It’s Title Time!



With the Di Candilo Australian Late Model Title just a matter of day away from beginning, today sees the first batch of nominated competitors announced!

The title returns to WA for the first time since the 2012/13 season and the names of the first ten competitors are revealed below, with plenty more coming!

What better way to start the nominations reveal though, with the current and defending National Champion, Darren Kane.

Kane won the title last year in Queensland, at the Kingaroy track in a rough and tumble affair, in one of only a few appearances in the Late Model. This year will see him head West with the intention of taking the crown back home with him, but of course he will have a huge battle on his hands with the WA locals and a few other interstate visitors!

One man looking forward to picking up a battle once again with Darren Kane is Broome local Kodee Brown. Kane and Brown battled each other in Super Sedans and will now pick up their rivalry once again in the title event.

Brown himself has been in good form, having claimed a recent podium finish amongst other strong results in WA and will be hopeful of another big weekend that may see him add a National Title in a second category to his trophy cabinet.

Another man who knows what it’s like to win an Australian Championship in Super Sedans is Ron Pyne. He will be heading across from New South Wales for the title and is always fast, so is a real threat to take out the victory if a few things go his way.

Darren Kane IBRP-Late-Model-Chassis

Ken MacPherson is another who has thrown his hat in the ring and after a solid season so far can be considered a contender for a good result. Ken has been racing Late Models on a more regular basis this season and has shown a lot of speed, as well as finished consistently. He currently holds down sixth in the local Pro Dirt Series and should have a good run over the title weekend.

Matt Goodlad has also nominated, but despite not having raced much this season, his immaculately presented #18 machine is right on the pace. In the two events he has raced he came home ninth in the first feature before a DNS the next time out, so he has some unfinished business and will be looking for a strong result.

Collie local Paul Joss has begun to run Late Models more regularly and it has paid off with some strong results including second place at Bunbury a few weeks back. He keeps his nose clean and if he can continue to stay out of trouble on track he could work his way through the pack and surprise some of the front runners.

Jarrin Bielby, Bryn Haythornthwaite, Mick Clune and Rob Galloway have all run limited campaigns so far this summer, but all three are ready for a tilt at the title. The trio of drivers are all at different stages in the Late Model careers and will relish the experience out on track against the best in Australia. With some luck going their way they are all capable of a strong finish.

So that’s the first ten drivers revealed: How many competitors in total will be at the title though? Stay tuned throughout the next few days!


Don’t forget all the details!

Wednesday, 13th January, 2016 – Official Practice at the Perth Motorplex

Thursday, 14th January, 2016 – Official Calcutta

Friday, 15th January, 2016 – Night One at the Perth Motorplex

Saturday, 16th January, 2016 – Night Two at the Perth Motorplex featuring the Australian Title Final.


Release by DTN Media.


Official Nominations (Batch One of Announcements) – 10 of 47

A1 Darren Kane

07 Kodee Brown

N9 Ron Pyne

18 Matt Goodlad

22 Paul Joss

24 Mick Clune

26 Ken MacPherson

36 Jarrin Bielby

69 Bryn Haythornthwaite

93 Rob Galloway

Leave a Comment