Its Go Time.. Take Two!

It’s Go Time….Take Two!

After the initial disappointment of a rainout in the first round of the Maxima Oils Pro Dirt Series, the Late Model drivers are now chomping at the bit to get out on the track and turn the first wheels in anger for season 2016/17.

A strong field of twenty two machines have nominated for the Grand Opening Showdown at the Perth Motorplex, including former National Champions, Perth Motorplex Champions and State Champions, along with a number of rookies and drivers looking to make an impact.

Warren Oldfield comes into the event as the defending Perth Motorplex Track champion and the defending Maxima Oils Pro Dirt Series champion, meaning the pressure is on him to continue his strong form. He has of course won the Grand Opening Showdown in the past, two of them in fact, and will be hoping to grab a third win this time around.

However, his brother Jamie Oldfield is the man who claimed this very feature event this time last year and he will be looking to make it two in a row, as well as get his season’s campaign off to the best possible start as he chases Championship glory.

‘The O Show’ Brad Blake has won the Motorplex season opener five times in his career so far and would love to make it six this weekend as he chases some more pointy end results. Other former opening winners in the field include Jay Cardy, Brad Ludlow and Ryan Halliday, all of whom will be hoping to add another trophy to their cabinets.

Brent Vosbergen, son of Craig, will be in the field once again, as is the returning Lee Watt and Matt Goodlad, while Paul Stubber and Kye Blight will be hoping to make the most of their recent American trips and convert what they learnt into solid results.

‘Red Hot Roni’ Veronica McCann will be hoping to make an impact in her immaculate #50 entry, while Marc Giancola and Michael Holmes will look to be right on the pace from the get go.

James Batley is one of the newer drivers ready to take on the field and he alongside regular Street Stock competitor Hayden Noman will be looking to get as many laps under their belt as possible.

Add in a whole host of others and we have all the ingredients for what should be an awesome show. So who will draw first blood? Be at the Perth Motorplex this Saturday night to find out!

Release by DTN Media.
Photo Courtesy Peter Roebuck.

Official Nominations – 22
0 Brad Blake
4 Brent Vosbergen
6 James Batley
10 Lee Watt
15 Warren Oldfield
18 Matt Goodlad
31 Paul Stubber
38 Jai Mazzini
41 Kye Blight
43 Marc Giancola
48 Hayden Norman
50 Veronica McCann
51 Jamie Oldfield
52 Jay Cardy
54 David Nylander
58 Lionel Kirkby
77 Jeremy Hale
88 Alec Melvin
89 Morgan Melvin
91 Michael Holmes
92 Brad Ludlow
99 Ryan Halliday

Grand Opening Showdown Winners List
2016 ?
2015 Jamie Oldfield
2014 Warren Oldfield
2013 Brad Blake
2012 Jay Cardy
2011 Warren Oldfield
2010 Brad Ludlow
2009 Brad Blake
2008 Brad Ludlow
2007 Washed Out
2006 Mick Hamon
2005 Craig Vosbergen
2004 Brad Blake
2003 Brad Blake
2002 Brad Blake
2001 Ryan Halliday
2000 Luke Halliday

Leave a Comment