Late Models Return to Bunbury

For the first time in over a month the Late Models will again hit the track in Western Australia, this time with the venue being the QUIT Bunbury Speedway for the annual Krikke Boys Shootut.

It has been a number of weeks off of racing here in Western Australia for the Late Models, after the cancellation of the Manjimup round and then with a number of competitors heading over east to compete in the Australian Title.

This weekend’s show at Bunbury is not a Pro Dirt Series round, nor does it count for points or big money. This weekend’s show is quite simply about being part of the annual Krikke Boys Shootout and racing in memory of the Krikke family members who have passed.

A good field of twelve cars have nominated for the show, including Brent Vosbergen, Kye Blight and Jay Cardy who all return from racing over east in the Australian Title. Vosbergen suffered mechanical dramas and was unable to start the second night while Blight collected the wall after charging through in the feature event and Cardy was able to come home in fifteenth place overall.

All three drivers represented WA well and will be hopeful of a strong run back on home turf.

Speaking of home turf, there is one man who holds the home town advantage coming into the event, none other than ‘The 0 Show’ Brad Blake. Running consistently well this season, Blake missed just his second ever Australian Late Model Title last weekend and is chomping at the bit to get back out on track and put on a show for the fans.

He will be joined by fellow former Australian Champion Marc Giancola who knows better than most what it takes to win at Bunbury, having won a number of times at the venue and will be hoping to add another win to that list.

Rob Wells, Jed Rogers and Mick Clune all also return to the track after sporadic appearances so far this season and will be looking to impress while names like James Batley, Lee Watt and Collie locals Paul Joss and Alec Melvin are also never far from the front.

It will be another big show, so make sure you head on down to Bunbury this weekend for what is sure to be another great show to remember ‘The Boys’.

Release by DTN Media.

Official Nominations – 12
0 Brad Blake
2 Rob Wells
5 Jed Rogers
6 James Batley
8 Brent Vosbergen
10 Lee Watt
24 Mick Clune
41 Kye Blight
43 Marc Giancola
52 Jay Cardy
69 Paul Joss
88 Alec Melvin


Leave a Comment