It Just Gets Bigger!

The last show was a big one, but this weekend will be even bigger!
Saturday night will see a massive field of twenty-six Late Models hit the track at the Perth Motorplex as they not only compete in the fourth round of the 2021/22 Pro Dirt Series, proudly presented by McPhee Freight, but also the annual John Day Speedcar Classic event.
Now in its tenth year, the Late Models have always enjoyed honouring ‘The General’ and the drivers will be fighting hard not just to honour him and grab the trophy, but also to bag another bundle of points towards the overall series.
Brent Vosbergen (Team Vosbergen Racing – TVR) has been the standout so far this season, not just claiming the first two rounds feature races and three heat race wins so far, but also qualifying himself from pole position not once, not twice, but three times so far this season, making it a perfect score. Vosbergen was forced to settle for second place at the last show so he will be out for revenge and ready to claim his first John Day event to emulate his father Craig’s winning efforts from back in the 2014/15 season.
There are three former winners of this event in the field, with last year’s winner Ryan Halliday (Ryan Halliday Racing) not one of them as he has now retired from racing. Inaugural winner Matt Goodlad (Daytona Racing) is back in the nominations list ready for another win and after a podium finish at his first show this season, is certainly in good stead. Goodlad won his first John Day event back in the 2012/13 season and would love to turn back the clocks again to make it two.
Brad Blake won the 2016/17 version while Kye Blight (Kye Blight Racing) claimed victory in 2019/20 and with both drivers having grabbed a feature win already this season, Blake the Ray Tulk Memorial at Allwest Plant Hire – Ellenbrook Speedway and Blight the last show at the Perth Motorplex a fortnight ago, they are certainly going to be a threat.
Warren Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) has had two podium finishes already this season and has also been on the podium in the John Day Classic a number of times, so he will be keen to build on these results and maybe even grab the feature win.
Former Australian Champion Kodee Brown (McCorry Brown Racing Team), Jason Oldfield (Oldfield Racing) and Jay Cardy (Cardy Racing Components) have all shown plenty of speed so far this season and if a bit of luck falls their way this Saturday night could well be in with a chance while others including Daniel Ameduri (Ameduri Motorsports), Jamie Oldfield (Oldfield Racing), David Nylander (Nylander Motorsport) and Veronica McCann (Veronica McCann – Red Hot Racing) are all inside the top ten in the Pro Dirt Series points and would love to give their accounts a boost.
Joe Chalmers (Team BCM Motorsport:) makes his first appearance for the season this weekend and ‘Smokin Joe’ should be right on the pace, while others including Richard Wells (CTM Recruitment Racing), Rod Musarra (Rod Musarra Racing #12) and Freddy Kinsella (Team Green Racing) will be hoping to build on their results this weekend.
On track action begins from about 5.30pm with Late Models scheduled for a total of four heat races (two per driver) ahead of the thirty-lap feature race to round out the nights racing in what is round four the Pro Dirt Series, proudly presented by McPhee Freight (
The 2021/22 Pro Dirt Series proudly bought to you by ABN Trade Mates, CTM Recruitment Pty Ltd, McPhee Transport, Global Testing Services, the PTE Group, SupaFit Seat Covers, APM Roofing and Gutters, Boyes Eqs and Dirt Track Nutters.
Release by DTN Media.
Official Nominations – 26
0 Brad Blake
A1 Kye Blight
4 Brent Vosbergen
07 Kodee Brown
11 Jason Oldfield
15 Warren Oldfield
18 Matt Goodlad
20 Graham Murray
21 Rod Musarra
22 Richard Wells
23 Joe Chalmers
33 Craig Greentree
34 Matt Nylander
47 Warren Minshull
50 Veronica McCann
51 Jamie Oldfield
52 Jay Cardy
54 David Nylander
55 Peter Mewett
55L Brad Ludlow
71 Jamie Moon
74 Nathan Richards
83 Daniel Ameduri
91 Michael Holmes
94 Luke Halliday
318 Freddy Kinsella
(Late Models)
2012-13 Matt Goodlad
2013-14 No Late Models
2014-15 Craig Vosbergen
2015-16 Rained Out
2016-17 Brad Blake
2017-18 Cancelled due to time
2018-19 Ryan Halliday
2019-20 Kye Blight
2020-21 Ryan Halliday