It’s a Boxing Day Bonanza!

After the hustle and bustle of the Christmas weekend, next Monday night will see the Late Models return to the Perth Motorplex for Round Six of the Pro Dirt Series, proudly presented by #mcpheefreight, (and Round Four of the Perth Motorplex Track Championship!) and with twenty-one nominations it is sure going to be a Boxing Day Bonanza!
Just twenty-five points separate the top two in the Pro Dirt Series Championship with six-time Pro Dirt Series Champion Warren Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) leading defending Champion Brent Vosbergen (Team Vosbergen Racing – TVR). Warren, who also holds a three-point lead in the Perth Motorplex Track Championship will be keen to build on his lead, while Brent, who is expected to be back in his familiar #4 machine this weekend, will be looking to minimise the gap and capture his first feature win for the season.
Joe Chalmers (Team BCM Motorsport:) has had a breakout year already, with a feature race win and running third overall in the Pro Dirt Series. Jay Cardy (Cardy Racing Components) is just ten points behind him in fourth and both of these drivers, along with Rod Musarra (@teamrocket) (seventh overall) and Damian Hudson (Hudson Racing Team) (ninth overall) have competed at every Pro Dirt Series show this season and are reaping the benefits not just in the point score, but also the experience that the extra laps has given them.
Kodee Brown (McCorry Brown Racing Team), Jamie Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) and Kye Blight (Kye Blight Racing) are the drivers who have tasted feature race victory at the Motorplex so far this season, sitting second, ninth and third respectively in the Perth Motorplex Track Championship, but with Brown not nominated for the Boxing Day show, Blight is the one in the box seat, coming in as the last start winner and looking to close the fifteen-point gap on leader Warren Oldfield.
David Nylander (Nylander Motorsport) and Veronica McCann (Veronica McCann – Red Hot Racing) round out the top five in the Track Championship standings and will be keen to move themselves up the rankings, while a whole host of other drivers sitting in the top ten of one or both of the Championship series including Jason Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) and Michael Holmes (Michael Holmes Racing), will also be looking to record some good results.
Laura Byrnes (Red Shamrock Racing) has nominated to have her first Pro Dirt Series hitout of the season, while Freddy Kinsella (Team Green Racing) and Chris Barrow (Barrow Motorsports) return for their second shows, Kinsella having been out of the seat since early November, while Barrow impressed in his Pro Dirt debut, coming home fifteenth in the feature on John Day Night.
‘The 0 Show’ Brad Blake is also back on board for this weekend, with others including Willy Powell, Esperance’s Greg Horan, last Motorplex show place getter Ken Macpherson (KMM – Ken Macpherson Motorsport), Peter Mewett (Red dog racing) and the always improving Nathan Richards also in the field.
We hope everyone has a happy and safe Christmas and we look forward to seeing you at the Perth Motorplex on Boxing Night for the sixth round of the Pro Dirt Series, proudly presented by McPhee Freight!
Release by DTN Media.
Pics Courtesy Peter Roebuck.
Official Nominations – 21
0 Brad Blake
4 Brent Vosbergen
04 Greg Horan
11 Jason Oldfield
14 Willy Powell
15 Warren Oldfield
21 Rod Musarra
23 Joe Chalmers
26 Ken Macpherson
33 Freddy Kinsella
39 Chris Barrow
41 Kye Blight
44 Laura Byrnes
50 Veronica McCann
51 Jamie Oldfield
52 Jay Cardy
54 David Nylander
55 Peter Mewett
74 Nathan Richards
80 Damian Hudson
91 Michael Holmes