Late Models Return To The Motorplex


This Saturday 20nd October is the grand opening night at Perth Motorplex. The high powered V8 late models return this weekend to Kwinana beach to compete on the high-speed, high-banked track for Round 2 of the Hoosier Racing Tire Pro Dirt Series.


A field of nineteen cars has nominated so far for this prestigious event, and it’s not only high in quantity, its high in quality, and there is plenty to be excited about.


The nominations are headed up by Brad Blake. The multiple national champion understands that it’s important to do well and earn plenty of points at the beginning of the season and he is planning a podium finish.


Jay Cardy won the Motorplex championship last year, and always shows consistency, but it is guaranteed he is not the only one trying to claim a win this Saturday night, as there are plenty of other contenders.


One of those contenders will be the man who won the first round at Ellenbrook, and current Pro Dirt Series Champion Jamie Oldfield, who is planning on staying at the top of the ranks.


Craig Vosbergen has a point to prove, and points to gain, after his unlucky start to the season, with an electrical problem leaving him unable to complete the first round after qualifying pole.


You can also throw in two of the most experienced campaigners in the Late Model division, the father and son duo Ben and Brad Ludlow. Ben has done almost everything that can be done and won in a sedan, and knows what it takes to win. Meanwhile son Brad has shown he can be one of the fastest drivers in the state.


Others drivers who will race hard in the quest for glory are Warren Oldfield, Ryan Halliday, Michael Holmes, and Matt Goodlad


Given the big hitters who will be out in force it appears all the nominated drivers will have to be both consistent and fast.


And capping it all off will be a massive fireworks display to mark the start of the 13th season at the Perth Motorplex.


Round 2 – Nominations for the Hoosier Racing Tire Pro Dirt Series:


0          Brad Blake

2          Brad Ludlow

8          Craig Vosbergen

9          Ben Ludlow

13        Craig Greentree

15        Warren Oldfield

18        Matt Goodlad

21        Dean King

29        Ryan Ludlow

34        Matt Nylander

51        Jamie Oldfield

52        Jay Cardy

54        David Nylander

63        Koran Atkinson

65        Peter Seaton

69        Bryn Haythornthwaite

77        Jeremy Hale

91        Michael Holmes

99        Ryan Halliday


Late Model Racing Australia would like to thank its 2012/13 corporate partners:


Hoosier Racing Tire  

Racin Tyres & Accessories  

Genesis Racing Shocks 

Able Finance  

Southside Engine Centre  

MTi group                 

Empire Graphics                                    

Tillco Engineering                                  

Ultra Tune Morley                 

Snap On Tools – Kalgoorlie                    

Lucas Oils – Brad Ludlow                      

MDR Trans                            


Ian Diffen Bunbury


Leave a Comment