McCann Claims Her Maiden!

Veronica McCann has tonight claimed her maiden Late Model feature victory as she romped to victory in the second round of the Couplers Malaga Late Model Development Series at Ellenbrook Speedway.

McCann started from the front row, but it was Dean King who got the jump and led the opening lap.

The first restart came out after just one lap when Chris Ferguson spun, seeing AJ Nylander and Rob Wells also get involved.

King led away the restart, but a few laps later the yellows were out again as Ferguson spun again, seeing him disqualified from further proceedings.

The race restarted once again and McCann settled in right behind King, who went wide in turn three on lap four, giving McCann the chance to get by, an opportunity she seized with both hands.
McCann dived down low and grabbed the lead and from here began to pull away with each lap recorded seeing a bigger

Lionel Kirkby hit the infield berm in turn two and eventually retired, while third placed Jason Bond also took an excursion across the infield, rejoining the field in fifth.

McCann continued to pull away, moving through lapped traffic with ease and increasing her lead as she went on to claim the popular victory from Dean King and Mick Andrews.

Earlier in the day Lionel Kirkby, Veronica McCann and Den King all claimed heat victories, where it is also interesting to note that McCann had the fastest lap in every race of the day!

The third round of the Couplers Malage Late Model Development Series will be held on the 18th of June, once again at Ellenbrook Speedway.

Official Results

Heat One – 8 laps: 1. Lionel Kirkby, 2. Warren Oldfield, 3. Veronica McCann, 4. Jason Bond, 5. Ryan Ludlow, 6. Mick Andrews, 7. Dean King, 8. Chris Ferguson, 9. Rob Wells, 10. Lance Ferguson. DNS: Jayden Meckenstock, AJ Nylander. Total Time: 2.45.118. Winning Margin: 0.611. Fastest Lap: 19.698 Veronica McCann.

Heat Two – 8 laps: 1. Veronica McCann, 2. Jason Bond, 3. Mick Andrews, 4. Chris Ferguson, 5. Rob Wells. DNF: AJ Nylander (7), Warren Oldfield (5), Lance Ferguson (2), Lionel Kirkby (1), Ryan Ludlow (1). DNS: Dean King, Jayden Meckenstock. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 3.467. Fastest Lap: 18.456 Veronica McCann.

Heat Three – 8 laps: 1. Dean King, 2. Lionel Kirkby, 3. Mick Andrews, 4.Jason Bond, 5. Veronica McCann, 6. AJ Nylander, 7. Chris Ferguson, 8. Rob Wells. DNS: Lance Ferguson, Warren Oldfield, Jayden Meckenstock, Ryan Ludlow. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 4.532. Fastest Lap: 19.522 Veronica McCann.

Feature – 15 laps: 1. Veronica McCann, 2. Dean King, 3. Mick Andrews, 4. AJ Nylander, 5. Jason Bond, 6. Lance Ferguson. DNF: Rob Wells (9), Lionel Kirkby (5). DQ: Chris Ferguson. DNS: Warren Oldfield, Ryan Ludlow, Jayden Meckenstock. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 4.487. Fastest Lap: 19.601 Veronica McCann.

Leave a Comment