It was almost Magic….



In a night to pay tribute to the Magic Man Michael Figliomeni the Late Model Sedans turned out in droves. Unfortunately a combination of races running late, a number of crashes in other divisions and a total power blackout at the Perth Motorplex saw the Late Model Sedan feature race cancelled.


However, four heats were run and won, with some spectacular action on track. The opener saw Brad Blake race away and take the win from Craig Vosbergen and Michael Holmes in an incredibly dominant performance that saw him cross the line over seven seconds ahead of second place. The second heat was similar, with Ryan halliday winning by nearly four seconds ahead of Matt Goodlad and Jay Cardy who had a good race long battle for the minor placings.


Heat three saw Marc Giancola defeat an all-star field, crossing the line ahead of Jamie Oldfield, Brad Ludlow, Brad Blake, Craig Vosbergen, Ryan Halliday and Michael Holmes (wow!), while the final heat went to Warren Oldfield over Jason Oldfield and Lee Watt.


Blake and Giancola would have started the feature race on the front row together, with Goodlad and Halliday filling the row behind, followed a scary third row of Vosbergen and Warren Oldfield, then followed by another intense row of Jamie and Jason Oldfield. With the quality of drivers in the first four rows alone we know that the race would have been a corker, let alone the other 15 cars who were ready to do battle.


Despite not getting the full show in last night, the Late Models will be back in action next weekend, racing for the first time this season at QUIT Bunbury Speedway on Saturday the 8th of October! Good numbers of nominations have already been received so stay tuned for those details to be released and we will see you all there!

Release by DTN Media.


Official Results

Heat One – 1. Brad Blake, 2. Craig Vosbergen, 3. Michael Holmes, 4. Phil Zuidema, 5. Brad Ludlow, 6. Jamie Oldfield, 7. Nat Muir, 8. Lee Watt, 9. Dean King, 10. Alec Melvin. DNF: Jamie Moon, Ryan Ludlow.


Heat Two – 1. Ryan Halliday, 2. Matt Goodlad, 3. Jay Cardy, 4. Marc Giancola, 5. Jason Moyle, 6. Jason Oldfield, 7. Warren Oldfield, 8. Paul Stubber, 9. Jeremy Hale, 10. Morgan Melvin, 11. Bryn Haythornthwaite, 12. Rob Galloway. DNF: Veronica McCann.


Heat Three – 1. Marc Giancola, 2. Jamie Oldfield, 3. Brad Ludlow, 4. Brad Blake, 5. Craig Vosbergen, 6. Ryan Halliday, 7. Michael Holmes, 8. Bryn Haythornthwaite, 9. Jai Mazzini, 10. Jason Moyle. DNF: Morgan Melvin, Dean King, Rob Galloway.


Heat Four – 1. Warren Oldfield, 2. Jason Oldfield, 3. Lee Watt, 4. Matt Goodlad, 5. Phil Zuidema, 6. Paul Stubber, 7. Nat Muir, 8. Jay Cardy, 9. Jeremy Hale, 10. Alec Melvin. DNF: Mark Webster, Veronica McCann. DNS: Jamie Moon, Ryan Ludlow.


LATE MODEL RACING WA is proudly supported by RACIN Tyres and Accessories, Hoosier Racing Tire, Rocket Chassis, Octane Race Products, Empire Graphics, Southside Engine Centre, Able Finance, Ozmine Drill Consumables, Panelworx Bunbury, XLI, Immaculate Custom Trailers, Lucas Oils Brad Ludlow, Forma-tel, Cardy Racing Components, Couplers Malaga, Snapon Kalgoorlie, HTEC Bunbury, Ultra Tune Morley, Global Testing Services, GMH Carpentry, Speed Torque, Stix FX Custom Signage, Collie Machine Shop, Kart World Belmont, Dirt Track Nutters,  Western Process Controls.

Leave a Comment