It’s Go Time!

After a long off season and plenty of build-up, the time is now here for the Pro Dirt Series for 2021/22 to officially get underway, with round one this weekend proudly presented by ABN Trade Mates!
For just the sixth time in the now twenty-year Pro Dirt Series history (and for the first time since the 2007/08 season), the Pro Dirt Series will officially kick off at the Perth Motorplex on Saturday night and with a solid twenty car field nominated, we are sure to kick the season off with a bang!
ABN Trade Mates are kick starting their support of the Pro Dirt Series this weekend by hosting round one and we can’t wait for our field of drivers and their teams behind the scenes to show them how amazing it is to be part of a group that values teamwork and loyalty off the track to produce great results on track.
Six time and defending Pro Dirt Series Champion Warren Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) comes into the event with it all ahead of him, looking to win the series for a record seventh time. He is also desperate to grab another Motorplex feature win this season to continue what would be an eleven-year winning streak at the venue, but more than that, he still has the burning desire to win and that will motivate him more than anything.
Another with that same desire is Late Model legend, ‘The 0 Show’ Brad Blake. Also a six time Pro Dirt Series champion, Blake proved just last weekend that he still has the speed and skill with a strong win at Ellenbrook Speedway and he would love to continue his strong start to the season on Saturday night and add to his already record number of Perth Motorplex feature race wins.
The only other former Series champion in the field is Jamie Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) who has two wins to his name. He took holds his own place in the record books and will look to continue building that legacy this weekend.
Jay Cardy (Cardy Racing Components) has had no less than nine top three finishes in the overall series but unfortunately without a win. A strong second place last weekend at Allwest Plant Hire – Ellenbrook Speedway has him full of confidence and he will look to get results straight out of the gate in his quest for his first series win.
Former Australian Champions Paul Stubber and Kodee Brown (McCorry Brown Racing Team) and former WA Champion Brent Vosbergen (Team Vosbergen Racing – TVR) are the only other ones in the field to have tasted Pro Dirt Series feature wins and they will be keen to add to their tallies as a whole field of talented racers snap at their heels looking for their chance to shine.
Names like Ken Macpherson (KMM – Ken Macpherson Motorsport), who was last year second overall in the Pro Dirt Series, ‘Red Hot’ Veronica McCann (Veronica McCann – Red Hot Racing), Daniel ‘Nudge’ Ameduri (Ameduri Motorsports) and the Nylander Boys David and Matt (Nylander Motorsport) have all been around the division for a number of years now and are looking to break through for their first feature race wins of the series, while others including the returning Luke Halliday (Ryan Halliday Racing), the exciting youngster ‘Smokin’ Joe Chalmers (Team BCM Motorsport:) and the experienced Jason ‘Spin’ Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) are also looking to assert their dominance.
Add in rookies like Rod Musarra (Rod Musarra Racing #12) and Graham Murray and series regulars Matt Amato (Matt Amato Racing), Jamie Moon and Laura Byrnes in the Fearless #44 machine (Red Shamrock Racing) and this Saturday night is set to be a lung buster.
This weekend’s format is also a little different to normal due to the being part of the Powerpalooza event at the Perth Motorplex: essentially a festival of Motorsport with events for Speedway, Drag Racing and Burnouts. Due to this, teams will contest a condensed format that includes hot lap qualifying and one heat for each driver before the all-important thirty lap final.
See you trackside this Saturday night at the Perth Motorplex for the opening round of the Pro Dirt Series, proudly presented by ABN Trade Mates!
Release by DTN Media.
Pics Courtesy LMRWA and Peter Roebuck.
Official Nominations – 20
0 Brad Blake
4 Brent Vosbergen
07 Kodee Brown
11 Jason Oldfield
15 Warren Oldfield
20 Graham Murray
21 Rod Musarra
23 Joe Chalmers
26 Ken Macpherson
31 Paul Stubber
34 Matt Nylander
44 Laura Byrnes
50 Veronica McCann
51 Jamie Oldfield
52 Jay Cardy
54 David Nylander
71 Jamie Moon
82 Matthew Amato
83 Daniel Ameduri
94 Luke Halliday