Late Model Thunder Set for Bunbury Final!


After a month off, the thunder and lightning Late Models will this weekend return to action, with the final round of the Cleanaway Quit Bunbury Speedway Track Championship and also the final round of the Speed Torque All Star series to be held this Saturday night.

The event is also a round of the season long Racin Tyres Pro Dirt Series, which means we have attracted a solid twenty one car field for the event, with each driver wanting to make their mark on one or more of the points scores.

The grand final of the Cleanaway Quit Bunbury Speedway Track Championship will be a tight battle, with Jay Cardy currently leading the points, while Morgan Melvin and Jeff Rogers are tied on points for second place in a huge coup for the two relatively new drivers.

The Speed Torque All Stars Series sees Koran Atkinson leading the points, but with Atkinson not nominated for the event, it opens up the door for second placed Jamie Moon to take over the lead. Of course with drivers the ilk of Phil Zuidema, Nat Muir and Morgan Melvin all breathing down Moon’s neck, it certainly won’t be an easy task.

Currently leading the Pro Dirt Series is Warren Oldfield, some twenty one points ahead of second placed Brad Blake. It is only 120 points that separate the top six and with a maximum of 121 points on offer, it is still anyone’s game as the championship will surely come down to the wire.

After looking at the championships, most of the contenders for each are nominated, with Warren Oldfield, Brad Blake, Jay Cardy, Craig Vosbergen, Ryan Halliday and Matt Goodlad just some of the Pro Dirt contenders who can lay a legitimate claim to grabbing the win this weekend, particularly Vosbergen and Cardy who have each won a main event at the venue already this season.

Morgan Melvin has come along in leaps and bounds this season and is a serious threat for a podium finish if everything falls his way. He along with Jamie Moon, Phil Zuidema and Nat Muir are some of the drivers who have shown great speed and this could quite easily be turned into a solid result this weekend.

Paul Stubber, Michael Holmes and Marc Giancola are three more drivers who know what it takes to be near the front and they too will be fighting hard to make that happen this weekend.

Add in the return of the fastest female in the West Veronica McCann, the consistent rookie Jeff Rogers and the always improving Dean King amongst others, we are set for a big show once again this Saturday night.

See you all trackside!

Release by DTN Media.

Official Nominations – 21

0 Brad Blake

5 Jeff Rogers

8 Craig Vosbergen

9 Ryan Ludlow

12 Nat Muir

15 Warren Oldfield

16 Veronica McCann

18 Matt Goodlad

21 Dean King

22 Paul Joss

31 Paul Stubber

39 Phil Zuidema

43 Marc Giancola

52 Jay Cardy

55 Bryan Litchfield

71 Jamie Moon

77 Jeremy Hale

88 Alec Melvin

89 Morgan Melvin

91 Michael Holmes

99 Ryan Halliday




Leave a Comment