Late Model Development Series – Round 1

The first round of the 2012 LATE MODEL DEVELOPMENT SERIES roared into life at Ellenbrook Speedway on Sunday May 20.


The Late Model nomination list for the first round had a few new drivers who were eager to test the raw power and the excitement of the wheel to wheel action that the high horsepower Dirt Late Models possess.


The program format on the day gave the Late Models three 8 laps heat races and a feature race run over 15 laps.


Paul Joss, a current Production Sedan competitor, was just one of the new drivers that was there to compete in the first round, along with Jamie Brack, a former AMCA Nationals racer, Peter McPherson a V8 Dirt Modified driver, Lance Ferguson, who raced Super Sedans many years ago, and Mick Rawcliffe who has had no previous racing experience.


A few more experienced drivers returning to the series were Late Model veteran Mark Matthews, Peter Seaton, Dale Clark, and Ian Birt, who were all very excited to get back into the racing seat and get some laps.


Mark Matthews showed his experience by winning the first heat and setting a fast pace for the rest of the field, with Peter Seaton (2nd) and Jamie Oldfield (3rd), who was helping set up the #55 late model for Mick Rawcliffe to race for the rest of the day.


Dale Clark put the pedal to the metal in the second heat to take out first place, followed by Mark Matthews in 2nd and Peter Seaton in 3rd.


Paul Joss, who was racing his recently purchased ex Jason Moyle Rayburn, had the support from Jason Moyle and Moyle Engines to help with the setup. Joss ran an awesome third heat, showing he was a quick learner on how to handle the #6 beast, by showing some major potential in taking the win, followed by Mark Matthews (2nd) and Peter Seaton (3rd).


Dale Clark did not compete in the third heat, as he lent his #31 Late Model to young V8 Dirt Modified driver Travis Kennedy to have a run and experience the car, which is exactly what the Development Series is all about.


The final race of the day was the 15 lap feature which was won by Dale Clark in the ex Oldfield Mastersbilt, followed closely by Mark Matthews and Paul Joss.


Once again it is tremendous that Ellenbrook and Kellerberrin Speedways have embraced this concept, and it is great to see a lot of experienced racers on hand to help the developing drivers.


The next round is Sunday 10th June 2012 at Ellenbrook Speedway.

Photo By Peter Roebuck







Photo by Peter Roebuck

Leave a Comment