Its Title Time

It doesn’t get much bigger than this weekend, not only with the Late Models celebrating their twenty first anniversary WA State Title, but also getting the chance to rerun the General John Day feature race that was cancelled from earlier in the season!

Drivers will compete on both Saturday and Sunday nights at the Perth Motorplex, with the opening night seeing all 22 nominated drivers running two heat races which will contribute points to the layout of Sunday night’s WA Title feature.

The feature on the Saturday night will be the rescheduled John Day Classic feature from the 9th of December, while the second night will see another round of heats, with all three rounds of heats across the two nights counting to set up the feature grid for the WA Late Model Title.

So who will be running this weekend? Well it is a veritable who’s who of WA Late Model racing!

Brad Blake is the all-time greatest feature race winner for Late Models at the Perth Motorplex with thirty four feature wins (second time on the all-time Perth Motorplex winners list) and also leads the stats for the WA Title with nine wins. He also has three podium finishes, meaning twelve podium finishes out of the entire twenty year history of the event so far. He also has one feature win this season and three other podiums, meaning he is certainly going to be a formidable opponent this weekend.

Craig Vosbergen is next best on the all-time stats with five podium appearances, made up of two wins, two seconds and a third place. He has two podium finishes in racing this year, but this weekend adding some extra spice for the veteran driver is the fact that son Brent will be competing alongside him. Brent hasn’t even competed in a WA Title before, so this will certainly be a learning experience, but with a podium finish under his belt already this season, he can be confident of a good showing.

Ryan Halliday and Warren Oldfield are the only other two drivers in the field to have previously claimed a WA Title win, Halliday winning in 2000/01 (and claiming three other podium finishes) and Oldfield in 2011/12 (having also claimed two other second place finishes). Oldfield in particular will be fighting hard this weekend as every point matters in his battle with Jay Cardy for the XLI Pro Dirt Series, with both nights of racing counting towards the overall Series Championships.

Cardy too has had some success in the Title previously, but has been unable to finish on the top step, with two seconds and a third to his name in the past. He is joined by Matt Goodlad (a second and a third), Brad Ludlow (a second place finish), Paul Stubber (one second place finish) and Michael Holmes (a third place finish last year) as the only other drivers to have finished on the podium in the WA Title previously and all five drivers will be keen to get that elusive WA#1 com feature time on Sunday night.

Of course, names like Kye Blight, who has three feature wins to his name this season, and Veronica McCann, Daniel Ameduri and Chris Pavlovich who have all claimed heat wins so far this season, will all be keen to make a name for themselves amongst a whole stack of others, meaning that racing is going to be hard and fast from the very first drop of the green flag.

This weekend has all the ingredients for what is sure to be a fantastic two nights of racing, not to mention the fact that competitors are racing for the WA Title, The General’s race, for rounds 12 and 13 of the XLI Pro Dirt Series (of fourteen rounds) and for rounds nine and ten (of eleven rounds) of the Perth Motorplex Di Candilo Steel City Late Model Track Championship, meaning that everyone is going to be absolutely laying it all on the line!

The XLI Pro Dirt Series and Di Candilo Steel City USA Invasion Tour proudly bought to you by Pancho’s Mexican Restaurants, CTM Recruitment, Cardy Racing Components, APM Roofing, Dirt Track Nutters, Renegade Fuels, Palice Property Group, Moyle Race Parts, Boyes Equipment SVS, RACIN’ Tyres and Accessories, Maxima Oils, Collie Machine Shop, Southern Haulage, Car Busters and Forma-tel.

Release by DTN Media. 
Pics courtesy the sensational Mel Parker.

Official Nominations – 22
0 Brad Blake
4 Brent Vosbergen
8 Craig Vosbergen
15 Warren Oldfield
18 Matt Goodlad
19 Simon McNab
23 Joe Chalmers
31 Paul Stubber
38 Jai Mazzini
39 Jarrin Bielby
41 Kye Blight
50 Veronica McCann
52 Jay Cardy
60 Jayden Meckenstock
71 Jamie Moon
75 Mick Comley
83 Daniel Ameduri
84 Chris Pavlovich
91 Michael Holmes
93 Nathan Callaghan
99 Ryan Halliday
111 Brad Ludlow

Leave a Comment