA Champion Kye Blight who ultimately came home in third.

Warren would actually start out of position three for the all important thirty lap final as the front row consisted of pole sitter Kye Blight, who went through the heats undefeated, and brother Jamie on the outside.

As the race went green, Blight would lead Jamie and Warren, but as is so often the case for ‘The Highlight’ Kye Blight, he went high through the opening turns. This was one of the times that it didn’t work, with Jamie using the middle to glide through and lead the opening lap while Warren followed him on the bottom to be in second.

Jamie, who was returning to Late Model racing after recently stepping away from another division, would lead for a number of laps as behind them, two former champion in Craig and Brent Vosbergen would run in the top five, while Matt Goodlad was right behind them.

The top four would spread out down the back straight as the rest of the field battled for position behind them and on lap seven, lapped traffic would come into play with Warren able to close slightly on Jamie before Jamie managed to put two lapped cars between them.

Warren didn’t take long to get passed those cars and was right back on Jamies tail within half a lap, then moved underneath him down the back straight on lap nine to take the lead.

By this time Blight had dropped four and a half seconds behind in third, with Craig Vosbergen right on his tail, while another former Champion in Kodee Brown was another three and a half seconds behind them in fifth.

Jay Cardy was a man on the move, coming from position sixteen to be in sixth by the end of lap ten, while a lap later the first yellow light of the race came on as Warren Minshull found himself facing the wrong way in turn two.

All twenty three starters were still on track at this point, with Warren Oldfield leading them all away, Jamie in second and Blight starting to look for a way by on the high line, grabbing second as they crossed the line to complete eleven laps.

Craig Vosbergen moved into fourth and Cardy into fifth as Brown dripped to sixth, while back up from Jamie got back by Blight to retake second place.

Jamie went high, Kye got baulked and Craig Vosbergen took the opportunity to dive under both of them, but Jamie powered away, with Vosbergen, Blight and Cardy now locked in a three car battle for third.

Warren was back in traffic on lap eighteen, allowing Jamie to begin closing the gap once more, while Cardy got by Blight to take over the fourth place running.

With eight to go, Jamie continued to close the gap and with five to go, he was a mere 0.351 seconds behind brother Warren, while Craig Vosbergen was over two and a half seconds further back in third.

With twenty five laps complete though, the yellows would come out again as Veronica McCann got tangled up with the lapped car of Laura Byrnes down the back straight, McCann’s night over in what was a disappointing incident.

Again the race would resume with five laps remaining, and Warren shot off from Jamie while Vosbergen, Blight and Cardy were again locked in battle. Blight got the better of Vosbergen and Cardy, while Joe Chalmers and Freddy Kinsella also made their moves into sixth and seventh respectively.

Try as they might though, from here the positions didn’t change, Warren grabbing his second WA Title (seventh podium finish in a WA Title and the fifth year in a row he has been on the podium) from Jamie (in his third podium appearance), Blight and Craig Vosbergen.

In claiming the win Warren Oldfield also kept his Perth Motorplex winning streak alive, now having claimed a win for the last ten years running, the longest currently active streak across all divisions.

He also joined a group of just four drivers who have claimed multiple WA Late Model Titles, joining Brad Blake who has nine, and Craig Vosbergen and Jamie Oldfield who also have two victories each.

Jay Cardy passed eleven cars to come home fifth, followed by Chalmers who passed twelve cars to come home sixth (and win the Hard Charger Award) and Freddy Kinsella who made his way past eight cars to be seventh, followed by Brown, Kenny Macpherson and Clint Noakes who rounded out the top ten.

Overall it was another great show and a huge thanks to all the drivers, as well as the whole Perth Motorplex crew for another great show.

The next show for the BGC Pro Dirt Late Model Series will be back at the Perth Motorplex on the 27th of March!

The 2020/21 BGC Late Model Pro Dirt Series proudly brought to you by Global XLI, Pancho’s Mexican Restaurants, Boyes Equipment SVS, Dirt Track Nutters, Bulk Metal Recyclers Pty Ltd., Bar 31, Carbusters, Finlease, Grays Online, Homes by Roth, Our Car Autos, Palice Property Group, QB Copper Recycling, Ross Construction and D P Bingham and Associates Truck and Plant.

Release by DTN Media.

Pics Courtesy Richard Hathaway Photography.


Contingency Awards

Pancho’s Pole Position – Kye Blight

DTN Hard Charger – Joe Chalmers

Boyes Equipment SVS Highest All Star Qualifier – Ken Macpherson

Global XLI All Star Award – Joe Chalmers

Bulk Metals Rookie Award – Laura Byrnes


Official Results

Heat 1, 8 laps: 1. A1 Kye Blight, 2. 4 Brent Vosbergen, 3. 18 Matt Goodlad, 4. 91 Warren Oldfield, 5. 82 Matt Amato, 6. 26 Ken Macpherson, 7. 71 Jamie Moon, 8. 47 Warren Minshull, 9. 52 Jay Cardy, 10. 60 Jayden Meckenstock, 11. 44 Laura Byrnes, 12. 10 Cody Avins. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 3.642. Fastest Lap: 16.139 A1 Kye Blight.

Heat 2, 8 laps: 1. 07 Kodee Brown, 2. 6 Clint Noakes, 3. 15 Jamie Oldfield, 4. 8 Craig Vosbergen, 5. 50 Veronica McCann, 6. 23 Joe Chalmers, 7. 83 Daniel Ameduri, 8. 54 David Nylander, 9. 31 Paul Stubber, 10. 33 Freddy Kinsella, 11. 34 Matt Nylander. DNF: 95 Jason Bond (1). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 3.557. Fastest Lap: 16.373 Kodee Brown.

Heat 3, 8 laps: 1. A1 Kye Blight, 2. 91 Warren Oldfield, 3. 15 Jamie Oldfield, 4. 50 Veronica McCann, 5. 18 Matt Goodlad, 6. 07 Kodee Brown, 7. 82 Matt Amato, 8. 71 Jamie Moon. DNF: 34 Matt Nylander (3), 23 Joe Chalmers (1), 54 David Nylander (0). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 2.593. Fastest Lap: 17.180 Kye Blight.  

Heat 4, 8 laps: 1. 31 Paul Stubber, 2. 26 Ken Macpherson, 3. 8 Craig Vosbergen, 4. 83 Daniel Ameduri, 5. 33 Freddy Kinsella, 6. 52 Jay Cardy, 7. 4 Brent Vosbergen, 8. 6 Clint Noakes, 9. 47 Warren Minshull, 10. 10 Cody Avins, 11. 44 Laura Byrnes. DNF: 95 Jason Bond (7), 60 Jayden Meckenstock (5). Total Time: 2.24.996. Winning Margin: 1.711. Fastest Lap: 17.648 Paul Stubber.

Feature, 30 laps: 1. 91 Warren Oldfield, 2. 15 Jamie Oldfield, 3. A1 Kye Blight, 4. 8 Craig Vosbergen, 5. 52 Jay Cardy, 6. 23 Joe Chalmers, 7. 33 Freddy Kinsella, 8. 07 Kodee Brown, 9. 26 Ken Macpherson, 10. 6 Clint Noakes, 11. 4 Brent Vosbergen, 12. 31 Paul Stubber, 13. 82 Matt Amato, 14. 83 Daniel Ameduri, 15. 54 David Nylander, 16. 18 Matt Goodlad, 17. 10 Cody Avins (29), 18. 47 Warren Minshull (29), 19. 95 Jason Bond (28), 20. 34 Matt Nylander (27), 21. 44 Laura Byrnes (25). DNS: 60 Jayden Meckenstock. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 2.992. Fastest Lap: 17.342 Warren Oldfield.