Oldfield Claims Collie Feature

JO Colloe

Jamie Oldfield last night did what he has so often done before as he dominated the thirty lap feature, leading at every pass, to go on and claim the win ahead of a hard charging Kodee Brown while Kye Blight finished in third.

The feature began with fifteen starters after Brad Blake, Michael Holmes and Marc Giancola were unable to repair their cars in time from heat race incidents to take the green.

Jamie Oldfield led away and for the first six laps the race went without a caution as cars settled into position. The yellows came out with twenty four laps left for Chris Pavlovich who came to a stop in turn four, then Jarrin Bielby and Jason Bond spun together in the same corner just two laps later to bring out the second caution of the race.

At this stage Ken MacPherson was holding off Kye Blight for second, but after lap after lap of intense pressure Macpherson finally succumbed, Blight moving under him on lap ten. One lap later the yellows were on again for Jason Bond who made heavy contact with the turn three wall, then another four laps after that Jai Mazzini spun on the back straight.

This meant a race restart at the halfway point and this time MacPherson dropped back slightly, allowing Kodee Brown to move into third place and start pressuring Blight for second. Mazzini spun again with eight to go bringing out the final caution of the race and it was here things started to get even more intense.

Brown got underneath Blight as the field went green again, but Blight was able to power right back by him, leaving Brown to sit right on Blights tail for the next seven and a half laps. As the chequered flag flew and Jamie Oldfield crossed the line first, just behind him Blight went just the tiniest bit too wide in the final corner which let Brown stick his nose underneath and race through to take second right on the line in a brilliant maneuver.

Warren Oldfield and Ken MacPherson rounded out the top five finishers.

Earlier in the night Michael Holmes was fastest in hot laps, while Collie locals Alec Melvin and Paul Joss took one het each, with Jamie Oldfield and Jay Cardy taking the other two preliminaries.

Courtesy of his fourth place finish in the feature, Warren Oldfield still holds a twenty seven point lead in the Championship after five rounds, but Jamie’s win has seen him close the gap and he and Jay Cardy are tied on points for second place. Kye Blight and Michael Holmes round out the top five.

The Late Models have now got a short break before the Racin’ Tyres and Accessories Pro Dirt Series kicks back into action with round six to be held at Kalgoorlie Speedway on Saturday, the 5th of December.


Release by DTN Media


Contingency Award

Pole Position – Jamie Oldfield

Hard Charger – Jed Rogers

Cardy Racing Components 8th Place – Paul Joss

Maxima Oils 12th Place – Alec Melvin

Speed Torque All Star Winner – Kodee Brown


Official Results

Heat One – 10 laps: 1. 51 Jamie Oldfield, 2. 4 Brent Vosbergen, 3. 07 Kodee Brown, 4. 0 Brad Blake, 5. 36 Jarrin Bielby, 6. 42 Jai Mazzini, 7. 43 Marc Giancola. DNF: 22 Paul Joss (3). DNS: 5 Jed Rogers. Total Time: 2.57.238. Winning Margin: 3.704. Fastest Lap: 17.322 07 Kodee Brown.

Heat Two – 10 laps: 1. 89 Alec Melvin, 2. 26 Ken MacPherson, 3. 41 Kye Blight, 4. 15 Warren Oldfield, 5. 91 Michael Holmes, 6. 52 Jay Cardy, 7. 60 Jayden Meckenstock, 8. 84 Chris Pavlovich, 9. 95 Jason Bond. Total Time: 3.02.175. Winning Margin: 1.365. Fastest Lap: 17.358 89 Alec Melvin.

Heat Three – 10 laps: 1. 52 Jay Cardy, 2. 36 Jarrin Bielby, 3. 41 Kye Blight, 4. 60 Jayden Meckenstock, 5. 0 Brad Blake, 6. 91 Michael Holmes, 7. 4 Brent Vosbergen, 8. 5 Jed Rogers. DNS: 43 Marc Giancola. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 6.126. Fastest Lap: 17.677 52 Jay Cardy.

Heat Four – 10 laps: 1. 22 Paul Joss, 2.15 Warren Oldfield, 3. 07 Kodee Brown, 4. 26 Ken MacPherson, 5. 84 Chris Pavlovich. DNF: 51 Jamie Oldfield, 95 Jason Bond, 42 Jai Mazzini, 89 Alec Melvin. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.264. Fastest Lap: 18.222 51 Jamie Oldfield.

Feature – 30 laps: 1. 51 Jamie Oldfield, 2. 07 Kodee Brown, 3. 41 Kye Blight, 4. 15 Warren Oldfield, 5. 26 Ken MacPherson, 6. 4 Brent Vosbergen, 7. 52 Jay Cardy, 8. 22 Paul Joss, 9. 60 Jayden Meckenstock, 10. 36 Jarrin Bielby, 11. 5 Jed Rogers, 12. 89 Alec Melvin. DNF: 42 Jai Mazzini (21), 95 Jason Bond (12), 84 Chris Pavlovich (5). DNS: 0 Brad Blake, 43 Marc Giancola, 91 Michael Holmes. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 1.751. Fastest Lap: 17.559 51 Jamie Oldfield.

Leave a Comment